Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Cannon Blast rum

Rate Captain Morgan Cannon Blast

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


82 Captain Morgan Cannon Blast ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 21 ratings

I like very smooth, slightly sweet sipping rums. This one is not really a smooth sipping rum. But it truly is tasty and interesting with a nice little bite. It's price to flavor ratio gives it a 7 in my book.

Perfect for shots, which is exactly what it's designed for. I'd purchase it again.

Posted over 4 years ago by Robert lyman from United States with 5 ratings

Not for mixing or for having a glass full. Has a warming flavor with just a hint of jalapeño flavor and warmth. Just do a shot.

Posted over 4 years ago by foufvious from United States with 6 ratings

there was a cinnamon flavor to it, but over all i found it too sweet. this would be a mixing rum. my wife enjoyed it with some cola.

Posted over 4 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

I wouldn't call this a rum at all. It is a liqueur. Reminds me of the herbal liqueurs with something spicy added in. If it didn't say rum on the label I may have scored it higher. It's not that I don't like it, it's not a rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Clint from United States with 12 ratings

With the popularity of Fireball, I guess CM jumped aboard and crafted a cinnamon based rum. I hate Fireball, and now I hate the Cannonball too. A tiny bit of cinnamon goes a long way, this was undrinkable for me.

Posted over 4 years ago by chad from United States with 17 ratings

What can I say I. Am a sucker for a unique look. THIS quickly made me laugh and I had to have it. Yet this is not about looks but the taste. Captain Morgan has always been what I call the Safe Rum. It can be bought everywhere and its usually always an average to above average rum. How does the cannon blast taste though? Right off the blast. Lol you'll be hit with a citrus / peppery flavor. If neither one is your thing then you would do best to grab a different rum. I liked it yet know it's not something I will drink regularly. It's nice straight up. As I have yet to really mix it but feel it could make an interesting mojito if mixed.

Posted over 4 years ago by James from United States with 5 ratings

The bottle is cool, but the drink itself tastes like biting into orange peels

Posted over 4 years ago by JCarter from United States with 27 ratings

For some reason when I take a swig of this it taste just like froot loops. It's definitely different.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Honestly I bought it for the bottle and wasnt expecting much but it really isnt that bad. Nothing complicated here its just captain with some inserted lemon and peppered spice. HOWEVER its actually pretty good. Popping the bottle off smells like Pinesol in a way (lemon like) which is cool because I love lemonade. Honestly sipping it straight isnt TOO BAD it could be harsher but its not exactly smooth either. Tastes like the captain morgan at first and then a whoosh of lemon and pepper. Honestly it makes a unique Rum and Coke that I enjoy. I might keep buying this especially at its 13$ price.

Posted over 4 years ago by Matt from United States with 27 ratings

I like Captain Morgan products and had to try the Cannon Blast. It is a decent shot with some bite. I taste the peppery bite and a spice - nutmeg or clove with a hint of orange. I have only used for shots and have not experimented with mixing, although the ginger ale that one reviewer mentioned would be worth a try. I will keep some of this around to share with friends. Also, a cool bottle.

Posted over 4 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

And not in a bad way. It's advertised as a shot (which it does very well at), but I found that it is excellent with ginger ale. It's not a red fruit style rum, more mild, and a lot more complex than I would have thought, given the bottle. Not exactly a go-to rum, but great for parties, as it is super versatile.