Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.3/10 (215 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
8
28
58
89
26

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

215 Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

A truely great rum! Sweet but not as sweet as plantation xo or zaya. A good bit of oak but not as much as I would expect from 23 years. Well balanced and well done. Not just the best rum I have had but the best spirt. You will not find anything better for under $100.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Christopher T Cozzi from United States with 3 ratings

I love what K&S does... holding the bottle is like holding a gold bar. The 23 is very good, but have to say I think the 12 and 18 appeal more to my taste and are smoother and more revealing tastes. Maybe its because I began my rum journey with the 12 yr. Can't go wrong with any of them.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 232 ratings

By far the best Kirk and Sweeney rum to date. Never disappoints, but not my favorite. Dark rich and sweet. Love their cool unique bottling and presentation. Prices does not escalate significantly with age so select the 23 over the 12. Great gift from a friend.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by cheebu from United States with 4 ratings

As i was pouring it smelled a lot of apples.
Taste wise notes of rasins, dried fruit, leather. Starts out sweet and oily then brings out the rest. Has a very good burn on the palate and down the throat. After taste lasts a good while and a little bite on the tongue and lips.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Mr.D from Italy with 6 ratings

Elegant tasty drinkable, it offers a rich evolution on the mouth, from sweet and fresh sensations to dried fruit, very present the taste of caramel, sherry and vanilla, this rum with all the qualities to be one of the best. Excellent value for money.
My favorite for sure

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Ngordon87 from United States with 48 ratings

Had this over dinner. Nothing too crazy to report about. Ironically enough I like the ks 12 better than this one. This one has a bit more aged taste to it.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by timle8n1 from United States with 1 rating

Incredibly smooth rum with a deep rich smell of caramel. Nice bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Jday0001 (PREMIUM) from United States with 16 ratings

I'm still new to the sipping rum world and learning the lingo, but this one is the best I've tried so far. I can taste toffee and tobacco, dried fruits and caramel. It's smooth before the burn. I drank it without letting it breathe first, which I will do next time. I'm also going to try it chilled.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Fausto from United States with 5 ratings

Damn this Sweeney is Kirk!! This 23 year old is complex on the nose. I really cant nail the many smells. First taste is most definitely vanilla then the orgie hits full pleasure. The 23 has a round feeling in the most, no bite. It ends with a wrinkling of the lips, curiously dry. Damn I love Rum!

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 377 ratings

Nice and gentle vanilla aroma. Taste is complex with butter, cognac, vanilla, pralines and toffee. Aftertaste is average but pleasant. Bit less sweet and bit more complex than 18y which I prefer.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

There has been a re-branding and all age statements have disappeared. Someone also brought me what once was a 12yo but which has also been changed to 12 Reserva, with any reference to spending 12 years in wood now gone.

When I first opened the bottle, it was rich, smooth with decent initial length which unfortunately disappears too soon. Possibly would benefit being bottled at 43% rather than 40%. Would also like to try with no added sugar, but it hasn't been over done. If the length was longer and less sugar added, then I could see this being a 9.

But, and it's a big but.....

The bottle has been open for a couple of weeks now, and the rum hasn't opened up. Quite the opposite. It's OK but lacks sophistication, weight and pretty much any class. The main problem I have with it, is the price for what you get. It's not good value for money.

And my main test of a rum.....would I but it again? I'm afraid to say it's an emphatic "no", and I'm finding myself drinking it as quickly as I can just to get rid of it. Quite what I do with it's younger sibling the 12 Reserva, is anyone's guess as that really is disgusting.