Posting your rating...
Chairman's The Forgotten Cask rum

Chairman's The Forgotten Cask

Saint Lucia | Aged

7.0/10(113 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
7
22
49
19
9
5

Rate Chairman's The Forgotten Cask

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

113 Chairman's The Forgotten Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small alien 200 200

Posted 8 months ago by Richard from Sweden with 72 ratings

Both smooth and intense at the same time. Sweet, oak, coffee and citrus. Big aftertaste that unfortunately dies too fast

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

This one should be the best of there assortment. I was to start with suspicious because the cheap screw cap and not real cork. The rum is thin and smells oaky and the flavor is instant strong with long aftertaste. The rum is becoming better when letting it breathe for a while.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 3 months ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 208 ratings

Just tasted a sample so this is just a first impression, but I will come back to it when I have opened my 70cl bottle.

I suppose most of us have heard the story about the “Forgotten Casks”, but anyway, they forgot some barrels after the big fire 2007 and when they found them they were to aged for the “Reserve” and then they created the “Forgotten Casks” and started to go on aging barrels extra for further production of it.

It’s produced from molasses in coffey and pot stills then aged separately in ex Bourbon American oak barrels before being blended before aged in the same barrels for additional three years. The total aging is six to eleven years.
The aroma is very smooth.
In the front of the mouth it doesn’t taste very much, but when you swallow it comes and you can recognize oak, spices and vanilla.
The finish, which is rather long, you can recognize vanilla, cinnamon and raisins.
I really like Chairman’s Reserve and overall I think this is a more or less perfect everyday rum just as the “Reserve”.
Pictures: My St. Lucia shelf & My emptied sample together with my unopened 70cl.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Andreas from Sweden with 14 ratings

A smooth and not too complex rum from St. Lucia and it will not leave you disappointed.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by F_a_r_a_b_a_c_k from Sweden with 25 ratings

God rom som saknar det lilla extra men slinker ner snabbt.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by PhM from Belgium with 25 ratings

Bought this while travelling on advice of a great shop with loads of rum’s. In first instance I wasn’t convinced but the more I drank it the better it got. Now I want to buy it again.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 200 ratings

This is excellent rum! Far better than the 6.9 aggregate score as of my review. This has a ton of body, Thick, chewy and smooth. Not sweet at all. Lots of oak, molasses, sultana black currant and even some faint fig notes. Long, mellow and satisfying finish. Great value too at $40. Another superb rum from a GREAT distillery.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by pula_pirata from Australia with 25 ratings

It’s a nice sipper with no much of a personality, nothing that stands out. Sweet with a medium finish.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Ric Stryde from Canada with 7 ratings

The rum is a nice amber colour. It has a decent amount of body. On the nose are a lot of molasses and brown sugar, a hint of vanilla and a hit of alcohol. On the tongue is some continued brown sugar, a greater dose of alcohol and some baking spices. It’s quite dry for a rum that has sugary notes. Not a lot of burn for something with a pronounced alcohol nose and flavour. Decent rum, but nothing particularly notable about it.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

I wanted more, but it is tasty. Sweet and smoky. Not sure about oaky though. Similar rums at a bit lower cost as well. Keep looking . . .

Ffffff

Posted at Cubana over 3 years ago by Anthony Lomas from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

In my opinion the finest rum available.
I found his in Cubanas, Sheffield which has now become my go-to drink in my go-to bar.
I’d love to know where else in the UK serves this premium St Lucia rum.