Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Cannon Blast rum

Rate Captain Morgan Cannon Blast

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


82 Captain Morgan Cannon Blast ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by R.Ennell from Canada with 28 ratings

It might have been that I wa so utterly disgusted with the the other rum we were tasting that night (Pumpkin Face White) , but I was pleasantly surprised by the Captain Morgan Canon Blast.
Sure, it won't make the snob list of the top 10 (or even top 100) "best" rums in the world, but it honest to what it says it is and what it's supposed to be.

As far as I can tell , it pretty much a Captain Morgan Private Stock with spices and herbs added to it.
It's pretty good as a "drop shot" (what it is promoted as), but I found it even more interesting in a "Cuba Libre". The Cola and lime added a nice touch to the herbs of the rum.

ADDED BONUS: close all the light in the room, turn on a black light and take another look at the bottle...

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Yet another offering from the junk factory. This stuff is for college kids who don't care whose shoes they're gonna puke on at the end of the night. It is no spicier than children's candy (Atomic Fireballs) and no more delicious than medicine. If you drink enough of it you won't care where you throw up...but at least you'll know why you did.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Awful. Horrendous. Should be criminal. This stuff is absolutely revolting.

Whoever came up with the idea for this mess should be charged with a felony.

As soon as I press the "Post my rating!" button, I'm flushing this down the toilet into the septic tank.

Posted over 3 years ago by kelly from United States with 2 ratings

I get it, and i think they meant well but honestly i think this tastes like cough syrup... i drink a glass of rum with coke for color... the opposite is true with this guy... i prefer tatoo

Posted over 3 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

Man this is a bad rum. Poor flavour and syrup cheapness. I wouldn't drink it if the bottle was free .

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bernard from United States with 5 ratings

I bought a couple of bottles of this for a Halloween party and no one drank more than one shot of it. I'm not sure what that after taste is but I couldn't give it away at the end of the night.

Posted about 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

Um...no! Cool bottle though. But, hot peppers and citrus are only good in a BBQ sauce.

Posted over 4 years ago by Chris Chetwynd from Australia with 8 ratings

This Captain is my second most favorite of all of them, it's citrus flavors mixed with the Jalapeno and heat is amazing., Great as a shot or mixed with Lemonade. Love it so much and the bottle is so cool.

Posted over 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 30 to 40 gpl. This is gimmicky but it works. I bought this rum for the cannon ball bottle it comes in. For taste it's Rum mixed with Lime and Pepper! I checked the Captain Morgan website to find out more and it refers to Chipotle and Jalapeano as the peppery ingredients! If you are doing shots and pretending to be a Pirate or daring your pals to try it, then this works. The only thing I would mix this with is a beer chaser or drop a shot of this into a glass of beer. Otherwise it doesn't taste that good on it's own. It is worth having on the shelf just for the fun of it! Taste is a 2, but I give this bonus points for the bottle.

Posted over 3 years ago by Lonely Coast from United States with 16 ratings

I believe in reviewing things for their intended purpose. For instance, Fireball is horrible as a whisky. But 3 am at Burning Man when you are getting your second or third wind and about to head back out of camp into Black Rock City and a chilled handle gets passed to you, it really hits the spot. Yes it's a gimmick, but it's supposed to be. As a shot, it's okay. Lemony with a sweet habanero finish. But personally I think this works best with ginger ale. It makes a very nice cocktail. This is not what I'm going to reach for when I want to relax on the porch with a good rum. But when it's a red solo cup event, this is good weapon to have in the arsenal. Also the bottles make very cool cannon ball tiki torches when you are done.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Brady from United States with 2 ratings

Let's be clear, this is designed and created to be taken as a shot. If you try to sip on this be prepared to be upset. However, it's not as bad as the rum snobs claim it to be! It's fairly strong all the way through but has a sweeter follow-through. It's basically a ready-to-drink shot but also a good mixer in a long island iced tea or Mai Thai if your looking to spice it up. Fairly cheap and most places carry an airliner of it to try. 7/10.

Posted over 4 years ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 21 ratings

I like very smooth, slightly sweet sipping rums. This one is not really a smooth sipping rum. But it truly is tasty and interesting with a nice little bite. It's price to flavor ratio gives it a 7 in my book.

Perfect for shots, which is exactly what it's designed for. I'd purchase it again.

Posted over 4 years ago by Joe dirt from United States with 1 rating

Best shot I've ever had, little bit of spice with the classic captin taste

Posted over 4 years ago by RoyBM from United States with 5 ratings

This stuff is a bit more unique from other rums I have tried. Smells of orange citrus, vanilla, with a slight cinnamon.
Strong orange or citrus taste, followed by a bite of habenaro spice that's not hot but lasts.
It's a nice tasting rum even though I'm not a fan of the Capt.
Do shots with it, that's what it's for.

Posted over 4 years ago by ash from Australia with 7 ratings

Work like a captain
Party like a pirate
And this rum had the pirate out in me drink it strait up with a fat line
Good times

Posted over 4 years ago by Angelo from United States with 1 rating

This has a very interesting nose and flavor. It has the smell of lemon drops and coca-cola, and tastes very interesting. Although a little sweet/ artificial for my taste. Good for shots or as a mixer.

Posted 29 days ago by Lloyd from Australia with 30 ratings

I have a preconceived disgust with captain Morgan. This one doesn’t change my view. Artificial flavours, overly sweet chemical tones and no redeeming qualities. Cool bottle tho

Posted 4 months ago by Skyvie from United States with 30 ratings

Nice change to your rum drinking routine. It's a great citrus-y, spicy treat. I can't really taste the rum, but it's great for something sweeter and different. Definitely worth trying out.

Posted 5 months ago by Ifontaine from United States with 5 ratings

This was given to me as a gift because my friend knew I liked Rum. Aroma wasn’t terrible but wasn’t great either. Never consider it for anything other than a mixer and it failed miserably in that role for me.

Posted 10 months ago by Dholsbo (PREMIUM) from United States with 6 ratings

Taste terrible sent it home with a friend wouldn’t have it in my bar can’t believe Captain would make something so bad!

Posted over 1 year ago by JBD from United States with 10 ratings

This is nothing but cinnamon rum with a bit of lime. It’s good for shots at a high school party only.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Abhijit from United States with 1 rating

Really not fit for my enemy also .. no way shoudl any one buy it no even to taste

Posted almost 2 years ago by Andy Beneveedez from United States with 8 ratings

I'm not too much of a fan of Captain original, but this stuff is actually pretty good. It has a nice dark hue, but it's not a black rum. It has hints of lime, an orange taste(almost like grand marnier), a nice coca taste, caramel. It's great just on the rocks or straight. It's smooth @ 70 proof(very drinkable). It puts Tattoo to shame, which in my opinion is Captian's worst.

Posted about 2 years ago by TroyB from Canada with 13 ratings

I received this bottle as a gift. As far as CM products go this was better then expected but not good enough to place in my cabinet. Citrus flavour mixed with spice? Not your typical rum! But good for a novelty shot with friends before bringing out the good stuff

Posted about 2 years ago by Wynand Pretorius from South Africa with 11 ratings

I think Cannon Blast is great for shots and to get the party going. Not need to add or mix anything, as the fireball flavor with a dash of citrus makes Cannon Blast a very nice shot.