Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.4/10 (207 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
8
28
55
86
26

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


207 Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

Any rating lower than a 9 for this rum is nonsense! It's a godsend...and King of the Agricoles!

Oak, vanilla, and caramel are the dominant flavors with hints of brown sugar, molasses and maple syrup. The nose is almost candy-like. It finishes like silk, smooth and luxurious with no bite at all and with a pleasant tobacco note. This is not a hot or spicy rum and despite its 23 years in a barrel the conspicuous tobacco note is not burnt or foul tasting, more like a very well maintained high quality cigar. It has a deep cherry wood color and a thick, rich body that sticks to the glass. This rum needs to breathe a bit before drinking, I say at least a half hour. The next day I chilled it in my freezer and it was amazing, more candy like.

This is a sipping rum and I know its not the smartest thing to do with a rum such as this but if you add it to Coke you'll have Vanilla Coke with a kick! I'll be buying this rum again next week... I'm glad to have taken this one off my wish list. For $42 a bottle this rum is actually under priced!

Edit: I've always said the best way to really get into a rum and discover its character is to get hammered off of it! I did that this weekend. I woke up and there was that beautiful tobacco note lingering in my nose and the taste of vanilla beans in my mouth. Then, three hours and two Gatorades later I got out of bed. Yes, this is a very fine rum...but it delivers a crippling hangover! Play with caution.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by thales2112 from United States with 1 rating

So smooth and nice vanilla/honey notes. One of the best. Nice nose and finish is a hint of spice (very subtle).

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Nathan Hevenstone (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

Thankfully, based on hydrometer tests, this ones got either very little, or no additives. So it's sweetness, to my palate, anyways, is a pleasant surprise.

Although it's been aged for 23 years in American oak casks, I could easily believe that some sherry casks made their way in here. I won't dive in to noses and palates (I also have been skeptical of that whole concept), but it's a delicious, sweet, and tasty rum that I'd highly recommend to anyone who came across it.

I should also note that the price given here do not feel entirely accurate. I purchased this from a Total Wine for $59.99, and a local liquor store sells it for $44.99, so I think the listed prices need to be re-considered, here.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Alex from United States with 8 ratings

I had the 23 down in SC. It was a mistaken order and the clerk wanted it gone. What a break for me. The 18 finally made it to Ohio. When the 23 comes, it will have a permanent place on my shelf.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Jerry1221 (PREMIUM) from United States with 5 ratings

When i was introduced to kirk and sweeney 23. I did not know rum could be so refined. The smooth tast and mellow notes, make for just a beautifull rum. On the opisite side. I let this rum sit in my cabinet maybe 2 long. After a year the tast changed to a very rubing alcohol after tast. I will keep in my colection. Maybe just not wait so long to finish a bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Vlad from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Decent rum but there are better options for 23 year olders

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Arik from United States with 23 ratings

Again...for the price, its amazing. Much like the Zaya 12 and the Flor de Cana 7. So much better than what you pay for.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Leo K from Canada with 54 ratings

"Older" on the label means nothing in the world of rum when it comes to taste. Blended or Solera, you never know what the proportions are, so its all up to the Maker/Master/Blender.
This rum was given to me as a gift from a friend away on a holiday....it was excellent.
Looking forward to trying the 12 year old which is availble locally.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by DejviSs from Czech Republic with 57 ratings

This is definition of rum..I absolutely love this rum, i love bottle, label and the rum of course !
My first 10 here !

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by MikeyA53 from Canada with 34 ratings

Oak and toffee flavours stand out. No burn, definitely smooth. Beautiful bottle, looks good on my bar shelve.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by P4LE HORSE from United States with 4 ratings

My new favorite rum. A wonderful rich flavor with very little burn at the end. It's going to be hard to pry myself away from this to try others.