Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.3/10
232 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
6
9
29
63
93
29

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

232 Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Chris from United States with 10 ratings

I base this review from a person who really likes the K&S 18. The 18 is actually my wife's favorite rum. This is a good rum. The problem is it isn't better than the 18. It doesn't have the nose and is maybe less smooth. You have to deduct a point or 2 for that. If you like K&S, stick with the 18...

Ffffff

Posted 26 days ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 74 ratings

Hells bells! This be the best of the three Kirk & Sweeney rums I've had! The 12-year was great, the 18-year was even better, but the 23-year beats the two of them! She smells sweet, almost distractingly so, but that comes with hints of vanilla, smoke, cola, and unless I am mistook, dried fruits. On the tongue, she be SMOOTH with lots of vanilla. Not too sweet - not as sweet as she smells - but not dry. Aye, she have a great mouthfeel, and there be zero burn goin' down the hatch. On the finish, there be a hint of grassiness, and at the very end, just a tiny hint of the dried fruits. This be an outstandin' sippin' rum not to be mixed with anythin'. She be a bit on the pricey side, but she be worth every penny. Let me perish and rot if I be lyin'! arrgh!

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by mikethecactusguy56 from United States with 6 ratings

That much better than the 18 yr. Worth the extra bucks.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Azun_the_Wise from United States with 6 ratings

I just bought myself a bottle of this a few days ago, simply because it was a rum that is older than me by a year. I have only had one glass of it so far but I have to say I am very impressed. Comparing it directly to the 18 year version, the smell alone was significantly different and much less harsh on the nose. I am not an expert that can tell you all the different smells and flavors of the rum, but I can tell you that the smell was fantastic and the taste was even better, I had mine neat with about 15 minutes to breath in the freezer. There was a nice sweet flavor that and a very slow burn after taste in the throat. I will be buying more of this. Highly recommended

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by michael reid hunter (PREMIUM) from United States with 3 ratings

This is the perfect sipping rum, comparable to the Zacapa 23 but richer and a bit more fruity on the nose (the Zacapa can be compared to an old cognac!) and a round fruit nose (think orange and fig) on the way down. Astonishing and superb.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Pipestone from Slovakia with 39 ratings

I don’t like too much a dry harsh rum with an alcohol bite. But whisky/bourboun drinkers - this one is for them.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Rhoffer97 from United States with 38 ratings

Good, but I don't think great. Not much to smell, but strong on the tongue, not much sweetness. I could drink it all the time

Small 68a9712a 14dc 4f35 a9d6 c1ee29fb5d24

Posted 1 year ago by Rogo-zin from United States with 40 ratings

I became a big fan of the K and S 12 year recently. The 23 year has everything I like about the 12 year... except better! Same dark caramel color. A tad sweeter. But, the same velvety smoothness that makes it dangerously drinkable. This has easily become one of my favorites. Beware and enjoy!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by xCorporalx from Germany with 94 ratings

...one thing to start with, I love the bottle design!

The color is great and the smell of it bedazzled my senses, I quite enjoyed the rum *thumbs up*

Nice and soothing charakter, went right down to my bar again to have a second glass.

Let it rest for 5 minutes though to enfold.

9/10

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 80 ratings

For a $50 bottle of 23 year aged rum with an 8.4 rating I popped the cork on the neat looking bottle expecting greatness. The aromas came across as simple and underwhelming but that did not mean much because first aroma isn’t indicative of full taste. Alas when I took a sip the taste was the same as the aroma. I have since gone back for a second visit and the experience is the same. Compared to the sea of rums, it is not terrible and it is definitely drinkable, but it has nowhere near the complexity or smoothness demanded of an 8.4 rating. Zafra, Plantation XO, and Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva are all far, far superior in the same price range. I even find Barcelo Imperial superior to this...and that just should not be happening with a $50 bottle of 23 year aged rum.

*Update August 2020* This rum definitely doesn't come close to the good sipping rums in my cabinet, and so I have been using it to mix with. It is a great mixing rum that adds a nice round caramel taste to whatever you are making. For example, it is excellent in a Painkiller and adds a nice bit of character to that drink. Still...I am not about to drop $50 again for a mixing rum when there are other rums just as good to mix with for 1/3 the price.

Looking at older reviews, I am beginning to suspect that they may have gone "Zaya" and changed the process with this rum, but that's only a guess reading other's tasting notes and comparing them to mine.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 54 ratings

Vanilla, then caramel, then oak in a smooth rum with a mild bite. My favorite of this genre and one of my first reaches to sip neat.