Posting your rating...
Denizen Merchants Reserve 8-Year rum

Rate Denizen Merchants Reserve 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


25 Denizen Merchants Reserve 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Martin Cate (Google him) writes that this Denizen 8yo rum is all he uses for making Mai Tais, in sharp contrast to Jeff "Beachbum" Berry (definitely Google him), who writes that an authentic Mai Tai should contain both a Jamaican rum, such as Appleton, and an aged agricole such as Clement VSOP. Having enjoyed plenty of both recipes, I can happily say that you won't go wrong with either. The Denizen drinks, since you asked, were outstanding: plenty of Jamaican funk as well as some aromatic, smoky oak. Really tasty. And sipping this rum straight up has its own special rewards. This is positively good rum, bursting with flavor.

Posted about 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Many people in pursuit of authenticity prepare an "original" Trader Vic's Mai Tai using a blend of aged Jamaican and rhum agricole from Martinique. And the result is delicious. But Martin Cate of Smuggler's Cove has done a bit of research (and lots of rum tasting) and makes a solid case that the Martinique rum used by Trader Vic in his original recipes was not, in fact, an agricole, but a rhum traditionnel/industriel—that is, made from molasses, rather than sugar cane juice. (Shocking! But people forget that the French and former French colonies did and do make their share of molasses-based rhum.)

Mr. Cate then collaborated with the makers of Denizen to produce the first blend of aged rum that approximates that featured in trader Vic's "Second Adjusted Mai Tai Recipe" (the one he used after depleting world stocks of W&N 17 and 15), and released it to the world.

The resulting is rum is really astounding. The bouquet is intensely aromatic and floral. The taste is dry. Sugar-loading has not smoothed out this 8-year-old's rough edges; from start to finish, this is a rum with character. It's not the most refined sipper, but it's still quite sippable. Try it in a Daiquiri. Swap it into your favorite classic tiki drinks that call for Martinique, Jamaican, or "gold" rum. And while its very existence hinges on its not being a rhum agricole, it still makes for a darn good Ti' Punch.

Of course, where this bottle really shines is an "original recipe" Trader Vic's Mai Tai—rum, lime juice, curacao, orgeat, and sugar syrup. Preferably garnished with a spent lime shell and a mint sprig. Thank me (or Martin Cate) later.

Posted about 3 years ago by Ti' Georges from United States with 1 rating

I have to say that sometimes we try to make more out of a rum than its intended or perhaps better expressed; hold it to a standard to to which it is obviously not suited. Merchant 8 is not a long aged pot distilled rum and was never really intended to be a "sipper" (but regardless, to some of us it is!). As mentioned here Martin Cates uses M8 as his house Mai Tai rum at Smugglers Cove house. What isn't mentioned is that he collaborated with the folks from Denizen & E&A Sheer to blend a rum for just that purpose. I was happy to see that at least one person here also picked up on just how successful that collaboration was; the Jamaican funk & Agricole notes do indeed come through. With that in mind I'd say that Jeff Berry and Martin Cates were both pretty much on the same page when it came to recreating the flavor of the now extinct 17YO Jamaican Rum that was the basis for the original Mai Tai. I like it straight but it truly shines when used for the purpose it was intended.

Posted 5 months ago by poly.pop from United States with 23 ratings

The perfect jamaican/agricole blend for mai tais. A must for any tiki/poly pop/tropical cocktail aficionado.

Posted over 2 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

If you're familiar with those, than you should be able to see exactly what I mean! But assuming your don't:
N- Hot prunes, jet fuel and fruity FUNK all layered on top of creme brulee.
P- Musty, fruity, creamy, chewy
F- Funky and spicy
Also, throughout the whole thing theres something... cachaca-y.
Both LS and S&C are known for their fierce, unique overproofs, and this rum manages to bring everything from both worlds and cram it into one beverage AND somehow dial the strength all the way back down to the usual 40% (compared to 60-something and 55 from the "parents"), which makes it way more approachable, and even pleasant! Whoever the maker behind this wonky creation is, they deserve many a pat on the back.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

Tried it on the rocks and with coke. Neither grabbed me. Had the barest of molasses flavor. Ranked it as a 4.5 on my scale of 10

Posted almost 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

If you take into consideration the price tag of $30.51 out the door at the local mega booze and wine than this is a 10!! It has a huge presence in nose, flavor, finish and perfectly bottled at 43%

Jamaican funk is front and center but with a great oak smoke acidity that kicks in for the extreme linger. Nothing is off putting here for those that love estery dunder and also like their rum with an 'H'. They are two of my favorite styles so for me this is a big winner.

I'm going to believe that the low key presentation of screw on top and generic bottle has something to do with the friendly price. This rum has been around the globe, produced in the west Indies, bottled in Holland and bought in California! Denizen could easily up the ante with a cork and lapels but I really hope they don't because it's an easy buy as is.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nordicrum from Sweden with 22 ratings

This rum is interesting as it was created to mimic the qualities of the rum originally used to create the Mai Tai cocktail, blending a jamaican plummer style rum with a molasses style rum from martinique. The finished product has both the strong molasses and brown sugar scent associated with the jamaican plummer style and a more refined oaky component I think orginates from the Martinique rum. A very interesting product that although aiming for the cocktail market, is just as good for a lone sip. Recommended.

Posted 4 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

This rum was literally made for a mai tai. Also good in other cocktails but wouldnt drink it neat.

Posted 5 months ago by Hogo from United States with 4 ratings

Aged funky Jamaican rums are my favorite type of rum and this bottle certainly delivers that. Bottled at 43%, it is similar to Smith & Cross and Plantation Xaymaca, and arguably better than the latter. Costs Slightly more than I’d like to pay for a rum so similar to S&C but it’s rare enough around me that I felt that I had to snag a bottle while I had the chance. If you’re a hogoholic like me, try this rum at least once.

Posted 10 months ago by ShaneD from United States with 14 ratings

Got this as my catch-all Mai Tai rum and have been very pleased, as have all of my friends who have tried it. A few of us know what a real Mai Tai is and with the proper technique and proportions (homemade orgeat helps too) I have developed what we consider the best Mai Tai we've had with it. There is some real funk and depth to this rum that comes through just the right amount in a Mai Tai without challenging the pleasant nuttiness and dry orange flavor.

Posted 11 months ago by Jerry de la Hoya from United States with 24 ratings

Like a lot of rum drinkers, I got my start in Mai Tais and have been chasing the perfect wave ever since. Denizen was blended specifically with the Mai Tai in mind, and by god it works! Other comments cover that topic plenty well... Following Cate's own advice to follow styles rather than particular rums, I have to say other lightly aged pot still rums also stand up well- my previous go-to is Appleton, but I've also done Barbancourt 8 with good results. Denizen offers a solid alternative at a good price point. Haven't tried it as a sipper yet.

Posted 11 months ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 35 ratings

Bought this because I heard it was created by Martin Cate to resemble the blend Trader Vic used upon running out of Wray and Nephew 17 and 15 for his Mai Tai’s. The Jamaican funk mixed with Martinique molasses ( not agricole) was something that I never tried. It is similar to Plantation OD but a bit more molasses with the banana funk. I am super impressed by this, definitely works as a funky Jamaican for an authentic Mai Tai, or any other tiki cocktail calling for dark Jamaican rum. I have tried the fabled Wray and Nephew Dagger rum and Appleton Rum Punch rums at the Mai Kai and Hukilau. Denizen is closer to the Appleton Punch but with a Smith and Cross hint of funk.

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

I have postponed buying a bottle of this for months. Now that I have my most perfect rum combination for a Mai Tai, it was time to break down and get this all-in-one rum made for Mai Tai's. The comparisons to the long gone W&N 17 Year old also piqued my interest.

So I made a 50/50 combination of Smith & Cross Traditional Jamaican along with Depaz Blue Cane Rhum Agricole and poured that into one Glencairn glass neat. Then I poured the same amount of this Denizen Merchants Reserve into another Glencairn glass , also neat. No need to make Mai Tai's at this point because it is all about the rum that goes into making this drink. Both were swirled around and allowed to breathe for about 10 minutes. The information on the bottle told me not much other than what has been already posted on here. My combination was pale yellow. This Denizen was orange.

This Denizen has a smoother taste on the palate than my combination, albeit with much less hogo funk. However, the after taste of this Denizen ruins it, making it seem like a cheap industrial column still rum made for the masses. If this is what that old W&N 17 Year was like, I am so glad that it is now extinct. This only proves that rums have come a long way from those Kill Devil days. I will stick with my combination, but this bottle won't go to waste.

And yes, I am well aware that the Martinquan rum for the original Mai Tai was not a rhum agricole, but made from molasses. There is a reason that most of those dark molasses based rums from that island are now extinct save for the awful Negrita Dark.

Update February 26, 2019: This rum is worthless as a neat sipper, worthless on the rocks, and worthless as a mixer. So why did I not lower my rating from a 6? Because there are also a lot more rums worse than this! This was created for a certain California tiki bar to save time and money in making Mai Tai's. However, this one only creates a fake Mai Tai and Trader Vic would be rolling around in his grave if he knew of this travesty! For those that order Mai Tai's from this trendy bar, they do not give a rat's ass that those Mai Tai's are fake, but only like to brag to their friends that they drank Mai Tai's at such and such trendy bar. I know of at least one tiki bar that would never stoop to such levels. I have had this rum for almost two months and it is finally gone, thank goodness. Never again!!!

Posted over 1 year ago by Eoin sweeney from Ireland with 10 ratings

It's still a nice rum with a nice flavour. It was made for making cocktails and that's fair enough. It's just too harsh to enjoy straight up for me.

Posted over 1 year ago by SkipZ from United States with 21 ratings

This aged, blend is a little bit Appleton, a little bit Smith and Cross and a little bit Agricole that sort of make it in category of it’s own. The aroma instantly reminded me of a traditional quality Mai Tai and of course, this makes outstanding cocktails. I also like to sip this on a occasion when something a little lighter and drier is in order. A little brown sugar lingers on the lips with a nice medium long, warm finish. Very unique and nicely done.

Posted about 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

I was actually hoping for it to be a bit more intense than it actually is.. The funk is there, but not at the dramatic levels I was expecting from the description. It is, however, a classy rum that deserves a great deal of respect - It is the closest imitation for the legendary W&N 17yr.
Initial nosing is of caramelized ripe banana. It has a very pleasant velvety mouthfeel, and a nuttiness that I assume comes from the Grand Arome. Some tropical fruits mix in as it progresses to a very smooth, warm finish. I would love to see what this would showcase at a higher strength...
Its a go-to rum for Maita'is. Though I would argue a superior drink can be had by blending Smith & Cross with an aged agricole.

Posted over 2 years ago by True2Rum from United States with 21 ratings

Sipped - neat
Jamaican and Martinique rums, 8 YO
Nose - medium
In mouth - bold aged gold rum with grassy linger
Mouth linger - slightly sweet, very pleasant
Blended for a one rum Mai Tai, and am anxious to mix one shortly.

OK, here's the mixed Mai Tai cocktail (30% ABV before ice shaking). Added Whaler's for the woody funk. Smooth and easy drinking,,,

2 Denizen 8 YO (Jamaican-Martinique 86 proof)
½ Whaler's (Kentucky 80 proof)
¾ Pierre Ferrand orange curacao (France 80 proof)
¾ lime juice
½ Giffard's orgeat (France)
Lime wedge squeeze

Posted almost 3 years ago by ChameleonSkin from United States with 18 ratings

This comes close to my favorite rum combination for a mai tai, if somewhat flatter. I have yet to find a better combination than 1:1 Appleton 12-year and Ron del Barrilito 3-Star. This has that same combination of refined column still flavors (toasted oak, vanilla, etc.) plus raw Jamaican pot still funk. However, while the initial taste of the Denizen is a good match, it lacks the delicious, lingering finish of the above combination.

While it's formulated with the help of Martin Cate specifically for the Smuggler's Cove Mai Tai, do take note that you'll want to bump up the amount of orgeat in the standard recipe to balance out the lack of finish. I personally use 2 oz rum, 1/2 oz orgeat (up from 1/4 in Martin's recipe), a heavy pour of 1/4 oz mai tai syrup (basically demerara syrup + vanilla extract); 1/2 oz orange curacao; and 3/4 oz lime juice. You can use a bit more of the syrup if you prefer a sweeter & more vanilla-y mai tai, but I wouldn't go over 1 oz of lime juice as it overpowers the rest of the flavors.

You can't really beat the price of this bottle at about $30. However, if you're willing to shell out a bit more, you can get Ron del Barrilito 3-Star for about $35 and Appleton 12-year for about $40; that means the average price for your Mai Tai is about $37/bottle, so only $7 more than a bottle of the Denizen. (As a bonus these 2 bottles form a really great base for a ton of tiki drinks - Zombies, Jet Pilots, Coronado Luau Special, and on an on.....)

Having said that, if you're looking for an all-around good mixing rum with a good bit of Jamaican funk plus some of the more refined flavors you find from Spanish-style column stills, you can't go wrong with this. It's not much more than your average bottle of random "gold" rum, and it has a ton more character.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Tried the Denizen Reserve 8 year old at the Rum House in Manhattan and a proper rum bar should know better not to serve such a low quality aged rum neat in their selection. The smell is off putting and the burn is just ridiculous for an 8 year old rum.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Zenox from Sweden with 7 ratings

I've only ever made Mai Tai's with this rum, since that is what it was specifically made for.

Posted about 3 years ago by Matthew Brown from United States with 27 ratings

This is a rum I continue to revisit. The mix of Jamaican and agricole is finely tuned if unspecific in both categories. Vanilla bean and just a hint of mint and parilla. Lovely stuff.

Posted over 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

I've completely revised my opinion of this rum after learning it's pedigree. For strict traditionalists, nothing will ever replace the 17 yr old J. Wray and Nephew rum used by Vic Bergeron for the original Mai Tai. After exhausting supplies of 17 and later 15 yr old, Vic experimented blending his own rums to approximate the flavor of the original rum. He settled on a blend of Jamaican and Martinique rums. One word of correction to some reviews here. The Martinique rum Vic used was not the strict AOC Agricole, but an aged molasses based rum. Denizen sought to recreate this blend, and has done so admirably. This is the closest you will get to the original Mai Tai flavor.

Posted over 3 years ago by Johannes from Germany with 62 ratings

It really smells like bananas. Also it has a pleasant finish ! Very recomendable