Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.4/10 (207 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
8
28
55
86
26

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


207 Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Brian from United States with 11 ratings

Kirk and Sweeney have their stuff together! All 3 ages are priced appropriately and each a little different than one another. For a few extra bucks than the 18 you can grab a 23 year. They are not dissimilar and again lots of creamy caramel flavor and vanilla, but not overly sweet! Highly recommend this and the 18, nothing against the 12 which is fantastic but for a few extra $$ the 18 and 23 are great buys!!

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Richull (PREMIUM) from United States with 12 ratings

Tutu liked it more than Mimi. Somewhat complex, no very sweet. Grassy, hay, slight barnyard. We‘re not mad.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by kirkydu (PREMIUM) from United States with 2 ratings

I bought 2 bottles of Kirk and Sweeney a few weeks ago when I saw at the upscale grocer on discount. A bottle of the 12 year ($29) and a bottle of the 23 year ($35). This 23 year decants well in about 20-30 minutes. You will get a very strong and flavorful aroma. Take a deep whiff to clear out your sinuses as you swish in a stemless wine glass. One tasting was neat. Neat for the 23 years was too much for me (I might just be a sally). I had to dilute so added an ice cube. I like that a lot. The flavors are complex with noticeable cocoa, some berries, light on vanilla and honey, some nuttiness, pitted fruits to the back of your palate and throat, plus a bit of oak woodiness.I didn't bother trying with a lime as the flavors don't need help. I did decant again with organic Sugar in the Raw and added an ice cube. I really like that combination. I do like a bit of sweetness.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Brumlic from Czech Republic with 1 rating

Vanilla, then caramel, then oak in a smooth rum with a mild bite.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by alazzaro from United States with 4 ratings

A fantastic rum, bought a fifth specifically for my wedding, didn't regret it for a second

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Therealdk from United States with 5 ratings

The only reason I’m not giving it a ten is I would like to hope I come across something better. My favorite rum in the cabinet. A little sweet with noticeable age in comparison to its 12 and 18 year family.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by scottlalib from United States with 13 ratings

I received a bottle as a gift - and am so grateful that I did. Very smooth, nice character and the spice notes are more subtle than the younger K&S selections. Normally I’m skeptical of the need to age rum over 10-12 years, but in this instance it seems to make a nice difference.

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted 7 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 82 ratings

Since I've had enjoyed it's 18yo brother I've been looking for 23yo and here it is. Solid, with it's own soul which is not comparable with anything else.
Easy on nose, no alcohol burn on palate. Bit of sweetness (like coffee, dried fruits) combined with obvious oak (:or pine tree:).
Aftertaste lasts not that long, however it is pleasant.
9.5! Onto the top of the shelf!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Hoti from United States with 1 rating

An excellent sipping Rum. Not too much heat, luxurious feel. Lots of caramel, vanilla, and roasted nut notes. Very nice packaging and bottle. The price slightly outweighs the experience but not greatly. This rum improves with some time to breathe. Pour, wait until it’s time to ash your cigar for the first time, and enjoy.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 167 ratings

Incredible nose. Oak, spice, currant and vanilla. Nice smooth alcohol punch. Deep and complex. Subsequent sips reveal molasses l, maple notes And more. Coats the pallet. No burn. Good Long finish. I prefer it slightly on ice but it is also terrific neat. Very high quality rum. Wonderful sipper. Kirk & Sweeney 23 will have a permanent home in my liquor cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by MerMama from United States with 23 ratings

Clean, bright, smooth with a little funk. Nice vanilla. Beautiful sipper.