Posting your rating...
Admiral Nelson's Black Patch rum

Rate Admiral Nelson's Black Patch

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


16 Admiral Nelson's Black Patch ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

F9cc10000fd2b0e654774f0971ba2359.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by everalexandercirtez from United States with 1 rating

more strong, easy to drink, I wanted a little extra

Cbc455ba3bf262c9d60013c19004eb4f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Ceilleon from United States with 1 rating

I actually like this rum. I know it isn't what you expect if you think it will be like kraken. I enjoy the slight vanilla taste. I usually drink it straight with some ice.

78f0326aa06d204e8c37892d65c7354a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by chad from United States with 17 ratings

I tend to take it easy on Admiral Nelsons brand of rums. For the price you get what you ask for. It's a cheaper brand of rum yet it tends to be flavorful enough to stand with Capt. Morgan's rums. The black patch though is simply a mixer. Goes great with diet coke and other drinks. If anything experiment. I have found to enjoy it by just mixing it with different things and have found friends who enjoy it as well. Let's face it though. If you have $13-$16 you can not do better than this. Go with that mindset and you'll be alright with the admiral.

3d7f1c4cc1ae1816a92d775d80fa1294.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Rob from United States with 2 ratings

Bolder flavor, higher proof, and still cheaper than capt. no brainer for me..

39d29ae43f87ffeaa203ae289cf5ba61.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Jacob from United States with 1 rating

At first this bottle looked great to try, I was impressed with the packaging. My first thought was should be similar to tattoo or kraken judging by the rich dark color...boy was I wrong. I cracked this bottle open and the overwhelming smell of nail polish remover attacked my nostrils. I would never dream of drinking this straight or on the rocks, it's bearable with coke but the nail polish aftertaste stays with you. I did not try mixing with other products but with my overall disappointment I doubt it would be any better. My rating for this product is just nasty. never again will this beverage offend my tastebuds.

1c6488ee1589ac2651db079b802e06d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

I got this thinking it would be a good Kraken substitute, but it turns out this is much different. It's got way more "red fruit" flavor and tastes better with a cherry garnish rather than a lime. Has a bit of an alcohol bite, but way more smooth than I was expecting. Not as deep and full as other dark rums, more of a mid-range sort of thing. I liked it with Diet Coke, but I'm intrigued at the idea of trying it in mixed drinks.

E6092d05e833671fb456d893f42ed6a2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Brt1982 from United States with 10 ratings

The best rum and coke I've ever had was with Black Patch...and yet in a pinch can still enjoy chilled with a dried orange and fresh cherry.

Adeed18f214b4afdd3f340e6d5bfcbd5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Chrysostom from United States with 2 ratings

8/10. Rated up because all of the hate this perfectly serviceable drink is getting.

This is genuinely better than Sailor Jerry (and the regular is better than the Captain), while being significantly cheaper. It's sweet, but not overmuch, and is nicely spiced with cherry, cinnamon and vanilla predominating (biased towards vanilla, but not to the extent of Admiral Nelson), but not to an extreme degree. It's balanced, and if drank straight, has very little of the fusel booziness associated with cheap liquors. If you don't like cherry or vanilla, pass this rum up. Pass up every other spiced rum, too.

This is the most pleasantly-surprising well liquor I've ever had - enough so that I asked the bartender what she was using and then picked up a fifth for $7. It remained good, and shone as a mixer, though I tried one straight for the team. It's not especially good straight, but isn't actually bad: merely much improved by a serving of cola in 2-3:1 ratio. Excellent for spiced Cuba Libres.

As another reviewer aptly noted: 'If I were throwing a party with a lot of guests who really don’t care as long as the drinks are good, I would bring the Admiral to the bar by the gallon.'

I drink to that.

(I'm a BJCP beer judge, not a spirits taster, so take it for what it's worth. I prefer scotch and rum, and dislike vodka, gin, tequila, and most liqueurs. I like mezcal, though.)

292aeb8b6298c3a9615802ed8175cefb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

Had this on the rocks. It's not the worst spiced rum I ever had. lots of vanilla nd nutmeg notes.

Bb15b466108ab143186a7200382e85c8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by Doc (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

Don’t open it & pass it on. Opened mine & now I’m not sure what to do with it. Can’t pitch it because of who gifted it - but will never drink it. Bad aroma, bad taste. Kinda cool bottle though! 🏴‍☠️