Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.3/10
232 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
6
9
29
63
93
29

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

232 Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Dave McConnell from United States with 4 ratings

...but then I let it breathe. Toffee, vanilla and dried fruit on the nose, silky mouthfeel with added notes of maple and tobacco and a long, lingering finish. Expensive, but worth every penny.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by torgo from United States with 12 ratings

This rum grew on me over time. With a bold age statement, I was hoping to love it instantly, but to be honest it didn't work that way.

It took time, and sipping, and patience, but after a few weeks and by the time the bottle was empty, I was sad to see it gone.

This rum is a little on the dry side, but it would be unfair to fault it for that, especially for the price point. I came to appreciate its light, pleasant caramel hints on the nose and lack of burn on the way down. Didn't find the palate to be lingering, which had me taking sip after sip. Near the end of the glass, subtle sweetness is detected without feeling like swigging sugar water. Despite my initial trepidation, I'm proud to call myself a fan

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

Nice rum just to sip on pour some over a little bit ice very good rum and
great value.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 324 ratings

Easily approachable and exceptionally smooth. Lovely presentation (I don't want to know how much has been spent on marketing this product.) Will update if I get another chance to try it.

8-

Update 11/17: After tasting over a hundred more rums since my original rating, I re-tried another in this range, and it's got curiously strong vanilla notes. I'm wary. Also, what's up with everyone thinking this is an agricole? Citation needed…

7+

Small 24e26e66 c6c7 425d a133 3a533f9d023a

Posted 4 years ago by John frederick from United States with 59 ratings

Was looking forward to this having tried the 12 and loved it. The taste was beyond good, the reason I didn't give a 9 is that is had a more harsh finish than I would have expected, sipping it neat and rocks Guess what though, still finished the bottle. Found a local store selling it for $40, $7 less than I paid, so I'll be getting it again

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Peter from Hungary with 91 ratings

it was definitely on my wishlist, my friend managed to deliver it at last through www.whisky4you.eu

As we opened the bottle,we had high expectations.The rum is very hyped and not existent in shops in Europe.
First we thought we have a dram of a Quater-cask whisky,but not of a good kind. Bitter,almost not enjoyable.We thought it's a faulty batch,or the cork was maybe too old and too much air destroyed the aromas.
But we sought a 2.chance,fairly. So we let it breathe for a hour or so. And voilá- the horrible bitter oak vanished and a true great Dominican appeared. Caramel,molasses,christmas spice on the palete,the oaky bitterness was present but formed a good unity with the other aromas. So this is maybe the first rum i tasted which really changes a lot after breathing.The rating of 7 is because of the first disappointing experience,else it would be a strong 8
cheers

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 193 ratings

I paid $32 for a bottle and would have happily paid $100 and not been disappointed. From the nose to the finish it is nothing less than fantastic, lots of dried fruits, vanilla, carmel, chocolate and Mascarpone and lightly sweet to the exact perfect amount. The mouth is pure silk and goes down the throat just as well. I am a rum snob no qualms about it but dollar for dollar i have spent this is well worth every penny of it. Much better than the 12 year and I can't wait to try the 18.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ben Mitchell from Australia with 18 ratings

The aroma was even better than the flavour....ok nearly. Silky smooth with banana, vanilla and butterscotch. A saver for special moments.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 99 ratings

Smooth with complex lingering flavour. You can taste the barrel in this sweet rum. Definitely worth trying if you've never tried it, but for the price I am not sure Ill buy again (

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Wbnolan (PREMIUM) from United States with 4 ratings

I cut my teeth in sipping rum on a 23 year old Kirk and Sweeney. I think I started fairly high on the totem pole. And, yes, I was hooked from the first sip.

I expected a burn and and aftertaste. But instead I found a fairly smooth swallow, even when neat. Over ice it slowly mellows unlocking more flavors.

In the nose it comes across as simple, caramel with a slight note of molasses and mild vanilla. Flaviar.com show cinnamon, honey and coffee. But I disagree.

I love this brand on the rocks or with a splash of soda, or small splash of pineapple. And it makes a fantastic old fashioned with chocolate bitters(2 dashes). My personal recipe calls fro 1/2 teaspoon of coconut syrup.

For the money, it is a great buy. And never disappoints.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Koldegaard from Denmark with 4 ratings

Great flavors fills the mouth when enjoying this fine rum