Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.3/10 (215 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
8
28
58
89
26

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

215 Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

Any rating lower than a 9 for this rum is nonsense! It's a godsend...and King of the Agricoles!

Oak, vanilla, and caramel are the dominant flavors with hints of brown sugar, molasses and maple syrup. The nose is almost candy-like. It finishes like silk, smooth and luxurious with no bite at all and with a pleasant tobacco note. This is not a hot or spicy rum and despite its 23 years in a barrel the conspicuous tobacco note is not burnt or foul tasting, more like a very well maintained high quality cigar. It has a deep cherry wood color and a thick, rich body that sticks to the glass. This rum needs to breathe a bit before drinking, I say at least a half hour. The next day I chilled it in my freezer and it was amazing, more candy like.

This is a sipping rum and I know its not the smartest thing to do with a rum such as this but if you add it to Coke you'll have Vanilla Coke with a kick! I'll be buying this rum again next week... I'm glad to have taken this one off my wish list. For $42 a bottle this rum is actually under priced!

Edit: I've always said the best way to really get into a rum and discover its character is to get hammered off of it! I did that this weekend. I woke up and there was that beautiful tobacco note lingering in my nose and the taste of vanilla beans in my mouth. Then, three hours and two Gatorades later I got out of bed. Yes, this is a very fine rum...but it delivers a crippling hangover! Play with caution.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 193 ratings

I paid $32 for a bottle and would have happily paid $100 and not been disappointed. From the nose to the finish it is nothing less than fantastic, lots of dried fruits, vanilla, carmel, chocolate and Mascarpone and lightly sweet to the exact perfect amount. The mouth is pure silk and goes down the throat just as well. I am a rum snob no qualms about it but dollar for dollar i have spent this is well worth every penny of it. Much better than the 12 year and I can't wait to try the 18.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ben Mitchell from Australia with 18 ratings

The aroma was even better than the flavour....ok nearly. Silky smooth with banana, vanilla and butterscotch. A saver for special moments.

Ffffff

Posted 12 days ago by Jake1799 from Canada with 3 ratings

I absolutely love this rum, it is a fantastic sip and truly a delicious after dinner sipper, my favorite rum I've tried so far!

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Robert from United States with 64 ratings

Just as flavorful as the 12 year but not as sweet. Good sipper for a reasonable price.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Clem from United States with 15 ratings

Honestly I was expecting more. Don't get me wrong, this is a very enjoyable rum, but it's no where as complex as I thought it would be. And that's ok. Personally, I'll stay with my El Dorado 15 year.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Peter841 from Slovakia with 9 ratings

Really consistant from colour to taste. Ideal after food as digestive. This is a rum version of vanilla sugar.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Stuartt Corder from Chile with 13 ratings

Nice color and very smooth. However, the smoothness comes at the expense of lack of flavor, in my opinion. Spice and vanilla are present. All other flavors are a bit like a light touch on the neck. You keep turning around to see if you can catch a glimpse but it's gone before you can see. Too light, too simple. If you like super smooth rums and are not into strong flavor profiles, you may like this better than me.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Pirate from United States with 11 ratings

This is as smooth a rum as you would care to drink. I only gave it a 9 because it was just a tiny bit sweet and the vanilla is too overpowering for my taste. You will note the intense smell of vanilla immediately at first cork removal. That first sip also overwhelms with vanilla but the fine aftertaste has a good caramel and nutty tone, with just a hint of aging oak. It finishes with a sweetness that is a little much for me but for those who "like 'em" sweet. This could be your new favorite. Color is a beautiful clear dark amber and had they calmed down the vanilla and sweet....would easily have made my new favorite.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Thefruithunter from United States with 3 ratings

Some rums have too many notes, this one amazingly has too few notes. We tasted it against Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva, Ron del Barrilito, and Cententario 25... Kirk and Sweeney is like water compared to the richness of Dip. and Cen.

Small stevesspirits v4

Posted 2 months ago by StevesSpirits from Canada with 17 ratings

So I bought this one based on the reviews here, and perhaps I made a poor choice. This rum on the nose and palate has a strong vanilla extract note, which I don't like much. That being said, if you like sweet vanilla, perhaps this rum is your jam!

On the nose: vanilla extract, raisin, candied orange. The palate is honey, vanilla, brown sugar, maple syrup, and toffee. The finish is short-medium and is a light pepper and pecan.

I won't be trying K&S in the future, but it is still an okay spirit that is drinkable. I think there is a little sugar added. This spirit qualifies as a "vanilla bomb" (if there is such a thing).