Posting your rating...
Kirkland Spiced rum

Kirkland Spiced

United States | Spiced

4.6/10 (38 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
2
6
10
8
4
1

Rate Kirkland Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


38 Kirkland Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

0d3196fa67f6c2ca86c22197366a7081.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by scoot555 from United States with 21 ratings

Smells like bad vanilla extract, and taste like poor decisions. On the front it has a strong vanilla and carmel flavor follow by a throat punch of alcohol. If you consume the whole Costco size bottle I'm sure you'll skin your knees, then wake up feeling like you have been eat by a wolf and shit off a cliff. So pick up a bottle today and give it to a friend.

Ec1c5f502fd815cf7a03c0a8ac4fd746.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Seems like this rum used a Costco sized serving of artificial flavors. Can't knock them too much for it because it says so on the label. I found it to be pleasant but with a lingering unnatural vanilla syrup aftertaste. The price and presentation is right for large parties. Would explore other brands for my personal use.

6187600751e23da0f54f01bfd1461ab2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Gym from Canada with 10 ratings

This a good rum by volum. It works well when people just drop by for a drink. Hid the good stuff.

D1ed8a9e71adc2b356cfc4e020e0dd0f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Drew Stephens from United States with 19 ratings

This is a very well priced rum that's not a great choice for drinking neat, but perfectly good for a dark & stormy.

F69dc6bcecc53829357d77ca653ee184.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by dwaynews from Canada with 17 ratings

Just had a Dark and Stormy head to head with Lemon Heart Blackpool Spiced. This came second. Not offensive in any way. It's only negative was being too mild in aroma and flavor. It came across more like a decent 3-5 year unspiced than anything else. Certainly drier than the Demerara sweetness of the Blackpool. Given the proof and the price it owes no apology.

Ba87ca8f38a8998f6b6431a5e0cb5fa9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted at The L Garage over 2 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

Decent spiced rum. Not going to win any contests, but a decent bottle for mixing, and great at the price. I bought one bottle, and will happily drink it all, but probably won't replace it. No complaints, just not anything special, and for what it is (a cheap spiced rum), I prefer Captain.

724aec70d61d0407de9f4ae8dd56b399.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by menomineenative from United States with 1 rating

...or Goslings or any other $30+/fifth bottle of rum. But I don't think it's nearly as bad as some of the reviews I've read. I almost didn't buy it purely on the number of negative reviews. But then I realized many of the complaints were based on it having too much bite.

Just like anything I drink straight, I put a splash of water in it to knock down the alcohol. Doesn't matter if it's a $75 bottle of single malt scotch, or a $16 bottle of rum. Since this is higher alcohol content at 92 proof, I just put a little bigger splash in it. Once you knock down the alcohol content a bit, it's actually very smooth, mildly spicy, and has a strong vanilla overtone. No bad aftertaste. Certainly for $16 a bottle plus tax, it's a great value.

As a side note, I had a similar experience with Costco's blended scotch (not the 12 year stuff... that is quite good... I'm talking about the cheaper one). The first time I tried it, it was so harsh I almost returned it. But when I upped the water splash a bit, it took the bite away and left me with something inexpensive and pleasant to drink.

C9b9081a84418fad9fca691b1fbfb50a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Buck'em from Canada with 8 ratings

I was surprised at the smoothness considering the cheap price. I have had far worse for a lot more money. Not bad neat paired with a cigar. Keep on hand for cheap company.

18825ce41a16a2acaa63216cd2cc5ff3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 days ago by discipline7 from United States with 1 rating

Rather than thinking; “well this is really bad but I’ll hang onto it anyway”, this needs to be put out if your mind, pour it down the drain. Each time you see the bottle it will remind you how bad it is, you will never want to drink it, as then depression on the fact you actually purchased it will set it,, pretend it never happened.

444db4e829fa650e01afab86587049b2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by mc from United States with 41 ratings

Typically, Kirkland products are high quality and similar to the leading national brand. Not this one.

0ebae3adb303d507646df2e66c8a58bc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by cantongamer from United States with 11 ratings

This is one of the best mixer rum deals out there. If I'm having an outdoor party this rum is on the list but if I'm mixing alone, Sailor Jerry is my spiced rum.