Posting your rating...
Avua Amburana Cachaca rum

Avua Amburana Cachaca

Brazil | Cachaca

6.7/10 (11 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
3
1
1
1

Rate Avua Amburana Cachaca

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


11 Avua Amburana Cachaca ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

B45809a17bafe1c7b71e0eb4e822dc0b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

Avuá(av-wah) Cachaça is a darn good cachaça. This is made even better and more unique in that it has been aged in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amburana wood. It tastes of cinnamon and "je ne sais quoi". It's nose is pleasantly spicy and almost tangy.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This is a very good cachaça (though I'm not a huge cachaça fan). It's like an agricole with a unique and interesting scent/flavor added in. I'm guessing that's the amburana aging, though I've never smelled amburana wood before. It's truly unique and therefore very difficult to describe, but it makes this a fun rum to try!

This is definitely the best Cachaça I've ever tried! I even prefer it to their oak Cachaça.

Ab9ccb4fe61ac63aee3f93fd93cd1bc4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 days ago by Tim from Canada with 58 ratings

I’ve been drinking my way through the cachaças in this line and this one is a stand-out. The aging in the amburana wood has added a bold baking-spice element that’s really lovely. There’s a good cocktail with it as well, though it’s a great supper: 2oz amburana cachaça; 1oz oloroso sherry; 1/2oz giffard’s Banane de Brésil c/o @cocktailwonk I believe. Santé!

0af469abfd954e7cd9a81132dc65713f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 19 days ago by Smovens from United States with 91 ratings

solid overall, very smooth but I usually dislike aged cane rums because they lose the intensity and funk of the base, and agree here. Not too different from oak

Baf73d02967442688b390be66cdfb885.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted at Hale Pele 12 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

With a subtle dark berry flavor toward the end of it all, it's better than many.

E72b306a4360f230f3f639f92b9e4471.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Raphael from United States with 15 ratings

Really interesting stuff Has a lot of cinnamon and allspice notes, from the Amburana wood. The Amburana also gives it some sweetness, and makes it smooth. Use it in tiki cocktails that call for Martinique Rhum/Rhum Agricole, especially ones like Three Dots and a Dash, Last Rites, and the Donga Punch.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 326 ratings

After reading all of the reviews for all of these artisan cachacas, I decided to go back to that liquor store and pick up their Amburana. Lucky for me, it was only $10 more than the Prata that I already have at home. They had the Tapinhoa, but it was almost twice the price of this $40 bottle.

Both the Amburana and Tapinhoa are Brazilian hardwoods that are endangered due to loss of habitat. Their website says that these hardwood casks were "commissioned". I don't know if that means using casks that have been around before these woods were declared endangered or whether it means environmental mitigation from replanting. At any rate, I was hesitant to buy something aged in endangered hardwood, but I figured that if I wanted to try authentic Brazilian, then this was my chance.

So what is the verdict in a side by side taste between the Prata and this Amburana? The Prata is at 84 proof and this one is at 80 proof. The Prata is crystal clear and this one is pale yellow. The aromas of both are hard to tell apart. The Amburana smooths out much of the hogo funk and also has less of a burn at the end. Is the Amburana worth the extra $10 plus being very hard to find? I think so. On an after note, the strong smell of cinnamon and exotic tropical hardwood came from my empty glass the next morning. Maybe the other flavors obliterate these more exotic flavors while drinking it. I did buy another bottle of this one when my first one ran out.

Since this is my top rated cachaca from Avua, don't even dare to think of using it for caipirinhas. This is a fine neat sipper only!!!! The oak cask from Avua is right behind it in my overall rankings. Both are neat sippers only!

C58ff00b4e333c72a55a9a40561826cf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Roger Averill from United States with 31 ratings

Not as sweet and a little heavier alcohol flavor up front that mellows. Big blast of cinnamon/allspice considering its not labeled a spiced rum. Might really shine in the right drink. Straight a little above average

6370b8944982039a52e5fddb492629f5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

I do like cachaca, but this just strikes me as another one of those creative cask expressions that didn't really work.
N- Big hits of golden raisin, followed by some sugar, raw egg and cinnamon.
P- More golden raisin along with tree sap and some vanilla
F- Some vegetal stuff finally comes out.

E64bf7e26e7537f100b622b2dca6cba5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Immediately on smelling it, it's very apparent that it's different from the Prata. They have very little in common.

The noise is very interesting. Cinnamon, artificially flavored French toast, varnish, and—I kid you not—new disposable diapers. Super weird! Once I made that connection, there was no enjoyment to be had.

This stuff has potential, but IMO, it should be mixed away in something that can mask/counter the flavor.

I'd be interested in tasting other cachaças aged in Amburana wood to get a better sense of what it's adding to the distillate (as well as the Avua Oak for comparison). But so far, for my money, I'll go with the young, steel-rested distillate.

5, 5+