Posting your rating...
Plantation Pineapple Stiggin's Fancy rum

Rate Plantation Pineapple Stiggin's Fancy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


264 Plantation Pineapple Stiggin's Fancy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Tried this straight and on the rocks and wasn't a huge fan, but found that Stiggin's Piña brings the sexy back to some old rum cocktails. When drinking it neat, I'm not sure if it was the combination of the Plantation Dark and White that caused a slight bitterness or the addition of pineapple. The fruit flavor is subtle but pleasant. You can see how "infused" is way better than "added flavor". By no means a typical flavored rum.

I found this to make for an incredible Dark 'N' Stormy, since the pineapple paired nicely with the ginger. I will keep this on heavy rotation at home.

Posted over 4 years ago by Chevalivier from Canada with 15 ratings

Bought a case last summer while in NYC for a short vacation. A lot of expectations after following and reading on the birth, or re-birth I should say of the Pineapple Rum. And it does not disappoint.
It is like mentioned elsewhere a lot more rum forward than pineapple. The nose is classic aged rum full of spices and toffee, with at first a quite subtle pineapple rinds note. Taste is generous. Compared to the Original Dark which it it is based on, this a lot longer, with the pineapple giving it a delicious round buttery finish. And then the pineapple just grows on you. Letting it breath will unleash the pineapple in a luscious way.
My friend and I each drank a bottle while in NYC, roaming around with our flasks filled up with it. I mixes incredably well, in lattes for breakfast, and especially with the local Lime Rickey, for of safe street sipping new classic drink: The Pineapple Rickey.
Not sipping the stuff all day was the toughest thing returning back home after this short vacation. You live in the US? Consider yourself blessed and seek it. Great folks at Ferrand/ Plantation are currently concocting a new batch of 50K+ bottles so hopefully it will become more widely available. Unfortunately it won't be available here in Quebec for 2016.
Thank you Plantation!

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Okay...for those of you who do not know there actually was no "Rev. Stiggins". Stiggins was a fictional character from Charles Dickens' "Pickwick Papers" who was a hypocritical character in of itself. However pineapple rum apparently was a popular drink of the time especially for those fortunate enough to visit the West Indies in the 19th century. All of that, and more, is explained on the label (which has a style that harkens back to the 19th century) of this rum from C. Ferrand's Plantation brand.

Now my observations, thoughts, and opinions...

The aroma in my snifter is outstanding. A good dark rum aroma mixed with a mild pineapple. The color is a rather dark amber with a reddish tinge. The flavor is flat-out awesome. A very real pineapple flavor with a nice bit of sweetness (somewhat sugared from what I found from online sources but taste-wise it doesn't seem overly done). Nothing overpowering in the pineapple and definitely doesn't taste artificial nor cloyingly sweet like the cheap flavored rums. Even has some butteriness to it. This is the real deal. At 80 proof (40% ABV) this is clearly a real rum infused with pineapple and not a rum liqueur. It does have somewhat of a burn. I could see this being acceptable for some as a sipping rum if one is desiring a good pineapple rum. Personally I would not prefer this as a sipping rum. It does have a slight bite in the finish...perhaps just a little bitterness perhaps from any oak used to age the dark rum.

One online source imparts this information:

"After trying several varieties of pineapples, they fittingly settled on the Queen Victoria. Macerating the pineapple in Plantation Dark rum for three months imparted the flavors fully, but they did not stop there. The pineapple rinds were also macerated for three months to extract the oils. This rind-infused macerate was then re-distilled and added back to the pineapple-infused rum to add brightness and complexity."

Now that's interesting! It appears they went the extra mile to create a unique rum and they have.

This rum's greatest strengths are in mixed drinks especially fruit-based ones (pineapple daiquiri anyone???). This also works quite well, surprisingly, in Coke Zero as well. In my humble opinion, no Tiki bar worth its salt should be without a supply of this rum. If you frequent any such bar lacking Plantation's Stiggin's Fancy Pineapple infused rum, I suggest you request...no DEMAND they obtain it as soon as possible.

I really recommend this rum if you can find it.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This is some delicious stuff. The pineapple flavor and aroma are there, but in perfect proportion to the rum itself, so it doesn't at all taste like rum-flavored pineapple juice. It has just enough sweetness and fruity goodness without overpowering the rum. Straight up all the way. Very easy to sip your way through half a bottle before you realize that you only have half a bottle left....

Posted over 3 years ago by Daniel Lether from Netherlands with 65 ratings

This was a cool change from a regular aged rum, you dont really know what to expect when it says pineapple on the lable. Pineapple could overpower a delicate rum but dont fear, the distillers and blenders at plantation know their stuff. This rum boasts a host of fruity goodness with a perfect amount of pineapple to bring it all together. This would be killer in a cocktail on a sunny summer day. I'll be keeping this in mind for next summer

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

40% ABV.

Finally—someone who knows how to flavor a spirit without going overboard! Those guys at Plantation really know what they're doing. Just a hint of pineapple, maybe a little caramel and some other flavors, and satisfyingly off-dry. Outstanding when mixed, this special bottle also holds its own without any help (neat or on the rocks), making it a sort of do-anything rum for when you want a dependable drink with a slight tropical twist. This rum's got your back.

8-

Update 12/17 - I've gone through a few bottles of this, and tried many more rums since posting this review, inlcuding this rum's parents: 3* and Original Dark. Stiggin's Fancy is still a great rum, but it's really meant to be mixed. The sugar, the strength, the fruit infusion. I'd give it an 8 or 9 in the fruit-flavored rums category, but as a Rum, it's an honorable 7.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

First, a disclaimer - I'm not a big fan of flavored rums, and I'm also not a big fan of pineapple. But this rum surprised me.

The pineapple is light, not overpowering, and the base rum flavor is nice, with sugarcane, molasses, some pineapple, spice, and maybe even a light touch of bourbon.

It's one of my favorite flavored rums (thought the Clement Creole Shrubb is my all time favorite as of this review). Well worth buying, especially if you like flavored rums!

Posted about 4 years ago by tim from United States with 57 ratings

What all flavored rums should aspire to be. Pineapple nose that is beautiful but not overpowering. Pineapple palate that is true and in no way chemical tasting. A true revelation.

Posted about 4 years ago by Kurtiki from United States with 11 ratings

Real pineapple and not overpowering. This isn't a flavored party rum. It's nice to sip on, smooth and unique.

Posted almost 3 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

This stuff smells and tastes exactly like the core of a ripe pineapple! It gives you all the flavor of the fruit without the cloying sweetness or sharp acidity. It's just soft, clean, rummy pineapple: something you never knew you wanted, but desperately need to try!

Posted about 4 years ago by Don Ron from Germany with 41 ratings

Habe den rum pur und on the rock's getrunken. Überzeugt mich beides nicht so trifft nicht 100% meinen geschmack aber in Cocktails passt er super gut. Top

Posted over 4 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This is a rum that tasted more like rum than it does Pineapple when sipping neat and no other rum is around. Its got a nice flavor to it and the aroma at first is stronger to pineapple than the actual taste of the rum. Overall a nice sipper I would not really mix this at all personally. Very smooth rum with a very slight kick and moderate finish.

Though if you drink a few pure rums first then have this, the pineapple really comes to life on the palate and its much more intense.

Posted over 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 16 to 20 gpl. A rum recreated from a Dickens literary character, this rum has an interesting story regarding the origin and recipe on the labels. That uniqueness continues with the aroma and taste. At first pour you get the smell of a quality aged dark Plantation brand rum with a trace of pineapple. A bit of sweetness with some heat and lots of flavor. However in the background there is a slightly bitter trace of the macerated pineapple used in creating the rum. That stops it from being a sipping rum for me. If you are looking for a rum to mix with any drink recipe that calls for tropical juices, then this is the one to use! It makes a great Pina Colada. It's worth a try.

Posted 17 days ago by HotSpicyDisco (PREMIUM) from United States with 14 ratings

This belongs in your next Painkiller - you won't regret it.

Also, one of the most pleasing rum shots I have ever taken.

Strong pineapple flavor and aroma while still keeping all the best characteristics of the Plantation's style of rum.

Posted about 2 months ago by James from United States with 17 ratings

Every Plantation rum I have tried has been a great experience except for this one. It's not horrible if you mix it with another Plantation rum, but drunk straight, it's as though they've taken an OK aged dark rum and tried as best as they could to infuse some natural pineapple into it. It's really not drinkable neat.

Something came up short in the process. They must have made a huge batch, found out the mistake too late, and had to bring it to market to recoup their costs.

Posted 2 months ago by GoldenFlashGoudy from United States with 7 ratings

I got a bottle when this whole panic for the Coronavirus started out. I am off teaching, and enjoying this straight and in mixed drinks which is a requirement for me to give any Rum better than a 7. I prefer mixing it with Orange Juice and two ice cubes. I usually don't enjoy anything straight, but I was pleasantly surprised with how easy this goes down with very little burn to it. I know some people don't like that Plantation adds sugar, and a pineapple infusion, but neither of these overpowers the taste of the Rum. I can't give this a 10, because it is not the best Rum I have ever had (high standard I know); I also cannot warrant grading it a 9, because while good the flavor is not distinguished/memorable to me. The very elite Rums I have had all stand out in a very unique way, and while this is certainly vastly superior to other flavor infused Rums in it's price class, when you compare it to ALL Rums regardless of price it is certainly respectable but there are plenty better. That is why for me, it is a solid, respectable 7!

Posted 3 months ago by collinmaillard007 from Belgium with 31 ratings

This rum is very easy to drink and to decode : pineapple and rum. It is more like a very stylish cocktail than a real rum but it works ! Everybody would like this in a cocktail. Prefer an more aged rum for after-dinner.

Posted 3 months ago by John frederick from United States with 40 ratings

Continue to be impressed with plantation. The pineapple taste is there, but subtle. No Malibu here. Great on the rocks

Posted 5 months ago by SaltySailor69 from United States with 17 ratings

Can’t really pull the pineapple flavor but it does have a nice aroma of molasses and vanilla with spics. Flavor profile is similar and it does have a nice alcohol Burn, but not overwhelming. Mixes great in a soda, and try different colas bro get different flavors. I personally like the cheap Faygo cola as it doesn’t overwhelm the Rum and you can pull our nice flavors you might not notice in Coke or Pepsi.

Posted over 2 years ago by Freek Lambrechts from Belgium with 40 ratings

tastes like pineapple. Not a sipping rum at all. If you like to have candy and alcohol, this is it. I might use it in a cocktail...

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Over the past 15 years I have tried well over 400 aged rums and unfortunately Plantation Pineapple has a strong alcohol smell to it, over powering artificial pineapple flavor and a very strong afterburn. This is super disappointing since I very much have enjoyed a lot of spectacular rums from Plantation, but I would not even mix the Pineapple Plantation with rum-and-coke, it's that bad.

The top 10 worst rums I have ever tried:
1. Barbancourt 4y / 8y / 15y
2. Bounty Dark Rum from Fiji
3. Stroh 40 / 80
4. Plantation Pineapple Stiggin's Fancy
5. Villa Rica 23y
6. Mocambo 15y / 20y
7. Captain Morgan different variations
8. Don Papa 10y / 15y
9. Bacardi flavored "rums", all of them
10. Kraken rums

Posted almost 3 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 64 ratings

I'm really not into the 'tuti fruti' rums but ordered this by mistake. It happens. Actually under the right circumstances as a a frozen concoction of some nature, this is not bad as I thought it might be the Pineapple burst topped on the smooth caramel flavor making it quite interesting.

Posted over 3 years ago by Celia Miner from United States with 30 ratings

The pineapple flavor seemed forced. Did not work as a sipping rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Scott from United States with 9 ratings

Great in a reverse manhattan w Antica. Drink w confidence!!!