Posting your rating...
Kirkland Spiced rum

Kirkland Spiced

United States | Spiced

4.8/10 (42 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
3
6
11
8
4
2

Rate Kirkland Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


42 Kirkland Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by james Ford from United States with 27 ratings

Very strong on the vanilla but at 92 proof it's not bad to have in your cabinet for nights with the kind of company that you want to get a little rowdy with.
I received this as a Christmas present and the aforementioned strength of the vanilla make this pretty compatible with eggnog.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Seems like this rum used a Costco sized serving of artificial flavors. Can't knock them too much for it because it says so on the label. I found it to be pleasant but with a lingering unnatural vanilla syrup aftertaste. The price and presentation is right for large parties. Would explore other brands for my personal use.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Gym from Canada with 10 ratings

This a good rum by volum. It works well when people just drop by for a drink. Hid the good stuff.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Drew Stephens from United States with 19 ratings

This is a very well priced rum that's not a great choice for drinking neat, but perfectly good for a dark & stormy.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jday0001 (PREMIUM) from United States with 15 ratings

This is not one I can sip, but it is great in cocktails. Nice vanilla flavor in cola or root beer. And it's cheap.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by dwaynews from Canada with 17 ratings

Just had a Dark and Stormy head to head with Lemon Heart Blackpool Spiced. This came second. Not offensive in any way. It's only negative was being too mild in aroma and flavor. It came across more like a decent 3-5 year unspiced than anything else. Certainly drier than the Demerara sweetness of the Blackpool. Given the proof and the price it owes no apology.

Ffffff

Posted at The L Garage almost 3 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

Decent spiced rum. Not going to win any contests, but a decent bottle for mixing, and great at the price. I bought one bottle, and will happily drink it all, but probably won't replace it. No complaints, just not anything special, and for what it is (a cheap spiced rum), I prefer Captain.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by menomineenative from United States with 1 rating

...or Goslings or any other $30+/fifth bottle of rum. But I don't think it's nearly as bad as some of the reviews I've read. I almost didn't buy it purely on the number of negative reviews. But then I realized many of the complaints were based on it having too much bite.

Just like anything I drink straight, I put a splash of water in it to knock down the alcohol. Doesn't matter if it's a $75 bottle of single malt scotch, or a $16 bottle of rum. Since this is higher alcohol content at 92 proof, I just put a little bigger splash in it. Once you knock down the alcohol content a bit, it's actually very smooth, mildly spicy, and has a strong vanilla overtone. No bad aftertaste. Certainly for $16 a bottle plus tax, it's a great value.

As a side note, I had a similar experience with Costco's blended scotch (not the 12 year stuff... that is quite good... I'm talking about the cheaper one). The first time I tried it, it was so harsh I almost returned it. But when I upped the water splash a bit, it took the bite away and left me with something inexpensive and pleasant to drink.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Buck'em from Canada with 8 ratings

I was surprised at the smoothness considering the cheap price. I have had far worse for a lot more money. Not bad neat paired with a cigar. Keep on hand for cheap company.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by carl from United States with 46 ratings

I did not expect this to be a sipper, but the spices & flavors are not great. It worked fine mixing with soda, but I would prefer to have a more versatile rum. There are better choices in this price range.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 434 ratings

This is Costco production of a spiced rum and seems to be an excuse for adding in loads of sugar and additives ... Tastes like the corner shop sweets to me with a bit of spice ... Not a fan personally as drinking the huge 1.5l may need a trip to the dentist ... Lucky for me I only had a 25ml same from a friend ... Certainly something I won't be purchasing