Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year rum

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


183 Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Eoin sweeney from Ireland with 10 ratings

If it were any smoother you would question was it alcohol. It definitely opens up after breathing for 20 mins. Oakey Smokey butterscotch. One of my favourites with plantation 20th and zafra. 48 dollars in NYC

Posted 12 months ago by Kevin from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

I was impressed by the 12 year old, which was not quite my favourite, but amazingly good value, so I thought I would try the 23 year old. Definitely not disappointed. The 23 year old is much smoother, as expected. It’s slightly sweet, with no burn, but lots of taste, with hints of caramel and vanilla. Incredible price for a 23 year old and I just love the bottle.

Posted about 1 year ago by Thomas Fuhs from United States with 22 ratings

Possibly the smoothest rum possible at the price. No burn on the nose or the palate at all. Nice, balanced flavor as well

Posted about 1 year ago by narc714 from United States with 49 ratings

If you like the great Dominican brands (The 4-b's, Brugal, Botran, Barcelo, Bermudez), this will be a different experience.
Very sweet, on the border of tasting a little artificial like the over rated Zapaca.
But, not so bad as to prevent me from knocking off the whole bottle.
OK, but not sure if i'd invest in another ??
I can really dis the dopey clumsey hard to handle bottle.

Posted about 1 year ago by rumburak from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

This is big rum with all that you'll expect. Aroma is great

Posted about 1 year ago by Durbs from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Obviously this is down to personal taste, and for me this is too sweet.

I don't get the complexity or depth of flavour you'd expect from a 23 year old rum, would you do get is lashings of sweet butterscotch and vanilla.
It's a nice, pleasant rum, but there's much better out there.

At £50 for a 23 YO, it could be seen as a bargain regardless, BUT you have to question WHY it's so cheap...

If you like the sweeter rums; Diplomatico, Plantation XO you'll like it.

Posted about 1 year ago by SickBoy82 from United States with 23 ratings

To find a non-solera 23 year old spirit for less than $75 is unheard of! Great notes caramel, vanilla, & oak that you would expect from a cane juice based Dominican rum that spent over 2 decades in a barrel.

Posted about 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 100 ratings

A unique under scent overrules the first hint of alcohol for a pleasant experience as you begin to taste on the tongue. Full bodied with a great background as you sip, a very pleasant experience. This is a keeper for me...

Posted about 1 year ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 96 ratings

Sweet aroma, sweet caramel taste in the beginning, stronger alcoholic tail.

Posted about 1 year ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 135 ratings

Very nice burn which follows the entire experience is combined with dry and sweet tones of vanilla and cocoa.

Posted about 1 year ago by Joe Tortorello (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

I have quite a few sipping runs and was quite surprised how good this rum is. Great aroma, pleasant taste of caramel and vanilla. Very little burn at the end. Facunda Esquisito is my all time favorite and this is a close second to that.

Posted about 1 year ago by JAMBOABOMBA from Italy with 9 ratings

Very good.
I realy appreciated this rum, this is my type of rum.
Fantastic smell of vanilla and caramel, with a note of oak.
On the palate, you find a lot of the sweetnes and is a very smooth rum to be aged 23 years.
I suggest to let the bottle breath for 1 our, because this change a lot the aromas.

Posted about 1 year ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

Brown sugar, dark chocolate, caramel, and the faintest hint of coffee. A great woody presence to round it out and let you know this is an OLD rum, but not enough to get in the way of your enjoyment. Smells good. Tastes great. Has a lasting finish. This is one of those rare rums that distinguishes itself not because of some unique twist it has to offer, but because it does all of the normal things really, REALLY well.

Posted about 1 year ago by Pinmann from United States with 14 ratings

Very flavorful rum with a strong finish between a sherry and slight vanilla

Posted about 1 year ago by Grebreden from Sweden with 22 ratings

A dry rum paked with green bananas and oak. Nice bottle, love it.

Posted about 1 year ago by ihavenosavior from United States with 2 ratings

I have yet to find a rum that I love more than this. It is absolutely phenomenal to sip solo, with a great set of flavors with overtones of butterscotch that goes down smooth. Mixing a couple fingers of it with some coke really brings out the sweet, smokey undertone flavors that it has. All around great rum for anyone, and it sits in the #1 position in the liquor cabinet of my study...

Posted about 1 year ago by Gravy from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

This rum is dangerous!
It is so incredibly smooth, you could practically glug it down, if you had a mind to.
It has everything the 12-year old has, but is even smoother.
I feel it is possibly a touch sweeter, and with more character.
I paid £56 for this one, which I feel is a decent price, but the problem is that I have enjoyed it a little too much ... I have only one small pour left only 5 days after buying it.
I found myself wondering if this means I'm an alcoholic, since I can't wait to get my tongue in amongst it. However, I'm reassured by the fact that I know that if there were none left of this bottle, I would still not be tempted by one of the other bottles I have ... MG Eclipse, Morgan's Spiced. Certainly not for sipping neat, anyway.

Posted over 1 year ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 95 ratings

Překvapilo mně, že KS 23y je dost pepřový. Nevím jestli to je záměr, ale u takto starého rumu je to dost nepříjemné. Pak sice přejde do lehce karamelového tónu s náznakem sudu. Závěr super. Proto 7b.

Posted over 1 year ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 66 ratings

Wery nice one, complex and ballanced, full. Dried fruits. On the beginning with also wood taste, later sweet tone also with honey like.

Posted over 1 year ago by tspierce78 from United States with 1 rating

To be clear this is an añejo rum made from fermented and distilled blackstrap molasses, not an agricole rhum which is made from distilled squeezed sugar cane juice that hasn’t been fermented. I say this as some have mistakenly called this an agricole, which has a difference in production and flavors.
That said, this rum is excellent if you prefer complex, smooth, and subtly sweet rums! There are aromatic notes of sweet spices with vanilla being the dominant character and a nominal cask flavor even though these are aged for 23 years in lightly charred American oak barrels. For me, casked spirits tend to leave an almost acidic taste on the palate but this one doesn’t at all. At 80 proof you will get a nice warming buzz without too much of a burn when sipping. I enjoy this straight, on the rocks, and mixed. Some personal suggestions to mix this are to sub for vodka in a Moscow mule with Reed’s ginger beer and a squeeze of lime or with a good agave/cane based cola such as Q Kola or Maine Root Mexicane Cola (add a squeeze of lemon if you’re adventurous).

Posted over 1 year ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

aroma is very pleasant, with extremely strong vanilla notes! Taste is also strong vanilla, and one of the smoothest runs I’ve ever had. Overall, a vanilla bomb. Delicious, but once again I prefer a more complex rum at this price. 90+

Posted over 1 year ago by Mipresser from United States with 11 ratings

Enjoyed this quite a bit. I tend to drink it as an after-dinner drink. It does not overpower but is a smooth and tasty end to a meal.

Posted over 1 year ago by RockHaven from United States with 21 ratings

The deep amber color is beautiful in a crystal glass. Vanilla dominates the nose but much more is present; hard to define but complex fruit notes. Coffee and vanilla on the tongue, followed by more vanilla in the finish, with rich caramel. Cask finish may have included sherry casks? This is my first age-statement dark rum, so cask type is much more prominent than Solera rums. Very nice overall!

Posted over 1 year ago by Hector from United States with 35 ratings

Very nice aroma of something tropical, fudge and soft toffee with a hint of orange. Thick and super soft mouthfeel. One of the best sipping rums for about $40. goes great with a fine Cigar.....Enjoy

Posted over 1 year ago by Russell from United States with 25 ratings

8 and a half. Price too high . What's the deal with 23 years? Is that the limit with rum? Probably would like this at 100 proof.