Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Reserve Blend rum

Appleton Estate Reserve Blend

Jamaica | Aged

6.2/10 (68 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
12
28
19
2
2
1

Rate Appleton Estate Reserve Blend

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


68 Appleton Estate Reserve Blend ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Root-theory from Poland with 52 ratings

Stali czytelnicy wiedzą że lubię promocje. Tym razem dodam jeszcze, iż nie lubię przepłacać za cokolwiek, wiedząc że za kilka tygodni/miesięcy będę mógł kupić to w lepszej cenie. Wyjątkiem od tej reguły jest potrzeba chwili oraz sytuacja kiedy nie ma innej możliwości i zakupu trzeba dokonać np. na stacji paliw (gdzie takie atrakcje jak niska cena raczej często się nie zdarzają...). Do zakupu Appleton Estate jakoś nie mogłem się przekonać - widywałem go już kilkukrotnie w Makro gdzie po dziś dzień można go nabyć w dość dobrych pieniądzach. Jednak moje przymiarki ostatecznie odmieniła ciekawa, przedświąteczna promocja w Winnicy Lidla o nazwie "Zrób zapasy na wigilię". Dzięki niej udało mi się nabyć trunek (a nawet dwa) w bardzo atrakcyjnej cenie i uprzednia obawa o niską jakość jakoś ostatecznie się rozwiała.

Także przed państwem recenzja pierwszego, pełnoprawnego dla mnie rumu z Jamajki! Kraju będącego jedną z "rumowych potęg". Ostatnio mieliśmy okazję wspólnie degustować rum z Wenezueli także ochota na odkrywanie nowych terenów pozostaje niezmienna. Warto wspomnieć iż pierwszy kontakt z Jamajskim blendem mieliśmy już przy okazji recenzowania rumów gdzie destylat z Jamajki stanowił pewną część całości.

Rum Appleton Estate Reserve Blend jest pozycjonowany wyżej niż podstawowa i tańsza odmiana Appleton Estate Signature Blend. Dziś opisywany trunek zastąpił w 2016r wersję ośmioletnią której równocześnie zaprzestano produkcji (przy odrobinie szczęścia można odnaleźć w sklepach "niedobitki" wersji ośmioletniej ale zapas szybko się kurczy). Widać też podobieństwo samych etykiet ale na tym moja wiedza się kończy, szczególnie dlatego że nie miałem okazji poznać odmiany 8yo i prawdopodobnie się nie skuszę... Dlaczego? O tym za chwilę.

ZAPACH: Pestki ze słonecznika, dojrzale mango, palony karmel, wysłużona ale wyczuwalna beczka, daleko w tle palony plastik, kleje. Aromat nie jest zbyt intensywny. alkohol średnio wyczuwalny.

SMAK: Lekka słodycz, wyraźna wielokrotnie używana beczka, bandaże, mocno palony cukier, na końcu są owoce - mango i pieczony banan. Dodanie lodu sprawia ze alkohol staje się wyraźniejszy - do tej pory był ukrywany przez dominujące aromaty rumu

Według materiałów producenta możemy się dowiedzieć iż średni czas leżakowania zawartości wynosi 6 lat. Ale nie oznacza to że jest to trunek min. 6 letni a jedynie średnia użytych do kupażu destylatów. Niestety różnicę tę czuć w smaku wyraźnie. Dlaczego niestety? W tym rumie wyczuwam więcej posmaku zmęczonego drewna, klejów oraz mniej przyjemnych aromatów jakimi są pojawiające się nuty apteczne, palonego plastiku itp. Mimo pozycjonowania wyżej niż podstawowy wypust średnio nadaje się do picia sute lub nawet z lodem. Tzn. nadać się nadadzą ale nie będzie to duża rozkosz dla podniebienia...

Na koniec powiem iż super że mogłem spotkać się z Jamajskim rumem i okazało się to fajną odmianą od ostatnio trafiających do mnie często mocno przesłodzonych rumów. Dodatkowo lubię też wspomnieć że rum nie jest oszukany - nie jest oraz trudno doszukać się w nim znamion sztuczności.

OCENA: 60/100

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

I cannot believe how Appleton Estate has jumped into the glue rum wagon! Some older ones are slightly better, but the Reserve Blend is just nasty alcohol and glue to the nose and palate. Burn is nasty at the end. Struggles to earn a 3.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Drew Dyer from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Simply ok, I would not buy again as better value rums are out their

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This appeared to be a high-end rum from Appleton, although it's age is unclear - Regardless, I was expecting a very good rum. The bottle itself is quite nice, and the colour a rich amber. The rum has a decent smell, a little oaky and sweet. This rum is too harsh for me to drink straight, although it has a typical Jamaican "dryness" and depth to it. OK for the price, but not a top shelf rum - Good with a nice sweet cola (I had it with Coke Life) though.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Seedguy from United States with 3 ratings

Not the greatest, but it'll do in a pinch. Better for mixes than sipping.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Robert from United States with 23 ratings

Was hoping for a sipper, but definitely a little harsh for that, for the price wasnt excited.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by sizzletron from Canada with 1 rating

I love this. I'm drinking with mix, namely cola, and the bottom end on this is rich. Lots of round molasses and sugars on the bottom. Vanilla, caramel, titch of orange peel and spice. I started my rum journey on the Signature Blend, which is 4 years. I was enamored by that for the oakiness and the molasses. This is THAT with a sweeter, thicker mouthfeel and more oak in the finish. It is your friend. I cook with molasses a lot and am able to appreciate it's bitter finish and dark round profile. Molasses and smoky oak are why I drink this brand. The extra of both and the added sweetness make this my favorite so far. I plan on trying the 12 year. Most reviews indicate that rum is best at 12 years. And I plan on trying the El Dorado 12 year.. It has a lot of close fans.

Let's hear it for my first booze review.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 194 ratings

Sugar: 0 gpl. Got a bottle of this as a present and quickly opened it as I thought it was something special. Must have been the new label or I had consumed too much rum already. It's okay as a mixer. It seems that Appleton is taking whatever they have left over from various barrels and calling it a reserve blend. There are some trace elements of tastes found in the higher priced Appleton's but it's my opinion that Appleton is aiming for the Bacardi section of the market with the price of this rum. It's still better than Bacardi, but the bar has been lowered. It's a fair to decent mixing rum. Spend the extra and get the Appleton 12 year old.

Ffffff

Posted 4 days ago by Jimechsbu99 from United States with 5 ratings

This is the rum of all inclusive resorts, reminds me of Jamaica !

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 334 ratings

Now that Appleton has downsized and discontinued the V/X, White, and Special Gold, there are only three rums below the $35 per bottle price tag. The Signature Blend is the entry level mixer, which I will not try. Then there is this one blended from 20 select aged rums with an average age of 6 years, followed by the Rare Blend 12 Year. I had the latter one a month or so ago and developed a love/hate relationship with it because of too much hogo Jamaican funk. This one has the hogo funk subdued quite a bit, which is alright with me. The aroma has the most hogo, but on the palate is perfectly smooth with natural sweetness from the wood and molasses with no added sugar. There is no bitterness going down the pipe. I miss the old V/X, which is a step up from their Signature Blend. I am so glad to be able to continue buying Appleton instead of giving up on them. This bottle was $27 and a better buy than the $33 Rare Blend 12 Year in the fancy box. It is also a very versatile mixer, making great Mai Tais and Goombay Smashes.

Update August 29, 2019: I have tried several Jamaican rums like this to come up with the perfect Mai Tai. This one wins for me. Using the wrong Jamaican rum in a Mai Tai will screw it up faster than anything. Well, not quite as bad as using too much orange liqueur!

Update May 31, 2020: I saw this one in a new bottle while stocking up on old favorites. There was a big number 8 designating the number of years on the front. It also said Reserve Blend. My original review was for the 6 year Reserve Blend. Does this new bottle and aging warrant another review? Not really. However, it is even better from what I remember. For only $25 US, this is a damn fine sipping dry rum with the hogo funk minimized. It is also not the same 8 year rum as what is shipped off to Europe. Appleton always keeps us confused. My overall ranking remains the same.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I tasted this along side with the discontinued Appleton Reserve, and I felt this was a nice improvement. This has a little more spice, and a little more flavor than that does.

This is a LOT closer to the Appleton 12, thought that one still takes the nod in a side by side comparison.

Smells and tastes of oak, hazelnut, nutmeg, vanilla, and molasses.

Although the 12 is better, I rate them both a 7!