Posting your rating...
Avua Prata Cachaca rum
Avua Prata Cachaca rum

Avua Prata Cachaca

Brazil | Cachaca

6.6/10 (8 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
3
2

Rate Avua Prata Cachaca

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


8 Avua Prata Cachaca ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This is some top shelf Cachaca. Sweet, peppery, smooth as silk. I prefer it straight up. Not sure what kind of caipirinhas it will make, given its delicate nature...but I'm willing to find out. An excellent beverage, probably one of the best Cachacas you will find in the US.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 435 ratings

This another great Cachaça from Avua.

It has a very nice cachaça flavor. It's not quite as tasty as their Amburana, nor as smooth as their Oak, both of which I like a little better, but it's still one of the great cachaças.

The only reason my score isn't higher is because I'm just not a huge cachaça fan. But if you like cachaças, you definitely should try the Avua!!!

0af469abfd954e7cd9a81132dc65713f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Smovens from United States with 87 ratings

I thought I disliked cachaca until I ad this. It tastes like a blend of agricole and Jamaican rums, yet stil smooth with no unpleasant alcohol off flavors. Can’t wait to find some of the wood ones

Baf73d02967442688b390be66cdfb885.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Like rubbing alcohol, it tastes more of an agricul.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 310 ratings

I went looking for this one three months ago and they were all gone from one merchant's shelf. Well, I stumbled across this one today for $30 and gladly bought it. The aroma and taste are of artisan vegetal cachaca with no unpleasant aftertaste that is found in industrial cachacas. I understand that sugar cane juice begins to spoil in only about two hours, so the trick to making artisan cachacas or rhum agricoles is to distill the juice ASAP. Since I am not really a fan of cachacas, I can only give a maximum rating of 7. This one is also good enough to sip neat. I may try some of the others in their product line.

If you want to start appreciating cachacas, I highly recommend starting with this brand. I find myself craving another glass every few hours. It is just that good. If you start off with a wrong brand of cachacas, you may never want to go near them again. This one is too good to be disguised with limes in a caipirinha. By the way, that national drink of Brazil was invented to disguise the awful taste of industrial cachacas made for peasants.

Update December 29, 2019: While watching a major football game, I decided to compare Caribbean Daiquiris to Brazilian Caipirinhas, since both have similar ingredients except for the rum. Well, guess what? The daiquiri wins hand down against the caipirinha!!! I guess this means no more cachaca for me (except for the neat sipping Avua Amburana).

E64bf7e26e7537f100b622b2dca6cba5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Very grassy and vegetal. Smells quite a bit like sparkling apple cider, though certainly harder and not add sweet. Packs more of a pinch than its 84 proof might lead you to expect.
Fairly complex, and I wager this would make a killer caipirinha. Recommended!

B45809a17bafe1c7b71e0eb4e822dc0b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

Delicious and clean, with just enough spice to keep it interesting. Not too much burn. A really really good Cachaça

2fd39b0277873d3142c9f9e49e1f4e38.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

Like the oak-aged offering, this cachaca with "just there". It was good enough to have nothing negative to say, but not good enough to find anything positive either. To me, a cachaca needs to have real character.