Posting your rating...
Blue Chair Bay Banana rum

Rate Blue Chair Bay Banana

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


27 Blue Chair Bay Banana ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by gregmoney from United States with 5 ratings

This rum screams "from beach to bottle". The taste actually tastes like real bananas not that artificial stuff. The rum embodies hints of toasted coconut with a smooth finish. Easily can be enjoyed on the rocks or you could add it to your favorite rum beverage to give it a unique twist. Seriously good stuff.

Posted over 3 years ago by michael from United States with 3 ratings

It is very smooth to drink straight or you can mix with pineapples juice or pina colada

Posted over 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 93 gpl. Aside from some drink that requires banana and rum in it, there is no value in drinking this rum. It is very sweet with a strong chemical aftertaste. I know that rum goes with just about everything, but this is not really rum. I would not buy this again.

Posted 6 days ago by Anthony C from United States with 100 ratings

This is a great banana rum for those summer mixers. Higher quality than most others.

Posted 3 months ago by Don from Canada with 131 ratings

This is not a rum. It is a fake banana liqueur. It goes down easily due to low abv but that is the only good thing.

Posted 9 months ago by Fwittmeyer from United States with 11 ratings

This doesn’t compare to the chair bay coconut. Average at best.

Posted 9 months ago by MikeyA53 from Canada with 33 ratings

Use it frequently in cocktail when we have guest over for cocktail at my home bar.

Posted about 1 year ago by Ryan Rosebush from United States with 31 ratings

Sweet but surprisingly not terribly artificial tasting. Good dessert/nightcap beverage. Really adds another level of awesome as a floater on top of a bushwhacker.

Posted over 1 year ago by Hawkeye821 from United States with 17 ratings

Banana flavored rum, with muddled strawberries and ice cream cocolate syrup and a cherry you have a banana split drink!

Posted over 1 year ago by rhumjesus from Canada with 31 ratings

Great for creamy fruit cocktails and stuff, although I can see why some rum enthusiasts hate on it... Personally I enjoy it as a substitute for some of the milk and coffee liquer in a Paralyzer. cocktail.

worth trying in a vanilla milkshake if you can't get creative with it though!

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed some Blue Chair Bay Banana Rum. Bottle and label design are unique and hence nice. Banana, artificial banana flavoring and sugar is all you get to both nose and palate. This is exactly like Banana Laffey Taffy Rum would be.

Posted over 1 year ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

This is not a rum at 26%, this is a American liquor that is just sugar over sugar and even more sugar

Posted about 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 298 ratings

The first thing that hits you with this rum is the very strong aroma of banana candy. Since I bought it to mix with their Coconut Rum, only a relatively small amount would go into the drink that I had planned for a trip to one of my favorite coastal islands. The Blue Chair Bay website has some interesting suggestions combining this rum with their Coconut Rum, but almost all of them involve milk, cream, or added liqueurs. No need to add any more sweetness! I want to boost up the ABV with a premium white rum such as Cana Brava 3 Year Old, and this will also cut the sugar amount with only three ingredients, all of them being "rums". For those of you who are already familiar with my other reviews, you have guessed it that my goal is to come up with a reasonable substitute for 80 proof Koloa Coconut Rum that I can no longer get, while also making my own modifications to it. Make no mistake, this one is not a sipper or even to be served on the rocks unless you were raised with a sweet tooth.

The special island drink wound up being 5.5 ounces of Cana Brava 3 Year Old White Rum, 3.5 ounces of Blue Chair Bay Coconut Rum, and 1.0 ounces of Blue Chair Bay Banana Rum. This comes in with all flavors balanced and at about 71 proof . It is totally clear and the yellow tint on this bottle hides the clear Banana Rum inside that wound up being 10% of the resulting drink. It is very easy to carry along in an empty plastic Fiji Water bottle. It worked very well as the ultimate beach drink.

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott from United States with 6 ratings

Very syrupy and sugar tasting. Maybe ok for mixed drinks but not good straight up.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tom from United States with 29 ratings

After years of chasing a tortuga banana replacement I have finally found it after a friend's recommendation. This rum is soothing and smooth as can be. I can see this will be my main go to rum when I just want to sit back and relax. I would highly recommend everyone to source a bottle of this for their collection.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Viktor from United States with 16 ratings

I could not taste much banana. Sugar yes, chemical taste yes, but no banana. I am sure this has uses but I cant put a finger on any of them

Posted almost 3 years ago by April from United States with 2 ratings

I like this rum if you are looking for a rum that doesn't taste very much like alochol it starts with a strong banana flavor and ends with a little alochol burn that seems to spread around your mouth.

Posted over 3 years ago by Joseph Blossman from United States with 40 ratings

Last week our store hosted a tasting of the Blue Chair Bay line of rums & creamers, and every single one I tried was excellent. However, the best of the best was the Banana Rum Cream. The banana taste is perfectly balanced, the consistency of the cream is perfect, and the potential to mix this cream is endless. I currently have a bottle that I am adding to me coffee as creamer, and it is mouthwatering. I know that banana and coffee don't sound like a great mix but I promise you it is. For all the rum drinkers out their with a sweet tooth I strongly recommend this to you. A second drink I have been doing with this one is a drink my bartender and I devised an excellent mix drink that I encourage yo to try. (I have a mixed drink devised for each of the rum creams that complement the cream, this rum was complemented perfectly with sweetness of Zaya)
12 Blue Chairs
200 ml Zaya
75 ml Blue Chair bay rum creams
1 lime slice
Served over ice.

Posted over 3 years ago by Russell from United States with 25 ratings

Like drinking this right out of bottle. nice mild banana flavor

Posted over 3 years ago by Skeelos from United States with 27 ratings

It smells like bananas and tastes like banana. Perfect drink to mix with the juices. This was a surprisingly good mixer.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike Gregory from United States with 9 ratings

Good mixer, very flavorful and full of flavor. Would refer to fiends.

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

First of all, I'll admit I hate banana. But this has an ok banana flavor to me, as I believe it tastes artificial. :-)

Tastes and smells of sweet artificial banana, which is decent. But it's just a bit weak for me at only 26.5%abv - I like rums with more strength. Plus, I'm generally not a fan of flavored rums, except for a select few.

I definitely prefer the Blue Chair Bay Coconut rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by RumJunkie from United States with 17 ratings

I really wanted this to be a good banana flavored rum. Sadly it has very light banana aroma and even less banana taste. Smells and tastes more like a coconut rum. Very sweet.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Margaret from United States with 2 ratings

This rum does not have your typical fake banana flavor.. it actually tastes like real banana but with a caramel hint to it. I think it's delicious