Posting your rating...
Chairman's The Forgotten Cask rum

Chairman's The Forgotten Cask

Saint Lucia | Aged

7.0/10(113 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
7
22
49
19
9
5

Rate Chairman's The Forgotten Cask

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

113 Chairman's The Forgotten Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Spicy with floral & vegetal notes, this rum is sweet with short or medium aftertaste. Interresting history past but does not leave a long memory.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rhombic from Spain with 13 ratings

Very dark reddish amber. Aromas of molasses, some hazelnut and dried fruits. In mouth, vanilla, honey/caramel, leather and oak notes dominate. A tiny bit of an alcohol bite but it was fine to drink neat nonetheless - it is a fairly dry rum though. There is a short finish with mostly toasted notes. A medium-bodied rum, dry but arguably not a biting bone-dry flavour because of how it's evenly balanced. I found it quite nice.
All in all, I would settle for somewhere around 7.5/10, which I'll settle on 8/10 for now as I do not find it much worse than many highly rated sweeter rums.

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL almost 3 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

A forgotten cask due to fire in 2007. Could it be the reason why I find it smoky? Hmm just kidding.

Liquorice with coffee (vanilla coffee frappe). It does come with touch of smokiness and earthy. Fruity longan with fully ripen sweet pineapple. Chocolate bitter sweet.

Woody with dried fruits such as raisins. Fruitiness of pineapple jam and dried longan once sipped. Floral honey notes and tartness of lime which reminds me of Honeysuckle Daiquiri.

Charred wood finishing, dark chocolate with cranberry fillings. As if it been through Pedro Ximenez finishing but it doesn't last long.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Remy from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Pretty dark Rum. Dannemara molasse comes out at 1st sniff. I found a rich and caramely taste. Great rum at that price tag

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

An interesting rum, quite harsh to start with but it smooths out. To my taste buds, it's actually not better than the standard Chairman's Reserve - I wouldn't buy this for 70%+ more in terms of price.

What does it taste like? Imagine a marriage of Chairman's Reserve and Mount Gay Black Barrel and you are not far off - this certainly has more of an oaky, charred bourbon taste than the original, but it's not quite as sweet and round in the middle.

It has a good oaky nose and a very strong oaky, smokey-bourbon like finish, but in the mouth, I prefer the standard Chairman's Reserve.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

Did expect more to be honest...smells better than it tastes..

Small img 20200720 204523

Posted over 3 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 170 ratings

Good british style rum.
Taste is mostly influenced by wooden character of casks with hints of vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

A fantastic rum the best I’ve had yet with a smooth taste that is quick to distinguish itself from the rest of the shelf I’d highly recommend this to anyone.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2698 ratings

Very nice label, bland bottle and a screw cap sets the stage for Chairman's Reserve Forgotten Casks. Color is nice semi deep, smell is quite alcoholic, taste is not bad, but very bland. Trying to the cheaper version of the Chairman's Reserve next.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jesper Hansen from Denmark with 64 ratings

Fin rom. Synes prisen er lidt meget i forhold til kvaliteten. Skulle den have haft 8/9 skulle den have været 100 kr billigere.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris L from United Kingdom with 77 ratings

A sweet, and not too heavy flavour, with a nice smooth finish, tasty