Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year rum

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


182 Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

This has taken a place in the highest echelon of rums I own. Truly a fantastic rum. One of the first that flavors and smells are really jumping out in each nosing. I will be buying a few more bottles to put away. When people find out this is as good as it is it will be hard to find.

Posted over 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 2 to 5 gpl. The 23 year old is sweeter, more complex and is a darker tone of mahogany than the 12 year old. The 23 has a lot more aroma and taste with a much longer finish. You can tell from the smell and taste that is has spent a lot more time in the barrel. Molasses, pecans, caramel, vanilla, and plums or apricots, are tastes and smells that I found. The surprising thing is that the 23 year old is just a few dollars more than the 12 year old, but. Skip the 12 year old and go for the 18 or the 23 year old version.

Posted about 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

Any rating lower than a 9 for this rum is nonsense! It's a godsend...and King of the Agricoles!

Oak, vanilla, and caramel are the dominant flavors with hints of brown sugar, molasses and maple syrup. The nose is almost candy-like. It finishes like silk, smooth and luxurious with no bite at all and with a pleasant tobacco note. This is not a hot or spicy rum and despite its 23 years in a barrel the conspicuous tobacco note is not burnt or foul tasting, more like a very well maintained high quality cigar. It has a deep cherry wood color and a thick, rich body that sticks to the glass. This rum needs to breathe a bit before drinking, I say at least a half hour. The next day I chilled it in my freezer and it was amazing, more candy like.

This is a sipping rum and I know its not the smartest thing to do with a rum such as this but if you add it to Coke you'll have Vanilla Coke with a kick! I'll be buying this rum again next week... I'm glad to have taken this one off my wish list. For $42 a bottle this rum is actually under priced!

Edit: I've always said the best way to really get into a rum and discover its character is to get hammered off of it! I did that this weekend. I woke up and there was that beautiful tobacco note lingering in my nose and the taste of vanilla beans in my mouth. Then, three hours and two Gatorades later I got out of bed. Yes, this is a very fine rum...but it delivers a crippling hangover! Play with caution.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This is a delicious rum from start to finish. Somewhat sweet with nice butterscotch tones to it. Does make my tongue tingle. This has joined Vizcaya VXOP & Plantation XO 20th Anniversary as my official sipping rums. I place this third in line because although I would be hesitant to use this in Coke Zero or as a mixer, the butterscotch and toffee undertones would really be an asset. So consider this a hugely delicious versatile rum.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I was super impressed by the Kirk & Sweeney 12 Year Rum, so I bought their 18 and 23 year rums. Those are even better! What's more impressive is that they are both primarily based on sugarcane (agricole), which I've never cared that much for before these. The 18 is pretty close to the 23 in taste; in fact they're almost equal. The 18 is just a bit sweeter, while the 23 tastes just a bit more aged (much like the difference between the El Dorado 15 and 21). I like both sweet and aged, so I'm torn between the two. I'll give the 18 a very slight edge over the 23, just like I give the ED 15 a very slight edge over the ED21. But I definitely believe they are both very good. Vanilla, sugarcane, caramel, nutmeg, oak, and just a hint of sherry. The nose is incredible. You've GOT to try these!

Posted over 2 years ago by sandman_01 from United States with 9 ratings

K&S 23 is my absolute favorite rum so far. You won't find anything as deliciously complex at this price point (~$55). I'm traditionally a bourbon drinker, but this bottle called to me one day and opened up another world. Toffee, oak, tobacco, dried fruits, caramel, mild spice...it's got it all. The finish is long and velvety smooth and leaves a smile on your face every time. No ice, no water, and definitely no mixer needed. The following rums are comparable in price point but no where near as good: Zafra 21, El Dorado 15, Ron Zacapa 23, Brugal 1888, Rhum Barbancourt 15, Flor de Caña 18, and a bunch of unforgettables.

Posted about 3 years ago by Fred Ramey from United States with 28 ratings

. . . It's so close in taste and quality to the 18 year. Don't pay a lot more for this than that but if you're only talking a couple bucks difference then sure. This is a great rum. I gave the 18 year a 9 by rounding it up from 8.5, this is probably a true 9.

Posted about 4 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 37 ratings

Found a bottle of this recently. It is thee best drink I've ever had. Let it breath for 15-20 minutes. It is similar to the 12 year old, which I reviewed as my "new go to," but the flavors are more incredible, it's smoother, and it is a beautiful rich mahogany color. It is slightly but not overly sweet. There are hints of oak, vanilla, tobacco, banana, and other fruits. I prefer it with ONE ice cube, which I won't call on the rocks, but giving full disclosure. It is hard to find, but if you can find it buy it. If I could have 3 oz of this every night I would consider myself in heaven.

Posted about 1 year ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

Vanilla, then caramel, then oak in a smooth rum with a mild bite. My favorite of this genre and one of my first reaches to sip neat.

Posted over 1 year ago by torgo from United States with 12 ratings

This rum grew on me over time. With a bold age statement, I was hoping to love it instantly, but to be honest it didn't work that way.

It took time, and sipping, and patience, but after a few weeks and by the time the bottle was empty, I was sad to see it gone.

This rum is a little on the dry side, but it would be unfair to fault it for that, especially for the price point. I came to appreciate its light, pleasant caramel hints on the nose and lack of burn on the way down. Didn't find the palate to be lingering, which had me taking sip after sip. Near the end of the glass, subtle sweetness is detected without feeling like swigging sugar water. Despite my initial trepidation, I'm proud to call myself a fan

Posted over 1 year ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Ce rhum est vraiment cher a l'achat au Quebec, acheté a l extérieur du pays. Ce rhum vraiment est excellent. Meilleur que le 18 et le 12 ans oui, mais la différence pour le prix ne vaut pas la peine. Meme si je ne suis pas un fan des rhums agricoles celui-ci surpasse mes attentes. Il est bien balancé et complexe. Il goûte le caramel, miel, amande et vanille. Il est complexe et long en bouche. On ne goûte pas trop le chêne comme son frère 12 ans.

Posted about 2 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

Nice rum just to sip on pour some over a little bit ice very good rum and
great value.

Posted almost 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Easily approachable and exceptionally smooth. Lovely presentation (I don't want to know how much has been spent on marketing this product.) Will update if I get another chance to try it.

8-

Update 11/17: After tasting over a hundred more rums since my original rating, I re-tried another in this range, and it's got curiously strong vanilla notes. I'm wary. Also, what's up with everyone thinking this is an agricole? Citation needed…

7+

Posted about 3 years ago by John frederick from United States with 40 ratings

Was looking forward to this having tried the 12 and loved it. The taste was beyond good, the reason I didn't give a 9 is that is had a more harsh finish than I would have expected, sipping it neat and rocks Guess what though, still finished the bottle. Found a local store selling it for $40, $7 less than I paid, so I'll be getting it again

Posted about 3 years ago by Peter from Hungary with 91 ratings

it was definitely on my wishlist, my friend managed to deliver it at last through www.whisky4you.eu

As we opened the bottle,we had high expectations.The rum is very hyped and not existent in shops in Europe.
First we thought we have a dram of a Quater-cask whisky,but not of a good kind. Bitter,almost not enjoyable.We thought it's a faulty batch,or the cork was maybe too old and too much air destroyed the aromas.
But we sought a 2.chance,fairly. So we let it breathe for a hour or so. And voilá- the horrible bitter oak vanished and a true great Dominican appeared. Caramel,molasses,christmas spice on the palete,the oaky bitterness was present but formed a good unity with the other aromas. So this is maybe the first rum i tasted which really changes a lot after breathing.The rating of 7 is because of the first disappointing experience,else it would be a strong 8
cheers

Posted over 3 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

I paid $32 for a bottle and would have happily paid $100 and not been disappointed. From the nose to the finish it is nothing less than fantastic, lots of dried fruits, vanilla, carmel, chocolate and Mascarpone and lightly sweet to the exact perfect amount. The mouth is pure silk and goes down the throat just as well. I am a rum snob no qualms about it but dollar for dollar i have spent this is well worth every penny of it. Much better than the 12 year and I can't wait to try the 18.

Posted over 3 years ago by Ben Mitchell from Australia with 18 ratings

The aroma was even better than the flavour....ok nearly. Silky smooth with banana, vanilla and butterscotch. A saver for special moments.

Posted 24 days ago by Therealdk from United States with 5 ratings

The only reason I’m not giving it a ten is I would like to hope I come across something better. My favorite rum in the cabinet. A little sweet with noticeable age in comparison to its 12 and 18 year family.

Posted 27 days ago by scottlalib from United States with 12 ratings

I received a bottle as a gift - and am so grateful that I did. Very smooth, nice character and the spice notes are more subtle than the younger K&S selections. Normally I’m skeptical of the need to age rum over 10-12 years, but in this instance it seems to make a nice difference.

Posted 28 days ago by Neman3 from Canada with 51 ratings

Since I've had enjoyed it's 18yo brother I've been looking for 23yo and here it is. Solid, with it's own soul which is not comparable with anything else.
Easy on nose, no alcohol burn on palate. Bit of sweetness (like coffee, dried fruits) combined with obvious oak (:or pine tree:).
Aftertaste lasts not that long, however it is pleasant.
9.5! Onto the top of the shelf!

Posted 29 days ago by Hoti from United States with 1 rating

An excellent sipping Rum. Not too much heat, luxurious feel. Lots of caramel, vanilla, and roasted nut notes. Very nice packaging and bottle. The price slightly outweighs the experience but not greatly. This rum improves with some time to breathe. Pour, wait until it’s time to ash your cigar for the first time, and enjoy.

Posted about 1 month ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

Incredible nose. Oak, spice, currant and vanilla. Nice smooth alcohol punch. Deep and complex. Subsequent sips reveal molasses l, maple notes And more. Coats the pallet. No burn. Good Long finish. I prefer it slightly on ice but it is also terrific neat. Very high quality rum. Wonderful sipper. Kirk & Sweeney 23 will have a permanent home in my liquor cabinet.

Posted about 1 month ago by MerMama from United States with 21 ratings

Clean, bright, smooth with a little funk. Nice vanilla. Beautiful sipper.

Posted about 1 month ago by Pollux from Canada with 116 ratings

Très beau rhum de dégustation, mais j'ai goûter des rhums de 23 ans meilleur moins dispendieux.

Posted about 1 month ago by Dave D from United States with 7 ratings

When I first opened this and smelled inside my first impression was this is exactly what rum should smell, and taste like! Spot on. But upon pouring, and tasting soon after I had the distinct smell and taste of turpentine. I had read and seen this mentioned by others and I understood it. But after some airing out, then the passage of time that went away. It had a great full flavor. Perhaps slightly more than I was searching for in my personal favorite sipped neat. Now after a couple weeks it’s settled down. Not bad but what seems to remain is just the oaky flavor. I still enjoy it but would like to try the K&S 18. Just searching for my personal favorite. But I still highly recommend the 23. Well done.




#