Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Coconut rum

Rate Captain Morgan Coconut

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


16 Captain Morgan Coconut ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This is the epitome of sickenly sweet. Artificially flavored. I won't waste time writing anything more. Avoid this "rum" at all costs.

Posted over 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 45 to 50 gpl. Basic white rum with lots of sugar and coconut flavoring is how I would describe this. I did not detect a strong chemical smell or taste that I expected from this rum, but there is a trace of it. The coconut flavor is overshadowed by the sugar. It's another specialty mixing rum for the Captain. The Parrot Bay and Blue Chair coconut rums are better tasting. I am thinking of calling an intervention on myself as I need to stop trying these rums. Damn you Las Vegas.

Posted 4 months ago by Skyvie from United States with 30 ratings

Best used in a piña colada type drink, though it's not horrible drunk neat. Good for a coconut flavor. Otherwise, it's got a very basic rum flavor with a strong coconut flavor.

Posted 8 months ago by Javaznenevim from Slovakia with 52 ratings

Artificial coconut, aweful smell and no taste but sugar. Stay away from this

Posted about 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

I'm not a huge fan of coconut rums. There are a couple I like (Gubba Silver, Siesta Key Toasted Coconut, etc ...), but this pretty much exemplifies the rum plus suntan lotion standard. It's cheap enough to mix in a huge punch bowl, but it's not my go-to.

Posted over 2 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

I tried a little bit of this while mixing cocktails at a friend's place.
It's like summer in a bottle! You know, coconuts, spray-on sunscreen, pool water... summer things! Stupid sweet. Super smooth. It tastes ok. I will never, ever buy a bottle of this.
In all honesty, I see reasons to score this anywhere from 1 to 5, so we're just gonna go with 3 I guess....

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Captain Morgan Coconut could be used as a coconut flavored drainage cleaner. It is not suitable for neat sipping. There's way too much sugar, artificial flavors and the alcohol smell and burn is like coconut flavored rubbing alcohol.

Posted over 2 years ago by James from United States with 29 ratings

Not sure what to say other than there is a reason flavoring is added. This is just not a good dring unless you mix it heavily. Astringent alcohol flavor that is only partially masked by the coconut flavoring.

Posted over 3 years ago by Dirk from Canada with 39 ratings

This is the Captain's version of Malibu rum. It is just as good. Thanks for the free tiki glass!

Posted over 3 years ago by Buck'em from Canada with 8 ratings

Not too bad with coke but better when used to make rum punch. Definitely a mixer.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bernard from United States with 5 ratings

I took this to a pool party with my blender and made the ladies Pina Coladas with it. They all enjoyed it. I don't think it would be good any other way.

Posted about 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 1 rating

I’ve had a few coconut favor rums, but this one is great. I’m not an expert, but I really like the taste and how smooth it go down. It hard to find in CT.

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This is actually a decent rum, though it has more of a sugary flavor than a coconut flavor.

Tastes of sweet coconut and sugar with a light hint of citrus.

Posted over 4 years ago by Eric from United States with 10 ratings

Wow!! That's a LOT of coconut. It works well in the right drink, of the fruity-island sort... but not good with a single mixer like coke... I do like that it has a higher alcohol content than most of the other coconut rums...

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Coconut flavoring with a scary amount of something which tastes like ether. There is no reason to buy this when you can use a good mixing rum and Coco Lopez instead...or even better, try Koloa Coconut Rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

Nosing - Sweet, floral , coconut slight alcohol fumes wafting thru.

The taste is very strong sweet coconut with some alcoholic astringency in the back round.