Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.3/10 (215 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
8
28
58
89
26

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

215 Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jiri from Czech Republic with 2 ratings

Beautiful sweet aroma, taste itself needs time to evolve. Leave your glass open for a while.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Brumlic from Czech Republic with 1 rating

Vanilla, then caramel, then oak in a smooth rum with a mild bite.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by alazzaro from United States with 4 ratings

A fantastic rum, bought a fifth specifically for my wedding, didn't regret it for a second

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Therealdk from United States with 5 ratings

The only reason I’m not giving it a ten is I would like to hope I come across something better. My favorite rum in the cabinet. A little sweet with noticeable age in comparison to its 12 and 18 year family.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by scottlalib from United States with 13 ratings

I received a bottle as a gift - and am so grateful that I did. Very smooth, nice character and the spice notes are more subtle than the younger K&S selections. Normally I’m skeptical of the need to age rum over 10-12 years, but in this instance it seems to make a nice difference.

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted 9 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 90 ratings

Since I've had enjoyed it's 18yo brother I've been looking for 23yo and here it is. Solid, with it's own soul which is not comparable with anything else.
Easy on nose, no alcohol burn on palate. Bit of sweetness (like coffee, dried fruits) combined with obvious oak (:or pine tree:).
Aftertaste lasts not that long, however it is pleasant.
9.5! Onto the top of the shelf!

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Hoti from United States with 1 rating

An excellent sipping Rum. Not too much heat, luxurious feel. Lots of caramel, vanilla, and roasted nut notes. Very nice packaging and bottle. The price slightly outweighs the experience but not greatly. This rum improves with some time to breathe. Pour, wait until it’s time to ash your cigar for the first time, and enjoy.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 199 ratings

Incredible nose. Oak, spice, currant and vanilla. Nice smooth alcohol punch. Deep and complex. Subsequent sips reveal molasses l, maple notes And more. Coats the pallet. No burn. Good Long finish. I prefer it slightly on ice but it is also terrific neat. Very high quality rum. Wonderful sipper. Kirk & Sweeney 23 will have a permanent home in my liquor cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by MerMama from United States with 23 ratings

Clean, bright, smooth with a little funk. Nice vanilla. Beautiful sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 158 ratings

Très beau rhum de dégustation, mais j'ai goûter des rhums de 23 ans meilleur moins dispendieux.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Dave D from United States with 8 ratings

When I first opened this and smelled inside my first impression was this is exactly what rum should smell, and taste like! Spot on. But upon pouring, and tasting soon after I had the distinct smell and taste of turpentine. I had read and seen this mentioned by others and I understood it. But after some airing out, then the passage of time that went away. It had a great full flavor. Perhaps slightly more than I was searching for in my personal favorite sipped neat. Now after a couple weeks it’s settled down. Not bad but what seems to remain is just the oaky flavor. I still enjoy it but would like to try the K&S 18. Just searching for my personal favorite. But I still highly recommend the 23. Well done.