Posting your rating...
Clement Creole Shrubb rum

Rate Clement Creole Shrubb

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


41 Clement Creole Shrubb ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Dino from Germany with 43 ratings

Replaces very well Cointreau or Grand Manier, even for the better! Can be used in cocktails like Mai Tai and many others. A bit too sweet for my taste to drink it "straight" but I'm not too much of a sweet tooth anyway, still the girls all seem to like it a lot ;)

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

This is the only choice if you want to make a great mai tai, and is extremely sippable on its own. Once you've had this you will never think about buying Pyrat rum again.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

Reading some of the reviews here, there seems to be some confusion over what Creole Shrubb is and how to use it. While I suppose some might drink it straight over ice, Creole Shrubb really shines best as a component in more sophisticated cocktails. Far more complex and nuanced than Grand Marnier, Creole Shrubb uses an agricole base instead of neutral spirits. The underlying grassy notes, combined with the additional spices make this an indispensable component in well rounded drinks.

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I wasn't expecting to like this much, as I thought Clement rum was too dry to go with orange. I was wrong!

This has a very creamy syrupy texture, with a super sweet orange flavor! Borderline too sweet, though I admit I have a sweet tooth and I REALLY like it! In fact, I much prefer this to the Pyrat XO, the Pyrat 1623, and the Santa Teresa Orange.

Although this is really more of a liqueur than a rum, it's orange liqueur done right, and you will really like it if you're in the mood for a sweet treat!

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

The people who make this call it Orange Liqueur, not rum, and yet here it sits on a rum website. Probably because it's made with rum. Be that as it may, it's really tasty on its own, or with ice, and certainly in Tiki cocktails.

Posted about 6 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

As a "shrub" in the vintage sense rather than the new vinegar syrups of today, this stuff is delicious. Great orange flavor, not heavy sugared or cloying. Just a smooth clean flavor with the finish of agricole rhum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Louis from Turks and Caicos Islands with 5 ratings

At the risk of drawing ire from follow Grand Marnier devotees, I must say that I find this smoother, better tasting and longer lasting than my former favorite orange-infused beverage. It has also replaced GM as an ingredient in our desserts like creme brulee, mousse and cashew toffee.

Posted about 6 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

Great product, can be used to sub orange liqueur in cocktails, it´s great in a Mai Tai for example.

Posted over 6 years ago by rhum boogie from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

an excellent mixer with orange...(maybe a little cocoa liqueur)...for an orange bomb...sweet orange, not subtle just straight up nice...relax yourself and have a large one....

Posted at Mutiny Pirate Bar and Island Grille over 2 years ago by Jason from United States with 47 ratings

Having read the positive reviews I was anxious to try this one in its most natural form, and it more than met my expectations. Wonderful orange flavor, nice level of sweetness, and has a pretty smooth finish. I can see why this would be a good one to use in cocktails, but it certainly also stands up by itself.

Posted over 3 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 374 ratings

Was lovely as a quick shooter. .. decent afterburn and lovely subtle taste of orange ..

Posted over 4 years ago by David from Germany with 74 ratings

First off: This is rum as much as Grand Marnier is Cognac.

It tastes a lot like Grand Marnier but smoother and lighter.

Posted over 4 years ago by Alistair from United States with 4 ratings

I can also see sipping this at Christmas, though Stroh 80 would do a better job of lighting the pudding.
lovely zesty orange nose.
taste still a little sweet but it is a liqueur and when mixing care is needed with a sour lest it be overwhelmed
Beginning to really like it on its own

Posted over 7 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

Nice smooth rum with alot of orange flavor. Great with cola

Posted about 1 month ago by thechosen21 from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

I would not really classify it as rum, it is pretty much an orange liquor..but it is absolutely delicious and it is good when you want to add a bit of variety to your rum drinking habit. Absolutely recommended.

Posted about 1 month ago by András Péter Balogh from Hungary with 41 ratings

Elegant and great spiciness but in my opinion it's too sweet. Lot of orange zest, sugarcane, molasses, christmas spices and a lot of sweetness.

Posted 4 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

If you need something sweet and orange, this is it. Sweeter replacement for something like Dry Curacao

Posted 4 months ago by zaks from France with 38 ratings

Tout le plaisir du rhum et de l’orange : très doux (très sucré), rond et suave, il se boit facilement (trop même)

Posted 5 months ago by Tim from Canada with 54 ratings

Had this as part of a Rhum Clement product range sampler and was very impressed. The use of aged (I assume?) agricole as opposed to brandy adds a subtle twist. Not too cloying if sipping solo as a digestif as well

Posted about 1 year ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 220 ratings

jemný lahodný rumový moučník, v domacím báru bude mít své místo v popředí

Posted over 1 year ago by Jpotocki from Hungary with 26 ratings

This is a fantastic find and stands in admirably where the recipe calls for curacao, Grand Marnier, Cointreau or Triple Sec. It brings with it the agricole cut grass crispness and the strong zeal of orange zest. Our cracking Mai Tai of choice right now is, Smith & Cross Navy strength, Plantation Double aged Dark and Créole Shrubb with three fresh squeezed limes and home made orgeat.

Posted over 1 year ago by Andero from Estonia with 63 ratings

Friend offered it in Martinique in a planteur and it was great. Made for ladies or to be enjoyed as a dessert. Sweetness with the grass and sucre de canne flavours. Very good!

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Visited the Clement distillery while vacationing in Martinique. Self guided distillery tour ended with an open tasting bar. Clement Shrubb was priced at EUR 12 per bottle at the distillery. Shrubb is the traditional Christmas drink at the island. Nice bottle and label design. Traditional sweet Rhum Agricole flavors complemented with mild grass, some florals and plenty of citrus notes (mainly orange) to the nose and palate. Very mild burn at the end. Rhum Agricole fan boys can easily add 2 points to my score.

Posted over 1 year ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

That's (I assume) the reason most people are comparing this Grand Marnier, but make no mistake: Creole Shrubb is superior! Sweet, but not cloying. Broad, yet complex. Can be enjoyed neat, on the rocks and is an absolute star in cocktails! Intense orange zest is present all the way through, with a mixture of spices adding more to the depth of the liqueur than any particular flavor. All of this is lent marvelous support by the agricole backbone. This is my goto orange liqueur, it just rocks!

Posted over 1 year ago by Joe from United States with 37 ratings

Sugar cane Grand Marnier like liquor. Super sweet and honest orange flavor lingers. Tried it in an old fashion. Not bad I must say.




#