Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Reserve Blend rum

Appleton Estate Reserve Blend

Jamaica | Aged

6.1/10 (72 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
12
31
19
2
2
1

Rate Appleton Estate Reserve Blend

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

72 Appleton Estate Reserve Blend ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by wArChiEf from Austria with 17 ratings

Relative strong leaving (not the best), but all in all OK. I would go for the 12 year Rare Blend.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 461 ratings

I tasted this along side with the discontinued Appleton Reserve, and I felt this was a nice improvement. This has a little more spice, and a little more flavor than that does.

This is a LOT closer to the Appleton 12, thought that one still takes the nod in a side by side comparison.

Smells and tastes of oak, hazelnut, nutmeg, vanilla, and molasses.

Although the 12 is better, I rate them both a 7!

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Cory from Australia with 27 ratings

There are definitely better rums in this price range but I won't shoot it down completely. Has an English style rum punch to it with some fruity notes.
Be nice as a mixing rum, good on the rocks once the water melted a little, otherwise it was a tad to strong for my liking.
Would happily drink it but I say that about every rum haha

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

I was a fan of the V/X, which this supposedly replaced. However, there's nothing here for me. Blended to complacency for a typical consumer, I feel.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

Why they have even made this?!?!? Pass years I have had this feeling that the quality of Appleton has gone down. Even their 12-years old does not taste as it used to.
I was expecting little more when I decided to taste these "relatively new ones" Signature and Estate Reserve Blend. Same crap both of them. This one is just slightly more interesting, but unfortunately interesting does not make it better

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I picked up a bottle of this recently thinking it was something new from Appleton Estate and I was partially right. It's a new label for the same rum as the Appleton Estate Reserve rum. They changed labeling and naming structure in the spring of 2015. Confusing.

The aroma in the bottle has some astringency to it but nothing much else. Upon tasting it I notice some vanilla and caramel but that gets knocked aside by some tongue-tingling spiciness. Doesn't have much of a burn but still not very smooth. I would not recommend this as a sipping rum but as a mixer. It's usable and for the price a decent mixing rum.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 20 days ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 232 ratings

Would always opt for the 12 year first, this rum is OK but I think this middle of the road why bother. It does mix well with coke but that’s about it for me.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Rumbell Beard from Germany with 5 ratings

very simple but too sharp burn.
Worth a try... but not a second time.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by mjlanger (PREMIUM) from Canada with 22 ratings

This rum is just ok. Nothing specially good or bad.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Andero from Estonia with 95 ratings

I really like the smell of this rum - toffee banana, nutmeg, burnt sugarcane.

Taste is also pleasant with moderately sweet vibes and some light pepper on the background. Downside is that the taste is a bit thin for me and finish is quite short. Given the fact that Appleton probably tried to push this both for mixing and sipping market in my mind they have actually succeeded. It’s a good example that both works well on its on neat and mixed with sodas and other things. I love the fact that it adds some oaky body to cuba libres and it actually tastes real good.

Definitely can’t go higher than a 7 because of the excessive filtering and blending but 6 feels too low for this rum.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Supreme from Canada with 35 ratings

Decent rum for the price, mix with lime simple syrup and cola