Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Reserve Blend rum

Rate Appleton Estate Reserve Blend

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


60 Appleton Estate Reserve Blend ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

I cannot believe how Appleton Estate has jumped into the glue rum wagon! Some older ones are slightly better, but the Reserve Blend is just nasty alcohol and glue to the nose and palate. Burn is nasty at the end. Struggles to earn a 3.

Posted about 3 years ago by Drew Dyer from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Simply ok, I would not buy again as better value rums are out their

Posted about 3 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This appeared to be a high-end rum from Appleton, although it's age is unclear - Regardless, I was expecting a very good rum. The bottle itself is quite nice, and the colour a rich amber. The rum has a decent smell, a little oaky and sweet. This rum is too harsh for me to drink straight, although it has a typical Jamaican "dryness" and depth to it. OK for the price, but not a top shelf rum - Good with a nice sweet cola (I had it with Coke Life) though.

Posted over 3 years ago by Seedguy from United States with 3 ratings

Not the greatest, but it'll do in a pinch. Better for mixes than sipping.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Robert from United States with 23 ratings

Was hoping for a sipper, but definitely a little harsh for that, for the price wasnt excited.

Posted almost 4 years ago by sizzletron from Canada with 1 rating

I love this. I'm drinking with mix, namely cola, and the bottom end on this is rich. Lots of round molasses and sugars on the bottom. Vanilla, caramel, titch of orange peel and spice. I started my rum journey on the Signature Blend, which is 4 years. I was enamored by that for the oakiness and the molasses. This is THAT with a sweeter, thicker mouthfeel and more oak in the finish. It is your friend. I cook with molasses a lot and am able to appreciate it's bitter finish and dark round profile. Molasses and smoky oak are why I drink this brand. The extra of both and the added sweetness make this my favorite so far. I plan on trying the 12 year. Most reviews indicate that rum is best at 12 years. And I plan on trying the El Dorado 12 year.. It has a lot of close fans.

Let's hear it for my first booze review.

Posted over 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 0 gpl. Got a bottle of this as a present and quickly opened it as I thought it was something special. Must have been the new label or I had consumed too much rum already. It's okay as a mixer. It seems that Appleton is taking whatever they have left over from various barrels and calling it a reserve blend. There are some trace elements of tastes found in the higher priced Appleton's but it's my opinion that Appleton is aiming for the Bacardi section of the market with the price of this rum. It's still better than Bacardi, but the bar has been lowered. It's a fair to decent mixing rum. Spend the extra and get the Appleton 12 year old.

Posted over 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I tasted this along side with the discontinued Appleton Reserve, and I felt this was a nice improvement. This has a little more spice, and a little more flavor than that does.

This is a LOT closer to the Appleton 12, thought that one still takes the nod in a side by side comparison.

Smells and tastes of oak, hazelnut, nutmeg, vanilla, and molasses.

Although the 12 is better, I rate them both a 7!

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory from Australia with 27 ratings

There are definitely better rums in this price range but I won't shoot it down completely. Has an English style rum punch to it with some fruity notes.
Be nice as a mixing rum, good on the rocks once the water melted a little, otherwise it was a tad to strong for my liking.
Would happily drink it but I say that about every rum haha

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

I was a fan of the V/X, which this supposedly replaced. However, there's nothing here for me. Blended to complacency for a typical consumer, I feel.

Posted over 3 years ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

Why they have even made this?!?!? Pass years I have had this feeling that the quality of Appleton has gone down. Even their 12-years old does not taste as it used to.
I was expecting little more when I decided to taste these "relatively new ones" Signature and Estate Reserve Blend. Same crap both of them. This one is just slightly more interesting, but unfortunately interesting does not make it better

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I picked up a bottle of this recently thinking it was something new from Appleton Estate and I was partially right. It's a new label for the same rum as the Appleton Estate Reserve rum. They changed labeling and naming structure in the spring of 2015. Confusing.

The aroma in the bottle has some astringency to it but nothing much else. Upon tasting it I notice some vanilla and caramel but that gets knocked aside by some tongue-tingling spiciness. Doesn't have much of a burn but still not very smooth. I would not recommend this as a sipping rum but as a mixer. It's usable and for the price a decent mixing rum.

Posted about 1 month ago by MerMama from United States with 21 ratings

Good solid banana smoothy for drinking on its own or blends well with a tiki drink.

Posted about 2 months ago by GoldenFlashGoudy from United States with 7 ratings

As a Rum enthusiast I always like to try new Rums and to me this was new, as my Liquor store usually does not carry Appleton Estate. Unfortunately at the moment it was either this, or their other less expensive options. Being under 20$ I did not have great expectations for this Rum, which is good because it was slightly below average (which for the price is ok with me). My biggest issue with this particular Rum was how awful it tastes straight or on the rocks. Could you drink this straight..? sure... would you enjoy it..? less than likely. In mixed drinks the prognosis is less grim, it blends well with orange juice, pineapple juice, and pina coladas just fine, it just doesn't enhance them like a great rum does. For these reasons, I would rate this a 4/10 if taken straight or on the rocks, and a 6/10 in mixed drinks; splitting the difference I'd round this out as a 5/10 overall. Not terrible, but certainly not good either.

Posted 3 months ago by Brian from Australia with 13 ratings

A great addition to my bar. I found that it was a bit to harsh on the palate to drink straight but love this stuff in any tiki cocktail.

Posted 3 months ago by abrarey from United States with 17 ratings

Is an OK option if there's nothing left. Not impressed. It lack character and flavor for being a Jamaican rum.

Posted 3 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

Smell: caramel, honey, oak, molases, dry fruits
Taste: caramel, spice, barrel (oak/earth), some bitterness, honey
Finish: dry, long and spicy

Sweetness: 2/5
Spice: 3.5/5
Fruit: 3/5
Mildness: 3/5

Posted 4 months ago by HammerHead from Netherlands with 22 ratings

Not the most complex of rums. Light, sweet and mellow. Not much else going on but vanilla, caramel and some lighter fruitiness. The finish is a tad alcoholic, but because of the relatively low abv it's not off-putting.

Posted 6 months ago by Olivier27 from Canada with 18 ratings

Smoother than the signature blend, it lack somehow of the bitty or funky taste that Appleton Estate is known for. For some reason I can’t explain, it reminds me the Captain Morgan Private Stock.

Keep your money and invest it on the Appleton Estate Rare Blend 12 years which is definitely a better bang for the buck.

Posted 6 months ago by Fraser Campbell Sr from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

I think this is a good rum for mixing and acceptable for sipping. The flavour is interesting and shouldn't be overlooked, but the rum is not incredibly smooth. Taste gets better with every subsequent glass.

Posted 8 months ago by George from United States with 13 ratings

Not awful, just not up to the hype. Strange fuel-like initial taste followed by a raspy finish mars the experience. Definitely not a sipping rum in my opinion and there are better as a base for mixed drinks out there. When one has lemons, one makes lemonade so methinks I'll use the rest of the bottle for rum sours.

Posted 8 months ago by wArChiEf from Austria with 17 ratings

Relative strong leaving (not the best), but all in all OK. I would go for the 12 year Rare Blend.

Posted 8 months ago by cocacola99 from Canada with 19 ratings

Primarily a HIGH value mixing rum ...
In a pinch ...yes !!!

Posted 9 months ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 157 ratings

Ce rhum reste agreable a boire il y a un bel equilibre meme si ce n est pas un grand rhum , je le conseille en rapport qualité prix.pour debuter le vrai rhum c est bien.note 6.8.
Pour les xonnaisseurs le 12 ans un peu plus cher a plus de gout et peut valoir le coup de mettre un peu plus.il y a tjs du gout dans leur ehums et j aime cela.




#