Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.3/10 (215 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
8
28
58
89
26

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

215 Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

Any rating lower than a 9 for this rum is nonsense! It's a godsend...and King of the Agricoles!

Oak, vanilla, and caramel are the dominant flavors with hints of brown sugar, molasses and maple syrup. The nose is almost candy-like. It finishes like silk, smooth and luxurious with no bite at all and with a pleasant tobacco note. This is not a hot or spicy rum and despite its 23 years in a barrel the conspicuous tobacco note is not burnt or foul tasting, more like a very well maintained high quality cigar. It has a deep cherry wood color and a thick, rich body that sticks to the glass. This rum needs to breathe a bit before drinking, I say at least a half hour. The next day I chilled it in my freezer and it was amazing, more candy like.

This is a sipping rum and I know its not the smartest thing to do with a rum such as this but if you add it to Coke you'll have Vanilla Coke with a kick! I'll be buying this rum again next week... I'm glad to have taken this one off my wish list. For $42 a bottle this rum is actually under priced!

Edit: I've always said the best way to really get into a rum and discover its character is to get hammered off of it! I did that this weekend. I woke up and there was that beautiful tobacco note lingering in my nose and the taste of vanilla beans in my mouth. Then, three hours and two Gatorades later I got out of bed. Yes, this is a very fine rum...but it delivers a crippling hangover! Play with caution.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Kurt Lauerman from United States with 41 ratings

I like this rum for sipping neat, but it is very smooth and sweet. I would be surprised if there was not added sugar. That being said, I don't mind the sweetness, it makes it more palatable and quite refreshing. You can taste a bit of barrel and smoke, but I would not be surprised to find out that not all the rum in this bottle is 23 years old.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by AJ from United States with 14 ratings

When I had my first sip I thought I had peeled a banana! The banana fragrance hit me immediately followed by caramel and vanilla. A bit of coffee comes through a little later. This is an exceptional rum and for a rum over 18 years it's tough to beat....especially for the price....around $55. This rum actually opens up twenty minutes after pouring. I'm giving this a 9 ..., although if looking at it solely from a price point...it would be a 10. Why not a 10? Because the El Dorado 21 is a true 10 and I cannot give this the same perfect score. Nevertheless it's outstanding.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

molasses. dry!
i smell carmaell, toffee and much vanilla! spicy notes of pepper and ginger!
i taste vanilla, some coffee, some caramell and cherry and marzipan. maybe some tobacco elements. smooth and silk. full body, supersoft.
8/10 - sutract 5 points if sweet rum is heaven!
in the end you´ll get a dry rum with bold notes and a soft, creamy body. for me its too soft and faceless. i prefer the 18y.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by DLK601 from United States with 11 ratings

I haven't tried much higher end stuff, probably 20 different ones including the K&S 12, so far this is my absolute favorite with the 12 being #2. This Rum has by far the heaviest carmel tones of any rum I have tried.

Price is weighed lightly in my rating. I paid $50 for a 750ml bottle

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Klaus from Germany with 61 ratings

Sehr mild, weich und leicht, nicht aufdringlich. Am Anfang deutlich frisches Aroma, Orangenduft, dann leichte Schärfe, nicht zu süß. Etwas bittere Note, hat dadurch eigenen Charakter. Kein Mainstream-Rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Bob D from United States with 10 ratings

This is the smoothest and most refreshing Rum I have had in a long time
No bit and a great vanilla finish

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Akzme2 from United States with 5 ratings

The nose of this rum is incredible, absolutely wonderful. Very smooth and just the right amount of sweetness. Lovely!!

Small screenshot 20201129 112551 gallery

Posted 4 years ago by Lawson from United States with 64 ratings

To me this is a dark and brooding rum. On the nose and palate I get a lot the the nutty, earthy aromas and very little of the vanilla and fruit aromas others experience. It is very good though and is not syrupy or sweet in the least. I look forward to enjoying this more in the future.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Kristoffer O from Sweden with 17 ratings

Puffs of sweeted Coffee, cocoa beans and a quite pleasant sweetness. Nice dram!

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

Nu ma asteptam sa fie atat de bun, are o finete aparte. Este unul din romurile cel mai bine echilibrate din cate am baut.