Posting your rating...
Chairman's The Forgotten Cask rum

Chairman's The Forgotten Cask

Saint Lucia | Aged

7.0/10
116 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
7
22
51
20
9
5

Rate Chairman's The Forgotten Cask

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

116 Chairman's The Forgotten Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 93 ratings

Clearly recomendable for all looking for some real Rum.
This is how good Rum schoud taste.
Feiner ungezuckerter Rum, so wie Rum sein sollte.
Ehrlich, holzig, etwas rauchig mit fruchtig herber Note in der Nase.
Im Mund dann kräftig würzig mit deutlicher Eichennote, etwas Vanille vom Fass und die fruchtigen Anklänge von Rosinen.
Klare Empfehlung für alle die den echten Rum Geschmack suchen.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

This one should be the best of there assortment. I was to start with suspicious because the cheap screw cap and not real cork. The rum is thin and smells oaky and the flavor is instant strong with long aftertaste. The rum is becoming better when letting it breathe for a while.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 5 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 219 ratings

Just tasted a sample so this is just a first impression, but I will come back to it when I have opened my 70cl bottle.

I suppose most of us have heard the story about the “Forgotten Casks”, but anyway, they forgot some barrels after the big fire 2007 and when they found them they were to aged for the “Reserve” and then they created the “Forgotten Casks” and started to go on aging barrels extra for further production of it.

It’s produced from molasses in coffey and pot stills then aged separately in ex Bourbon American oak barrels before being blended before aged in the same barrels for additional three years. The total aging is six to eleven years.
The aroma is very smooth.
In the front of the mouth it doesn’t taste very much, but when you swallow it comes and you can recognize oak, spices and vanilla.
The finish, which is rather long, you can recognize vanilla, cinnamon and raisins.
I really like Chairman’s Reserve and overall I think this is a more or less perfect everyday rum just as the “Reserve”.
Pictures: My St. Lucia shelf & My emptied sample together with my unopened 70cl.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 200 ratings

This is excellent rum! Far better than the 6.9 aggregate score as of my review. This has a ton of body, Thick, chewy and smooth. Not sweet at all. Lots of oak, molasses, sultana black currant and even some faint fig notes. Long, mellow and satisfying finish. Great value too at $40. Another superb rum from a GREAT distillery.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 411 ratings

Zum Glück für uns Alle wurden diese Fässer wiedergefunden !
Herrlicher Rum, in der Nase nahezu perfekt, Vanille, Karamell.....
Im Gaumen richtig vollmundig und deftig, nicht so süss, Leder, Holz, so richtig schwer.
Im Abgang schön nachhaltig, mmm und noch ein Schluck !

Fortunately for us all, these barrels were found!
Wonderful rum, almost perfect in the nose, vanilla, caramel ...
In the palate really full-bodied and hearty, not so sweet, leather, wood, really heavy.
In the finish beautifully lasting, mmm and another sip!

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Andreas from Sweden with 14 ratings

A smooth and not too complex rum from St. Lucia and it will not leave you disappointed.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 124 ratings

The older brother of Chairman's Reserve Finest, nose is real beauty, sweet fruity tones, mixed with charred barrel, toffee and a waft of elderberry, on the palate there is oak, chocolate, spices, all deep and pleasant, with a bit of sweetness, but without added sugar. The aftertaste is long and spicy, turning towards bitter, with a bit of an pleasing alcohol prickle. The overall taste profile is smooth, almost oily, first glass from the bottle seems a bit one dimensional, but the taste develops nicely after a few glasses. My feeling is similar I get with Doorly's - this one is indeed a pleasing and honest rum without additives. Compared with Doorly's 8y - this one has a bit less elaborated nose (Doorly is exceptional indeed), has more heavy, spicy and round taste. Good job mister Chairman!

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by F_a_r_a_b_a_c_k from Sweden with 28 ratings

God rom som saknar det lilla extra men slinker ner snabbt.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by PhM from Belgium with 25 ratings

Bought this while travelling on advice of a great shop with loads of rum’s. In first instance I wasn’t convinced but the more I drank it the better it got. Now I want to buy it again.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by pula_pirata from Australia with 25 ratings

It’s a nice sipper with no much of a personality, nothing that stands out. Sweet with a medium finish.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Ric Stryde from Canada with 9 ratings

The rum is a nice amber colour. It has a decent amount of body. On the nose are a lot of molasses and brown sugar, a hint of vanilla and a hit of alcohol. On the tongue is some continued brown sugar, a greater dose of alcohol and some baking spices. It’s quite dry for a rum that has sugary notes. Not a lot of burn for something with a pronounced alcohol nose and flavour. Decent rum, but nothing particularly notable about it.