Posting your rating...
Trois Rivieres Cuvee de l'Ocean rum

Trois Rivieres Cuvee de l'Ocean

Martinique | Agricole

6.4/10 (30 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
1
6
13
5
1

Rate Trois Rivieres Cuvee de l'Ocean

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


30 Trois Rivieres Cuvee de l'Ocean ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9354c42e64180c5b4f8d1b44706ebe13.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Halsey from United States with 25 ratings

This is part of a 24 Rum Advent Calendar given to me. I've never had a white Agrigole before and found it surprisingly tasty. Nice balance of sweetness and alcohol. Odd to not have the nuiances given by Molasses.
Like it a good bit.

C68eef09f7aff9f46c356a0af91a234b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Phil from French Guiana with 146 ratings

Rhum blanc agricole de Martinique. Cannes venant de l'extrême sud de l'île. Titre 43°.
Présentation : très belle bouteille turquoise.
Nez : fruité.
Dégustation : très fruité, avec une pointe minérale (fréquent sur les 3 rivières).
Finale : canne avec une pointe minérale.
Agréable en ti punch mais rien d'extraordinaire non plus.

6370b8944982039a52e5fddb492629f5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

Nose of golden raisin, the usual agricole grassiness, and some salty sea air coming through. In the mouth you just get a big ol' hit of salted, dried apricot. Finishes with a little more salt, plus that agricole grass-funk. This is a really cool rum. Not the best out there by any stretch, but very much it's own breed! If you want to explore all the reaches of what rum can be, you've got to add this to your list!

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2643 ratings

Last drink for tonight was a glass of Trois Rivieres Cuvee de l'Ocean Rhum. Very nice high end bottle and definitely a unique design. Color is crystal clear. This is an un-aged rum. Tequila like smell to the nose. Very grassy and salty flavor profile to the palate. Unique rum for sure.

Ac6eb44425d298308e8324179eb1a874.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by lefrog10 from Switzerland with 3 ratings

Given the name and visual presentation, I went into this expecting a maritime experience similar to certain whiskies from up North only to be proven completely wrong.

Nose: Tomato juice, vegetal, parmesan, savory notes that are strongly reminiscent of lobster bisque or bouillabaisse, hints of parsley or dried celery. Very unique.

Taste: Not as intense but pretty consistent with what you get on the nose with the addition of a light floral sweetness and some sugar cane. Kinda incohesive as a whole, disharmonic collage of flavors with no typical "funk“ to make up for it.

Finish: Not very long, briney and herbal.

Let me tell you I’m not a huge fan of this so I’ll just keep it around as a sipper for when I’m in a funny mood until the bottle goes empty. I certainly will not be getting another, though.

Due to its tomato notes, I imagine this could make for an interesting Bloody Mary or as an addition to seafood dishes.

1f7231d37e4fe74a8838edd7781f7922.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Alltherums from Netherlands with 9 ratings

Plantation Trois Rivières joined the sugar trade as early as 1660, and although they started making Rhum on a small scale in 1785 it wasn’t until French industrialist Amédée Aubéry bought the estate in 1905 that sugar production seized and efforts were refocused on pure sugar cane rhum. Vive la France!
Trois Rivières saw a big reorganisation and expansion of its range in 2014, and Master distiller Daniel Baudin launched a whole new lineup of blanc and aged agricole rhums, including the first seawater signature product, using only fresh juice from cane raised by the waterfront in the south of Martinique. During high tide the fields are almost completely flooded with seawater, which adds a special maritime element to this distillate. The cane is cut by hand, fermented between 24-36 hours using yeast cultures unique to the island, distilled in a double-column creole still at 65-75% alcohol before being rested for 3 months and subsequently proofed down before bottling. The bright, vegetal & fruity character of a blanc agricole wrestles with a salty minerality to create a truly unique flavor profile. Being a huge fan of Mezcal I can appreciate this rhum neat, but it might be a bit rough for some. Enjoy it in a surprising Daiquiri, an excellent Ti Punch or why not as a substitute for Tequila in a Paloma. Don’t hide the salty notes with sweet juices or sodas, but let them shine with a simple citrus twist!
🥃
Nose: Freshly cut grass, Apricot, Lemon Zest, Cultured Butter, Anise
8/10
Taste: Canned fruit salad, Salty, Sweet, Minerals, Cane juice
9/10
Finish: Rich and oily. Long finish that is both fresh and sweet, yet earthy and spicy.
8.5/10
Overall: This is unlike anything I have tried before. Closer in character to a young mezcal than that of an aged rum. Sweet, fresh and fruity. Salty, earthy and spicy. This rhum is all over the map and full of funky flavor. A beautiful pairing with seafood!
⭐️8.5⭐️

81bc79b72a04a11a05db6f9394ed23c3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by kheiligh (PREMIUM) from United States with 31 ratings

This is about as far as you can get on the opposite end of the spectrum from say, a Doctor Bird, and as such, it's great to keep around. A Ti punch with this will knock your socks off. If you want to introduce your friends and spark their imaginations, pour a taste of this and a taste of the Doctor Bird and tell them to think about how much room there is between those two things. Or, just pour a couple of fingers and add an ice cube and chill out, thinking about life on the ocean.

9c0a83a5f16f565409736a6f08e6be4f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 118 ratings

Interesting experience :-) sugar cane growing 30 cm under sea. Smell and taste is little salty but Ron is not sharp. Don't buy, but try. Interesting agricole.

41f785d7d71ca85ff53e01b82183c84f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

this is nice. it's got a hint of something on the noise i cant quite place. reminiscent of maybe local tequilas or pulqe or something in mexico? im not sure. if i sort it out, i'll edit my review. anyway i like this well enough but im just not a fan of the style. interestingly day 2 (i didnt finish a wisp) it liked it a lot more. wonder if decanting or maybe home barreling might improve it for me? i might try this again just to learn more about it and my palette.

9dea275265630cbb7eb28ce8ff1f0c48.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Paul Hübscher from Switzerland with 69 ratings

Actually, I bought this rum because of the silly bottle. And because it is an agricole. In the nose there ist a very strange odour of seeweed and rottening octopusses. But the taste is sweet and agreable. So, in the end, I can only recommend this rum.

6133272c7c87519e4e3bd69c460febf8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 59 ratings

Blanc agricole, bottled at 42% this rhum uses sugar cane that has been growed partly in sea water, hence the name.
It should have an oceanic aromas. Lets find out.
Nose: quite mild on the nose, traditional agricole aromas, grass, citrus and fruit but also some brine and corn, hint of olives.
Taste: very mild on the palate, brine, light smokiness, minerals, corn, lemon, olives
Finish: short and smooth.
Overall: Slight disappointment, i was expecting a nice dose of briny and fruity flavours, yes it does have just enough brininess for me but the other flavors feel muted, the flavors are nice and interesting but they dont really pop at you at all.
The result is something that comes of as a mix between standard molasses based white rum and blanc agricole. Higher proof could make this rum more interesting.