Posting your rating...
Kirkland Spiced rum

Kirkland Spiced

United States | Spiced

4.8/10
43 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
3
7
11
8
4
2

Rate Kirkland Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

43 Kirkland Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small profile 1

Posted over 3 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 112 ratings

Nice sweet nose - almost exactly like vanilla extract and gingerbread. Would certainly make a tasty cookie, rum... to be determined. Taste starts with a huge amount of rubbing alcohol, then a little cinnamon and spice. Tough to get down, strong and like a spoiled syrup - not made to sip alone. Short finish with a lingering tartness that isn’t great. Next mixed with Coke, not a huge improvement and the same core flavors coming through. There are certainly better flavored/spiced rums.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Seems like this rum used a Costco sized serving of artificial flavors. Can't knock them too much for it because it says so on the label. I found it to be pleasant but with a lingering unnatural vanilla syrup aftertaste. The price and presentation is right for large parties. Would explore other brands for my personal use.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by dwaynews from Canada with 17 ratings

Just had a Dark and Stormy head to head with Lemon Heart Blackpool Spiced. This came second. Not offensive in any way. It's only negative was being too mild in aroma and flavor. It came across more like a decent 3-5 year unspiced than anything else. Certainly drier than the Demerara sweetness of the Blackpool. Given the proof and the price it owes no apology.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Gym from Canada with 10 ratings

This a good rum by volum. It works well when people just drop by for a drink. Hid the good stuff.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Drew Stephens from United States with 19 ratings

This is a very well priced rum that's not a great choice for drinking neat, but perfectly good for a dark & stormy.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Jday0001 (PREMIUM) from United States with 17 ratings

This is not one I can sip, but it is great in cocktails. Nice vanilla flavor in cola or root beer. And it's cheap.

Small 20201218 210910

Posted at The L Garage over 3 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 61 ratings

Decent spiced rum. Not going to win any contests, but a decent bottle for mixing, and great at the price. I bought one bottle, and will happily drink it all, but probably won't replace it. No complaints, just not anything special, and for what it is (a cheap spiced rum), I prefer Captain.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by menomineenative from United States with 1 rating

...or Goslings or any other $30+/fifth bottle of rum. But I don't think it's nearly as bad as some of the reviews I've read. I almost didn't buy it purely on the number of negative reviews. But then I realized many of the complaints were based on it having too much bite.

Just like anything I drink straight, I put a splash of water in it to knock down the alcohol. Doesn't matter if it's a $75 bottle of single malt scotch, or a $16 bottle of rum. Since this is higher alcohol content at 92 proof, I just put a little bigger splash in it. Once you knock down the alcohol content a bit, it's actually very smooth, mildly spicy, and has a strong vanilla overtone. No bad aftertaste. Certainly for $16 a bottle plus tax, it's a great value.

As a side note, I had a similar experience with Costco's blended scotch (not the 12 year stuff... that is quite good... I'm talking about the cheaper one). The first time I tried it, it was so harsh I almost returned it. But when I upped the water splash a bit, it took the bite away and left me with something inexpensive and pleasant to drink.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Buck'em from Canada with 8 ratings

I was surprised at the smoothness considering the cheap price. I have had far worse for a lot more money. Not bad neat paired with a cigar. Keep on hand for cheap company.

Small 1618807869167141695410418847281

Posted 3 days ago by RumRunner87 from United States with 6 ratings

Get what you pay for on this one. Seems best used for mixed drinks. Vanilla note too strong.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by carl from United States with 53 ratings

I did not expect this to be a sipper, but the spices & flavors are not great. It worked fine mixing with soda, but I would prefer to have a more versatile rum. There are better choices in this price range.