Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Reserve Blend rum
Appleton Estate Reserve Blend rum

Appleton Estate Reserve Blend

Jamaica | Aged

6.1/10 (64 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
11
25
19
2
1
1

Rate Appleton Estate Reserve Blend

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


64 Appleton Estate Reserve Blend ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I picked up a bottle of this recently thinking it was something new from Appleton Estate and I was partially right. It's a new label for the same rum as the Appleton Estate Reserve rum. They changed labeling and naming structure in the spring of 2015. Confusing.

The aroma in the bottle has some astringency to it but nothing much else. Upon tasting it I notice some vanilla and caramel but that gets knocked aside by some tongue-tingling spiciness. Doesn't have much of a burn but still not very smooth. I would not recommend this as a sipping rum but as a mixer. It's usable and for the price a decent mixing rum.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2596 ratings

I cannot believe how Appleton Estate has jumped into the glue rum wagon! Some older ones are slightly better, but the Reserve Blend is just nasty alcohol and glue to the nose and palate. Burn is nasty at the end. Struggles to earn a 3.

357cb4ef84d0a6f82c344bb966cbbec8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Drew Dyer from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Simply ok, I would not buy again as better value rums are out their

E5e3fcca2a52e2133736f492c3ec8492.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This appeared to be a high-end rum from Appleton, although it's age is unclear - Regardless, I was expecting a very good rum. The bottle itself is quite nice, and the colour a rich amber. The rum has a decent smell, a little oaky and sweet. This rum is too harsh for me to drink straight, although it has a typical Jamaican "dryness" and depth to it. OK for the price, but not a top shelf rum - Good with a nice sweet cola (I had it with Coke Life) though.

E47217066d6893c44f0467e82d1f39bf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Seedguy from United States with 3 ratings

Not the greatest, but it'll do in a pinch. Better for mixes than sipping.

E65044360b7618b81dbc1835d920a932.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Robert from United States with 23 ratings

Was hoping for a sipper, but definitely a little harsh for that, for the price wasnt excited.

559e525bd7319a707dea57e943735218.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by sizzletron from Canada with 1 rating

I love this. I'm drinking with mix, namely cola, and the bottom end on this is rich. Lots of round molasses and sugars on the bottom. Vanilla, caramel, titch of orange peel and spice. I started my rum journey on the Signature Blend, which is 4 years. I was enamored by that for the oakiness and the molasses. This is THAT with a sweeter, thicker mouthfeel and more oak in the finish. It is your friend. I cook with molasses a lot and am able to appreciate it's bitter finish and dark round profile. Molasses and smoky oak are why I drink this brand. The extra of both and the added sweetness make this my favorite so far. I plan on trying the 12 year. Most reviews indicate that rum is best at 12 years. And I plan on trying the El Dorado 12 year.. It has a lot of close fans.

Let's hear it for my first booze review.

38fdc1cc00a9074ddaebecec187e9a27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 191 ratings

Sugar: 0 gpl. Got a bottle of this as a present and quickly opened it as I thought it was something special. Must have been the new label or I had consumed too much rum already. It's okay as a mixer. It seems that Appleton is taking whatever they have left over from various barrels and calling it a reserve blend. There are some trace elements of tastes found in the higher priced Appleton's but it's my opinion that Appleton is aiming for the Bacardi section of the market with the price of this rum. It's still better than Bacardi, but the bar has been lowered. It's a fair to decent mixing rum. Spend the extra and get the Appleton 12 year old.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 435 ratings

I tasted this along side with the discontinued Appleton Reserve, and I felt this was a nice improvement. This has a little more spice, and a little more flavor than that does.

This is a LOT closer to the Appleton 12, thought that one still takes the nod in a side by side comparison.

Smells and tastes of oak, hazelnut, nutmeg, vanilla, and molasses.

Although the 12 is better, I rate them both a 7!

85cbb700b553f00d5058e58c1aee5b61.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory from Australia with 27 ratings

There are definitely better rums in this price range but I won't shoot it down completely. Has an English style rum punch to it with some fruity notes.
Be nice as a mixing rum, good on the rocks once the water melted a little, otherwise it was a tad to strong for my liking.
Would happily drink it but I say that about every rum haha

2fd39b0277873d3142c9f9e49e1f4e38.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

I was a fan of the V/X, which this supposedly replaced. However, there's nothing here for me. Blended to complacency for a typical consumer, I feel.