Posting your rating...

6.9/10 (11 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
2
4
1

Rate Motu Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


11 Motu Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This rum is aged in cognac barrels I believe in California. The distillate is from Puerto Rico and said to be made from sugar cane from Hawaii. You really get this cognac flavor on this one with lots of spice. Worth trying.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I found this to be a typical gold rum. Better than the Bacardi Gold, but below the Banks 7 Golden Age.

Smells and tastes of vanilla, oak, and molasses. Could be a little smoother. Not bad, but just average to me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

High 8 almost a 9
I was at the liquor store found this behind everything else, I had no idea what it was no idea where it was even from, straight Jumanji stuff here. Even the owner had no idea where it came from or what it was. Taking Jumanji's rum home with me I had 0 expectations from a 20$ bottle of . Its really nice presentation for a 20$ bottle. It's cork is super secure (I have had bottles with bad corks that come lose so I always comment on that. Anyway anymore I always let my rums breath for like 10 minutes before drinking them. It almost always enhances the flavour. Smelling this stuff in the glass is a vanilla oak, light alcohol and hints of fruit in the back, something lurks in it that I dont know. I will call it Jumanji flavor. Having is straight is actually really..... GOOD. Its a drier rum with some smoke in it then it kicks in the oak vanilla with some heat. Very long lasting flavor. In diet coke it is just as good and still gives that long flavor. Very surprised by this purchase and will continue to buy.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

Motu Rum is made from Polynesian sugar cane molasses and rested in Limousine Oak casks. This gives Motu its smooth and round character with a sweet taste. So that’s the company take, this was a strange find, one bottle on the shelf at my local rum purveyor. Definitely a different flavor, I thought it was the barrel flavor but couldn’t identify it. Light, sweet with an unusual woody aftertastes. Not sure if it is really number 2 in the world but it is pretty good.

P.S. The bottle is unusual and somewhat hard to open without splashing the first time.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 182 ratings

5.5-6 on my scale. For the price ($16.99), a nice surprise. Oaky and the after-burn was far less than I would have expected. No complaints when mixed.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Had a rum tasting on Super Bowl Sunday. Motu Rum bottle and label design looks very nice and unique. Golden color. Strong alcohol and plenty of oak and vanilla flavors to the nose and palate. Nasty burn at the end, so better mix this one up.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 331 ratings

Many different descriptions of where this rum comes from can be found in these reviews. However, my first bottle that I bought today says that Hawaiian molasses was brought to San Francisco before being distilled and then aged in Limousin Oak Barrels from France. They also spelled Limousin wrong as Limosin. Motu is also supposedly a Polynesian word for island, which is news to me. No mention of Puerto Rico is on the label as others have stated, nor is there an age statement. I would guess five years with no added sugar. I would imagine that they want to keep it's true identity secret since they will get whatever they can find to make a very good rum for cheap. Just don't ask any more details.

It comes in a quite fancy bottle for only $22 US, which normally warns me that there is crap inside. Not this time! It is super smooth and the closest that I can compare it to is Angostura 1919 with faint hints of exotic spices. I would also guess that this one has no sugar added, but still somewhat sweet. The Limousin Oak does not give it that burnt oak bourbon flavor found in many other aged rums. Bargains like this are hard to come by, but this one is also somewhat hard to find.

Update September 19, 2018: Drinking too much of this one will keep you married to the royal porcelain throne the next day, and I mean all day long. No telling what additives cause this. I am almost tempted to drop my rating from a 7 to a 6, but serious moderation needs to be made with this rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joe from United States with 6 ratings

Smooth, delicate, round flavor. Light to medium light body with a crisp, fairly dry finish. I wouldn’t say this is an overly complex rum, but it’s extremely balanced, elegant, and pleasant. Lots of chewy caramel candy, toffee, sweet vanilla, and a tiny touch of oak in the finish. Odd that such a stylized bottle has absolutely no info on the label. Highly recommended for the price.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

This rum has won awards. In fact, one year it finished second to, Ron Zacapa in a taste test beating out the likes of top rums such as Vizcaya! That's saying something!
With a price tag around $22-$27, this makes a fine addition to anyone's rum collection or top shelf rum, in my opinion. The unfortunate thing is that this rum is not easy to come by. I have seen this in one liquor store in all the years I have been collecting rum! This heeds the advice that good thing do come to those who wait...
This is a smooth flavorful and complex rum with no funky flavor, no ethanol burn or harshness going down or to offset the palate.
Nicely packaged that beholds a luxurious rum inside...

Ffffff

Posted at Grape and Grain Exchange about 3 years ago by Gerome from United States with 39 ratings

It is smooth with a slight heat in the front or back depending.. it's sweet and inviting like zacapa some say I have yet to try zacapa but it is honey sweet. I am thinking about mixing it but as a sipper it's not the most complex but it gives way to an interesting and inviting tastes. I might have paid 5$ to much but never know unless you try.. it's a Puerto Rican rum so there are similar tastes to the island. I would add it to your collection as a daily sipper if you see it or on the fence.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Seb from Canada with 38 ratings

Don't go by "weird" bottle with label coming off. Lighter color but unique and sophisticated especially considering the price. Will definitely buy again.