Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.4/10 (207 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
8
29
54
86
26

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


207 Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

Any rating lower than a 9 for this rum is nonsense! It's a godsend...and King of the Agricoles!

Oak, vanilla, and caramel are the dominant flavors with hints of brown sugar, molasses and maple syrup. The nose is almost candy-like. It finishes like silk, smooth and luxurious with no bite at all and with a pleasant tobacco note. This is not a hot or spicy rum and despite its 23 years in a barrel the conspicuous tobacco note is not burnt or foul tasting, more like a very well maintained high quality cigar. It has a deep cherry wood color and a thick, rich body that sticks to the glass. This rum needs to breathe a bit before drinking, I say at least a half hour. The next day I chilled it in my freezer and it was amazing, more candy like.

This is a sipping rum and I know its not the smartest thing to do with a rum such as this but if you add it to Coke you'll have Vanilla Coke with a kick! I'll be buying this rum again next week... I'm glad to have taken this one off my wish list. For $42 a bottle this rum is actually under priced!

Edit: I've always said the best way to really get into a rum and discover its character is to get hammered off of it! I did that this weekend. I woke up and there was that beautiful tobacco note lingering in my nose and the taste of vanilla beans in my mouth. Then, three hours and two Gatorades later I got out of bed. Yes, this is a very fine rum...but it delivers a crippling hangover! Play with caution.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Rhoffer97 from United States with 11 ratings

Good, but I don't think great. Not much to smell, but strong on the tongue, not much sweetness. I could drink it all the time

Small 68a9712a 14dc 4f35 a9d6 c1ee29fb5d24

Posted 4 months ago by Rogo-zin from United States with 22 ratings

I became a big fan of the K and S 12 year recently. The 23 year has everything I like about the 12 year... except better! Same dark caramel color. A tad sweeter. But, the same velvety smoothness that makes it dangerously drinkable. This has easily become one of my favorites. Beware and enjoy!

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by xCorporalx from Germany with 86 ratings

...one thing to start with, I love the bottle design!

The color is great and the smell of it bedazzled my senses, I quite enjoyed the rum *thumbs up*

Nice and soothing charakter, went right down to my bar again to have a second glass.

Let it rest for 5 minutes though to enfold.

9/10

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 52 ratings

For a $50 bottle of 23 year aged rum with an 8.4 rating I popped the cork on the neat looking bottle expecting greatness. The aromas came across as simple and underwhelming but that did not mean much because first aroma isn’t indicative of full taste. Alas when I took a sip the taste was the same as the aroma. I have since gone back for a second visit and the experience is the same. Compared to the sea of rums, it is not terrible and it is definitely drinkable, but it has nowhere near the complexity or smoothness demanded of an 8.4 rating. Zafra, Plantation XO, and Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva are all far, far superior in the same price range. I even find Barcelo Imperial superior to this...and that just should not be happening with a $50 bottle of 23 year aged rum.

*Update August 2020* This rum definitely doesn't come close to the good sipping rums in my cabinet, and so I have been using it to mix with. It is a great mixing rum that adds a nice round caramel taste to whatever you are making. For example, it is excellent in a Painkiller and adds a nice bit of character to that drink. Still...I am not about to drop $50 again for a mixing rum when there are other rums just as good to mix with for 1/3 the price.

Looking at older reviews, I am beginning to suspect that they may have gone "Zaya" and changed the process with this rum, but that's only a guess reading other's tasting notes and comparing them to mine.

Nose: 6
Palate: 7
Aftertaste: 7
Smoothness: 8
Versatility: 8
Price: 5

Total: 6.8

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 48 ratings

Vanilla, then caramel, then oak in a smooth rum with a mild bite. My favorite of this genre and one of my first reaches to sip neat.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by torgo from United States with 12 ratings

This rum grew on me over time. With a bold age statement, I was hoping to love it instantly, but to be honest it didn't work that way.

It took time, and sipping, and patience, but after a few weeks and by the time the bottle was empty, I was sad to see it gone.

This rum is a little on the dry side, but it would be unfair to fault it for that, especially for the price point. I came to appreciate its light, pleasant caramel hints on the nose and lack of burn on the way down. Didn't find the palate to be lingering, which had me taking sip after sip. Near the end of the glass, subtle sweetness is detected without feeling like swigging sugar water. Despite my initial trepidation, I'm proud to call myself a fan

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Scott spencer from United States with 33 ratings

Nice rum just to sip on pour some over a little bit ice very good rum and
great value.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Easily approachable and exceptionally smooth. Lovely presentation (I don't want to know how much has been spent on marketing this product.) Will update if I get another chance to try it.

8-

Update 11/17: After tasting over a hundred more rums since my original rating, I re-tried another in this range, and it's got curiously strong vanilla notes. I'm wary. Also, what's up with everyone thinking this is an agricole? Citation needed…

7+

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by John frederick from United States with 44 ratings

Was looking forward to this having tried the 12 and loved it. The taste was beyond good, the reason I didn't give a 9 is that is had a more harsh finish than I would have expected, sipping it neat and rocks Guess what though, still finished the bottle. Found a local store selling it for $40, $7 less than I paid, so I'll be getting it again

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Peter from Hungary with 91 ratings

it was definitely on my wishlist, my friend managed to deliver it at last through www.whisky4you.eu

As we opened the bottle,we had high expectations.The rum is very hyped and not existent in shops in Europe.
First we thought we have a dram of a Quater-cask whisky,but not of a good kind. Bitter,almost not enjoyable.We thought it's a faulty batch,or the cork was maybe too old and too much air destroyed the aromas.
But we sought a 2.chance,fairly. So we let it breathe for a hour or so. And voilá- the horrible bitter oak vanished and a true great Dominican appeared. Caramel,molasses,christmas spice on the palete,the oaky bitterness was present but formed a good unity with the other aromas. So this is maybe the first rum i tasted which really changes a lot after breathing.The rating of 7 is because of the first disappointing experience,else it would be a strong 8
cheers