Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Cannon Blast rum

Rate Captain Morgan Cannon Blast

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


82 Captain Morgan Cannon Blast ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 21 ratings

I like very smooth, slightly sweet sipping rums. This one is not really a smooth sipping rum. But it truly is tasty and interesting with a nice little bite. It's price to flavor ratio gives it a 7 in my book.

Perfect for shots, which is exactly what it's designed for. I'd purchase it again.

Posted about 3 years ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 63 ratings

A reasonable drink when mixed with a punch or cola at a party, and the bottle is a nice talking point, but for the real rum connoisseur the gimmick will fade away quickly, not to be taken seriously. Avoid drinking straight.

Posted over 3 years ago by Darlene from United States with 3 ratings

This stuff is awful. Can't believe Captain Morgan put something like this out

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike from United States with 25 ratings

Pours like syrup. Flavor is spicy but overpowered with lemon and a hint of orange. Gross as a shot, weird with coke. Was recommended to pour a shot into a beer. Used landshark (mediocre lager) it made something between a Shandy and a blue moon with an orange. Kinda reminded me of tequiza from back in the day. Not good, not bad. I think this is catering to the frat house crowd.

Posted over 3 years ago by W.D. from Canada with 10 ratings

There's a taste to this that reminds me of the "spicy" cinnamon hearts we used to get as kids.

Posted over 3 years ago by Paul from United States with 6 ratings

As the title says, this captain is very sweet and reminds me of fruity Pebbles cereal.

Posted over 3 years ago by Leonel from Mexico with 6 ratings

But rather, rum-spiced spice. Top shelf and self proclaimmed experienced drinkers will talk you out of this bottle, and some even with exaggerated reviews. But this rum is something different; extremely spiced, sweet and with a burning, pepper-like aftertaste.

This is the dare-your-buddies kind of stuff, not a taster's choice. Fun to have.

Posted over 3 years ago by XenoCorey from United States with 43 ratings

Dear god why. Horrible horrible decision. Fortunately bottle of rum I threw away.

Posted over 3 years ago by Aaron from United States with 5 ratings

I had high hopes for the Cannon blast but was left with with, not so, fond memories of nausea and sickness. This rum was way too spiced, with an initial taste of cough syrup. The consistency was about the same as cough syrup so I imagine this rum would be ideal for a hot tottie.

Posted over 3 years ago by Brandi from United States with 4 ratings

We definitely couldn't put our finger on what exactly it tasted like, one shot was all we could stand to try and were too scared to try to mix it with anything else. Maybe one day when we are desperate or need to teach one of our kids a lesson if they get caught drinking.

Posted over 3 years ago by TJ from United States with 3 ratings

Not your typical rum. Cannon blast has a strong lime taste followed by the blast of cinnamon.

Posted over 3 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Un peu piquant. un gout de cannelle et de lime a la fin.

Posted over 3 years ago by shirleysuccubus from United States with 14 ratings

This tastes like an experiment. By that I mean you can't put your finger on what it tastes like, it's a mystery, it tastes like they added random flavorings, and sold an experiment. Almost like one of those test 'limited time' drinks.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Steve from United States with 23 ratings

Captain Morgans attempt at a specialty shot, like fireball. Citrusy and fruity with a bit of a spicy bite. I had too much one night. Now i cant touch the stuff. Thank god it wasnt a good rum. Awesome bottle though.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Brian from United States with 1 rating

I love rum. Just saw this at a bar and the bartender was nice enough to give me a generous sample. Loved it! It's exactly what it was created for. Shots! Incidentally I got one mixed with Coke as a 'traveling' cocktail and it was great. Do not fear this if you drink rum.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Anthony C from United States with 100 ratings

A fun shot that leaves everyone guessing what fruity cereal it tastes like. More so, a great conversation piece....the taste and the bottle.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jade from United States with 1 rating

This is a great drink to take straight shots of no chaser needed I see a lot of people saying it's spicy but to me it tastes like a like hard candy literally amazing

Posted about 4 years ago by Kevin from United States with 26 ratings

Not what I was expecting. I was afraid to have at a party at my home because I had visions of the cannonball being chucked across the room. I was pleasantly surprised at the flavor. Just add ice.

Posted about 4 years ago by Derek Harris from United States with 30 ratings

Doesn't seem to mix well with anything, however, I don't believe that was their intention. This is a shooter and is fun and unique, but just does not feel like a rum. It feels like a party drink already made, and where is the fun in that?

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Well this is a "Fun" rum, you can drink it straight but could be used in "Chicky" drinks. Sweet and lots of citrus to enjoy. Not your typical rum..

Posted over 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

As a fan of The Captain, I had to try it ! I don't know if it's rum, I guess there is rum in it. The first thing that hits you is the bottle of course, quite a novelty and great party starter. Raise a shot and you get a lot of orange and spice to the nose, the flavour is who knows what, Orangina and Rum ? Swallow it down, then the pepper starts to warm you from within. Fire Two ! You know what they say 1 is not enough but 3 are too many. For $12 dollars it's a blast :-) and a little more fun than Jägermeister ;-)

Posted over 4 years ago by R.Ennell from Canada with 28 ratings

It might have been that I wa so utterly disgusted with the the other rum we were tasting that night (Pumpkin Face White) , but I was pleasantly surprised by the Captain Morgan Canon Blast.
Sure, it won't make the snob list of the top 10 (or even top 100) "best" rums in the world, but it honest to what it says it is and what it's supposed to be.

As far as I can tell , it pretty much a Captain Morgan Private Stock with spices and herbs added to it.
It's pretty good as a "drop shot" (what it is promoted as), but I found it even more interesting in a "Cuba Libre". The Cola and lime added a nice touch to the herbs of the rum.

ADDED BONUS: close all the light in the room, turn on a black light and take another look at the bottle...

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This is an odd flavored rum (and I do mean flavored rum, not spiced rum). It smells and tastes of lime, and the taste also includes jalapeno. Although that's a little odd, I find this rather tasty for a flavored rum.

One of my better liked flavored rums.

Posted over 4 years ago by ItsMeVince from United States with 4 ratings

Quite possibly my favorite rum for shots alongside Tattoo. First off, the cannonball-shaped bottle is extremely cool. The rum has a very pleasant smell, orangey and sweet. It tastes similar to the way it smells and it goes down very smoothly. My only wish is that it had a higher percentage of alcohol in it.

Posted over 4 years ago by AlohaRover from United States with 9 ratings

I tried a couple small 1oz bottles over ice. It was OK. I like plain Captain better