Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.3/10 (215 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
8
28
58
89
26

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

215 Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

Any rating lower than a 9 for this rum is nonsense! It's a godsend...and King of the Agricoles!

Oak, vanilla, and caramel are the dominant flavors with hints of brown sugar, molasses and maple syrup. The nose is almost candy-like. It finishes like silk, smooth and luxurious with no bite at all and with a pleasant tobacco note. This is not a hot or spicy rum and despite its 23 years in a barrel the conspicuous tobacco note is not burnt or foul tasting, more like a very well maintained high quality cigar. It has a deep cherry wood color and a thick, rich body that sticks to the glass. This rum needs to breathe a bit before drinking, I say at least a half hour. The next day I chilled it in my freezer and it was amazing, more candy like.

This is a sipping rum and I know its not the smartest thing to do with a rum such as this but if you add it to Coke you'll have Vanilla Coke with a kick! I'll be buying this rum again next week... I'm glad to have taken this one off my wish list. For $42 a bottle this rum is actually under priced!

Edit: I've always said the best way to really get into a rum and discover its character is to get hammered off of it! I did that this weekend. I woke up and there was that beautiful tobacco note lingering in my nose and the taste of vanilla beans in my mouth. Then, three hours and two Gatorades later I got out of bed. Yes, this is a very fine rum...but it delivers a crippling hangover! Play with caution.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

I've really tried with this bottle, I think this is e realizing I don't like agricoles as much. It is a solid rum, but didn't have the long after taste I was hoping for. Not the best review, apologies.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Chris from United States with 10 ratings

I base this review from a person who really likes the K&S 18. The 18 is actually my wife's favorite rum. This is a good rum. The problem is it isn't better than the 18. It doesn't have the nose and is maybe less smooth. You have to deduct a point or 2 for that. If you like K&S, stick with the 18...

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Pete from United States with 13 ratings

They were out of Zacapa 23 at my store so a sales person (actually fairly knowledgable about rums) recommended it. No disappointed at all. I still enjoy my Zacapa but this is more like the oak from a rye with a smooth rum finish. Has earned a regularly stocked place in my bar.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by David from United States with 11 ratings

If you like a more dry harsh rum this is for you. A bit vapid and insipid. Not too many notes. More of an alcohol bite. A slightly harsh afterbite which would be unpleasant for some. But of course better than bacardi.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

Those who've read my other ratings know I am a big fan of the Kirk & Sweeney 12 Year - among the best rum values out there in addition to one of the best rums I've tried. I purchased the 23 Year recently and sampled it alongside the 12 Year, and my conclusion is that those who prefer a less-sweet rum with more "barrel character" should definitely seek out this edition. Makes sense right? But, to be clear, I find this rum has virtually all those other characteristics that make the 12 Year great - the buttery finish being my personal favorite. And once again, the price of this offerings makes it a great value. Well done!

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rick from United States with 30 ratings

This rum is great! Not much more expensive than the 12 year but it's worth it! Prefect balance of sweet and dry. I will be buying more of this soon!

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 10 ratings

Maybe I was a victim of high expectations, but to my palette this drinks much like the Three Sheets Barrel Aged. Maple comes through on the nose, as does a woodsy note - you can tell its spent some time in oak barrels. Has a nice, lingering finish, but IMO it lacks the complexity of the finer blends - I've come to think rums are like red wines in that their blends can assume an outcome greater than the sum of its parts. A perfectly fine rum that packaged beautifully and drinks fine neat, and like the TSBA, sings in a mai tai mix. But as it doesn't stand out much beyond the TSBA, it too gets an '8.'

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

I used the data base to help guide my purchaser of this rum and it leaves me wondering. While it does have a great nose, it does not finish well as I think it would for a 23yr. I thought that this would be a wonderful rum with a deceptive price point like Plantation 20th. Don't get me wrong, it's good. I was expecting more, however.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Brian Brix Kristensen from Denmark with 6 ratings

Does it ever get any better than this? I dare not give a 10 as I have yet to taste QRM 30 (and a lot other I expect to be in 10ish range) -so this one gets a 9

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

This has taken a place in the highest echelon of rums I own. Truly a fantastic rum. One of the first that flavors and smells are really jumping out in each nosing. I will be buying a few more bottles to put away. When people find out this is as good as it is it will be hard to find.