Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.3/10 (215 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
8
28
58
89
26

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

215 Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

Any rating lower than a 9 for this rum is nonsense! It's a godsend...and King of the Agricoles!

Oak, vanilla, and caramel are the dominant flavors with hints of brown sugar, molasses and maple syrup. The nose is almost candy-like. It finishes like silk, smooth and luxurious with no bite at all and with a pleasant tobacco note. This is not a hot or spicy rum and despite its 23 years in a barrel the conspicuous tobacco note is not burnt or foul tasting, more like a very well maintained high quality cigar. It has a deep cherry wood color and a thick, rich body that sticks to the glass. This rum needs to breathe a bit before drinking, I say at least a half hour. The next day I chilled it in my freezer and it was amazing, more candy like.

This is a sipping rum and I know its not the smartest thing to do with a rum such as this but if you add it to Coke you'll have Vanilla Coke with a kick! I'll be buying this rum again next week... I'm glad to have taken this one off my wish list. For $42 a bottle this rum is actually under priced!

Edit: I've always said the best way to really get into a rum and discover its character is to get hammered off of it! I did that this weekend. I woke up and there was that beautiful tobacco note lingering in my nose and the taste of vanilla beans in my mouth. Then, three hours and two Gatorades later I got out of bed. Yes, this is a very fine rum...but it delivers a crippling hangover! Play with caution.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 326 ratings

- vůně jemná, vanilka, zlehka kávové tóny, spíše toffee
- chuť jemně kávová, koření, vanilka, minimální sladkost na Dominikansky rum
Závěr zůstává, jemny
Na poprvé zklamání, druhý pokus už velká spokojenost 👍

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Alkin from Latvia with 43 ratings

Excellent rum, better than 12 and better than 18. Great on nose, long lasting aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Noffy from Hungary with 2 ratings

It is decent rum, but nothing special. Maybe it was served a little too hot.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by blowpez from United States with 21 ratings

Wow you can taste the fine, refined quality from the first sip. This rum is bursting with so many flavors! The taste is extremely complex and evolves after you swallow. Burnt molasses turns to sweet caramel with a lingering vanilla finish. With absolutely zero burn drank neat, you can tell age has turned this rum into perfection. This is my first in the K&S series but I am extremely excited to check out the 12 and 18 now.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Eviltwinshell (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

I love the taste of this rum, the flavors, the smoothness. It makes a good old fashioned.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Drewbacca from United States with 15 ratings

I like the vanilla smoothness of the 18 year better. But this is definitely better than the 12 year.

Small alien 200 200

Posted 6 months ago by Richard from Sweden with 72 ratings

Smells like a sweeter El Dorado. Tastes like a less intense and spicy El Dorado. Lacks something that makes it stand out, and the aftertaste, although it's nice, dies too fast

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Ian H (PREMIUM) from United States with 8 ratings

Solid rum, but a little more burn than I prefer. Nice complex flavor profile.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Richull (PREMIUM) from United States with 14 ratings

Tutu liked it more than Mimi. Somewhat complex, no very sweet. Grassy, hay, slight barnyard. We‘re not mad.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by kirkydu (PREMIUM) from United States with 2 ratings

I bought 2 bottles of Kirk and Sweeney a few weeks ago when I saw at the upscale grocer on discount. A bottle of the 12 year ($29) and a bottle of the 23 year ($35). This 23 year decants well in about 20-30 minutes. You will get a very strong and flavorful aroma. Take a deep whiff to clear out your sinuses as you swish in a stemless wine glass. One tasting was neat. Neat for the 23 years was too much for me (I might just be a sally). I had to dilute so added an ice cube. I like that a lot. The flavors are complex with noticeable cocoa, some berries, light on vanilla and honey, some nuttiness, pitted fruits to the back of your palate and throat, plus a bit of oak woodiness.I didn't bother trying with a lime as the flavors don't need help. I did decant again with organic Sugar in the Raw and added an ice cube. I really like that combination. I do like a bit of sweetness.