Posting your rating...
Chairman's The Forgotten Cask rum

Chairman's The Forgotten Cask

Saint Lucia | Aged

6.9/10 (99 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
7
21
42
16
7
4

Rate Chairman's The Forgotten Cask

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


99 Chairman's The Forgotten Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 212 ratings

Accidentally aged version of Chairmans Reserve? Good marketing.
Chairman’s Reserve is 3 to 5 years, this one must be around 8 year.

The dilution is too high. The taste is not watery, but also not rich.
I get some agricole flavors like fermented fruits. Nothing special for 38€.

Smell: vanilla, fermented citrus fruits, wood, some sweetness
Taste: vanilla, spice, tanins, barrel/earth

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruit: 1.5/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3/5
Value (38€): 2/5

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

This one should be the best of there assortment. I was to start with suspicious because the cheap screw cap and not real cork. The rum is thin and smells oaky and the flavor is instant strong with long aftertaste. The rum is becoming better when letting it breathe for a while.

Ffffff

Posted 9 days ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 145 ratings

This is excellent rum! Far better than the 6.9 aggregate score as of my review. This has a ton of body, Thick, chewy and smooth. Not sweet at all. Lots of oak, molasses, sultana black currant and even some faint fig notes. Long, mellow and satisfying finish. Great value too at $40. Another superb rum from a GREAT distillery.

Ffffff

Posted 27 days ago by pula_pirata from Australia with 18 ratings

It’s a nice sipper with no much of a personality, nothing that stands out. Sweet with a medium finish.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Ric Stryde from Canada with 7 ratings

The rum is a nice amber colour. It has a decent amount of body. On the nose are a lot of molasses and brown sugar, a hint of vanilla and a hit of alcohol. On the tongue is some continued brown sugar, a greater dose of alcohol and some baking spices. It’s quite dry for a rum that has sugary notes. Not a lot of burn for something with a pronounced alcohol nose and flavour. Decent rum, but nothing particularly notable about it.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

I wanted more, but it is tasty. Sweet and smoky. Not sure about oaky though. Similar rums at a bit lower cost as well. Keep looking . . .

Ffffff

Posted at Cubana almost 3 years ago by Anthony Lomas from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

In my opinion the finest rum available.
I found his in Cubanas, Sheffield which has now become my go-to drink in my go-to bar.
I’d love to know where else in the UK serves this premium St Lucia rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 189 ratings

Un bon rhum qui au nez est assez complexe. En bouche on goûte le chaîne, cassonade et la vanille. Veilli dans des barils ayant servi à faire du whisky jack Daniel, il est quand même doux. Côté qualité/prix vraiment décevant. C est un bon rhum si vous avez la chance de le payé moins cher.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 55 ratings

Bit of a let down really. Nice colour, good aroma but I found it to be harsher on the throat than I expected. Warms you through, but for the price I feel others are definitely superior.
Graham.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Jack from Canada with 27 ratings

Read the story while you drink it, improves the taste. Then share with your friends and tell them the story. The story is better than the taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Daniel Agopsowicz from United States with 6 ratings

I wanted to like this very much as it was brought to me as a gift from the island. After ample taste tests, I found it was simply not the best for neat sipping, especially if not very cold. Many aromas and flavors at work, some overpowering, almost as a flavored rum. I found with a tiny splash of Fever Tree ginger ale or Schweppes lemon however, it made an excellent grog.