Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year rum

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


183 Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Eoin sweeney from Ireland with 10 ratings

If it were any smoother you would question was it alcohol. It definitely opens up after breathing for 20 mins. Oakey Smokey butterscotch. One of my favourites with plantation 20th and zafra. 48 dollars in NYC

Posted over 3 years ago by Teis Madsen from Denmark with 113 ratings

Duften er super god, men smagen er meget skuffende bestemt ikke en rum jeg ville købe, hvis jeg havde prøve smagt den først...

Posted over 3 years ago by michael from United States with 44 ratings

8.5

This rum has a lot of depth for the value.

Nose: Banana, butterscotch, toasted caramel, banana cream.

Mouth: feels and tastes delicious. If you know to sip properly you can have as much or as little bite as you want. This creates a much longer or shorter finish.

It's Woody, Sweet, Vegatal, Caramel, creamy, some nice dry moments that still leave this pleasant flavor lightly pulsating down the back of your throat.

Overall great experience.

Posted over 3 years ago by Seedguy from United States with 3 ratings

One of, if not the best I have tried. Great for sipping and will not break the bank.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jason Berman from United States with 44 ratings

I normally don't spend this much on a bottle. I was pleasantly surprised!!! It was smooth and flavorful. It didn't taste like any sugar was added. I would definitely buy again!

Posted over 3 years ago by Kurt Lauerman from United States with 41 ratings

I like this rum for sipping neat, but it is very smooth and sweet. I would be surprised if there was not added sugar. That being said, I don't mind the sweetness, it makes it more palatable and quite refreshing. You can taste a bit of barrel and smoke, but I would not be surprised to find out that not all the rum in this bottle is 23 years old.

Posted over 3 years ago by AJ from United States with 14 ratings

When I had my first sip I thought I had peeled a banana! The banana fragrance hit me immediately followed by caramel and vanilla. A bit of coffee comes through a little later. This is an exceptional rum and for a rum over 18 years it's tough to beat....especially for the price....around $55. This rum actually opens up twenty minutes after pouring. I'm giving this a 9 ..., although if looking at it solely from a price point...it would be a 10. Why not a 10? Because the El Dorado 21 is a true 10 and I cannot give this the same perfect score. Nevertheless it's outstanding.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

molasses. dry!
i smell carmaell, toffee and much vanilla! spicy notes of pepper and ginger!
i taste vanilla, some coffee, some caramell and cherry and marzipan. maybe some tobacco elements. smooth and silk. full body, supersoft.
8/10 - sutract 5 points if sweet rum is heaven!
in the end you´ll get a dry rum with bold notes and a soft, creamy body. for me its too soft and faceless. i prefer the 18y.

Posted over 3 years ago by DLK601 from United States with 11 ratings

I haven't tried much higher end stuff, probably 20 different ones including the K&S 12, so far this is my absolute favorite with the 12 being #2. This Rum has by far the heaviest carmel tones of any rum I have tried.

Price is weighed lightly in my rating. I paid $50 for a 750ml bottle

Posted over 3 years ago by Klaus from Germany with 61 ratings

Sehr mild, weich und leicht, nicht aufdringlich. Am Anfang deutlich frisches Aroma, Orangenduft, dann leichte Schärfe, nicht zu süß. Etwas bittere Note, hat dadurch eigenen Charakter. Kein Mainstream-Rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Bob D from United States with 10 ratings

This is the smoothest and most refreshing Rum I have had in a long time
No bit and a great vanilla finish

Posted over 3 years ago by Akzme2 from United States with 5 ratings

The nose of this rum is incredible, absolutely wonderful. Very smooth and just the right amount of sweetness. Lovely!!

Posted over 3 years ago by Lawson from United States with 56 ratings

To me this is a dark and brooding rum. On the nose and palate I get a lot the the nutty, earthy aromas and very little of the vanilla and fruit aromas others experience. It is very good though and is not syrupy or sweet in the least. I look forward to enjoying this more in the future.

Posted over 3 years ago by Kristoffer O from Sweden with 17 ratings

Puffs of sweeted Coffee, cocoa beans and a quite pleasant sweetness. Nice dram!

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Nu ma asteptam sa fie atat de bun, are o finete aparte. Este unul din romurile cel mai bine echilibrate din cate am baut.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Un rom plăcut, elegant, un rom de seară cu arome subtile dar bine separate. O alegere foarte buna oricând.

Posted over 3 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

I thought this would be significantly smoother on the finish but was a bit harsher than expected.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

A truely great rum! Sweet but not as sweet as plantation xo or zaya. A good bit of oak but not as much as I would expect from 23 years. Well balanced and well done. Not just the best rum I have had but the best spirt. You will not find anything better for under $100.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Robert from United States with 23 ratings

Very good sipping rum, a bit higher price than its competition, but worth it none the less, top 5 for me

Posted almost 4 years ago by Wolfsgeist from United States with 6 ratings

Man, this rum changed my perception of sipping rums. VERY smooth! The molasses taste is there but not too strong (I don't like heavy molasses taste). Its warm and sweet flavor is fairly consistent (Doest start and finish with different flavors as you drink it). Yet I love how complex the taste is.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 92 ratings

Good rhum. Mais le 12 est presque aussi bon. Je trouve qu il y a pas beaucoup de différance entre le deux a part la couleur. Mais tres bon sur glace.

Posted almost 4 years ago by jim from United States with 31 ratings

This is the best sipper of the group, and it is for me. If you are new to drinking rum straight or on the rocks - The 18 is a great sipper because it is so smooth and mild, but I prefer the 23. We finally tasted the 12/18/23 in the same night. By the way - the 18 and 23 were much harder to find then the 12. When we did find them, only a couple of bottles of each were on the shelf.
All three rums smell great and are fairly mild, the 18 being one of the smoothest rums we have tasted.
The 12 mixes great, the 18 works well either way, the 23 would be my selection if I wanted to enjoy a cigar. All three are very good, all three are just a little different from one another, and they are affordable with only a few bucks difference between each bottle. Will always have at least one of these in my rum cabinet. If the bottle means anything to you - nice bottle to pull out of the cabinet and leave out on the bar for the evening, makes for a contrasting line up with other selections being offered.

Posted almost 4 years ago by steve from United States with 5 ratings

Could be a bit higher proof but unbelievably smooth...almost like having desert

Posted almost 4 years ago by IKEDA JUNICHI from Japan with 19 ratings

Nose: sweet sugar, brown sugar
Taste: sweet sugar, wood, subtle stone fruit, chocolate, tannin

Posted almost 4 years ago by Michael from United States with 2 ratings

This is very smooth, Carmel and vanilla. Nose is excellent and tastes great