Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.4/10 (207 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
8
28
55
86
26

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


207 Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Brian from United States with 11 ratings

Kirk and Sweeney have their stuff together! All 3 ages are priced appropriately and each a little different than one another. For a few extra bucks than the 18 you can grab a 23 year. They are not dissimilar and again lots of creamy caramel flavor and vanilla, but not overly sweet! Highly recommend this and the 18, nothing against the 12 which is fantastic but for a few extra $$ the 18 and 23 are great buys!!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 338 ratings

Nice and gentle vanilla aroma. Taste is complex with butter, cognac, vanilla, pralines and toffee. Aftertaste is average but pleasant. Bit less sweet and bit more complex than 18y which I prefer.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

There has been a re-branding and all age statements have disappeared. Someone also brought me what once was a 12yo but which has also been changed to 12 Reserva, with any reference to spending 12 years in wood now gone.

When I first opened the bottle, it was rich, smooth with decent initial length which unfortunately disappears too soon. Possibly would benefit being bottled at 43% rather than 40%. Would also like to try with no added sugar, but it hasn't been over done. If the length was longer and less sugar added, then I could see this being a 9.

But, and it's a big but.....

The bottle has been open for a couple of weeks now, and the rum hasn't opened up. Quite the opposite. It's OK but lacks sophistication, weight and pretty much any class. The main problem I have with it, is the price for what you get. It's not good value for money.

And my main test of a rum.....would I but it again? I'm afraid to say it's an emphatic "no", and I'm finding myself drinking it as quickly as I can just to get rid of it. Quite what I do with it's younger sibling the 12 Reserva, is anyone's guess as that really is disgusting.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 302 ratings

- vůně jemná, vanilka, zlehka kávové tóny, spíše toffee
- chuť jemně kávová, koření, vanilka, minimální sladkost na Dominikansky rum
Závěr zůstává, jemny
Na poprvé zklamání, druhý pokus už velká spokojenost 👍

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Alkin from Latvia with 43 ratings

Excellent rum, better than 12 and better than 18. Great on nose, long lasting aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Noffy from Hungary with 2 ratings

It is decent rum, but nothing special. Maybe it was served a little too hot.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by blowpez from United States with 20 ratings

Wow you can taste the fine, refined quality from the first sip. This rum is bursting with so many flavors! The taste is extremely complex and evolves after you swallow. Burnt molasses turns to sweet caramel with a lingering vanilla finish. With absolutely zero burn drank neat, you can tell age has turned this rum into perfection. This is my first in the K&S series but I am extremely excited to check out the 12 and 18 now.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Eviltwinshell (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

I love the taste of this rum, the flavors, the smoothness. It makes a good old fashioned.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Drewbacca from United States with 15 ratings

I like the vanilla smoothness of the 18 year better. But this is definitely better than the 12 year.

Small alien 200 200

Posted 4 months ago by Richard from Sweden with 72 ratings

Smells like a sweeter El Dorado. Tastes like a less intense and spicy El Dorado. Lacks something that makes it stand out, and the aftertaste, although it's nice, dies too fast

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Ian H (PREMIUM) from United States with 8 ratings

Solid rum, but a little more burn than I prefer. Nice complex flavor profile.