Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.2/10 (172 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
7
19
63
68
10

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


172 Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 220 ratings

Less apricot more wood in here.
I loved the balance of wood with apricot from the 12y. That's why I prefer the 12 years old.
But still, this is a good rum and more complex than the 12y, a logical continuation. But if you like the aroma of the old celar like I do, don't miss the 12y old.

Smell: wood, some barrel, a hint of vanilla, caramel, apricot, sherry (or something sweet), dry fruits
Taste: dry fruit, some vanilla, some caramel, some oak and apricot, some bitterness. Aftertaste of sherry.

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Spice: 2/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Value (40€): 3.5/5

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

One of the best smelling rums I've had. Very sweet smell of butterscotch and vanilla. Not overbearing or heavy, just sweet and delicious. The first taste starts with a subtle essence of sweetness that is quickly followed by a distinctive agricole flavor of vegetable and grass. The finish is a nice caramel flavor that matches the aroma but accompanied by a sharp but short burn. Not my style of rum but I found myself continuing to sip it to experience the unique sweet and harsh flavor. Clearly a quality rum. The aroma alone will have me pouring another glass.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Kirk & Sweeney 12 year rum was one of the earlier premium rums I sampled on RumRatings. Less than a month after that I found a bottle of K&S 23 and rated it as well. Since then I've educated myself somewhat on rums and have K&S as one of my favorite brands. All three in the K&S line get a "9" from me. This one is simply delicious. Wonderful aroma. Beautiful amber color. And a outstanding flavor with vanilla, toffee, and even a butteriness to it. Very, very smooth with no harsh burn. Just a mellow warmth with oak tones that add no bitterness.

One day...perhaps soon...I'm going to line all three up and sip a little of each in order (12, 18, 23) just to see the differences between them. I'll try to remember to add to my reviews what I find. IMHO you cannot go wrong with any of the K&S rums.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I was super impressed by the Kirk & Sweeney 12 Year Rum, so I bought their 18 and 23 year rums. Those are even better! What's more impressive is that they are both primarily based on sugarcane (agricole), which I've never cared that much for before these. The 18 is pretty close to the 23 in taste; in fact they're almost equal. The 18 is just a bit sweeter, while the 23 tastes just a bit more aged (much like the difference between the El Dorado 15 and 21). I like both sweet and aged, so I'm torn between the two. I'll give the 18 a very slight edge over the 23, just like I give the ED 15 a very slight edge over the ED21. But I definitely believe they are both very good. Vanilla, sugarcane, caramel, nutmeg, oak, and just a hint of sherry. The nose is incredible. You've GOT to try this!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by JCarter from United States with 27 ratings

Got this for Christmas and everything about this was wonderful. The bottle itself is just a great piece of art

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Fred Ramey from United States with 28 ratings

This is an amazing rum. The 18 year is sweeter, fruitier, and smoother going down than the 12 year which is itself an amazing rum. I love the taste this leaves on my lips after a sip. Not a mixer, don't waste this rum like that.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jason from United States with 13 ratings

The nose starts of with a rich butterscotch aroma. Followed with a buttery and floral smell. First sip has a touch of heat but that mellows quickly. The mouth feel is velvety and rich. Sampling between the 12, 18 and 23 year rums..the 18 is the sweet spot. I highly recommend.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Crissk1 from United States with 1 rating

Medium to dark color with a sweet aroma and Smooth finish. So far it’s my new favorite!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 302 ratings

Úvodem trocha převzatého povídání okolo této značky:
"Kirk and Sweeney" byl název dřevěného škuneru, který byl vyhlášený v pašování rumu z karibské oblasti do Spojených států během prvních let Velké Prohibice v USA. Obvykle těsně předtím, než vplul do vod Spojených států, škuner Kirk and Sweeney zakotvil na tzv. „Rum Line“ (okraji vod spadajících do jurisdikce USA) a prodával rum menším lodím, které zastavily po jeho boku Menší lodě byly rychlejší a ovladatelnější než flotila pobřežní stráže a pašovaly pak rum na břeh. Legendárnímu škuneru se stal osudný rok 1924, kdy byl pobřežní stráží zajat s velkou nakládkou skvělého karibského rumu, poté přejmenován na „Chase“ a až do pozdních 40.let sloužil potřebám US Coast Guard.
Rum je vyráběný z té nejlepší, ručně sklízené čerstvé cukrové třtiny v malých šaržích a zraje v amerických dubových sudech minimálně po dobu vyznačenou na láhvi, tedy celých 18 let (nejedná se tedy o typičtější metodu Solera).
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Dominikánská republika
Aroma: Kůže, nasládlé koření, kapky proti kašli, skořice, hřebíček, lékořice, včelí plástve. Aroma není zrovna mohutné, vůně mi přijde trochu uzavřená. (85 b)
Chuť: Vcelku suchý, hodně vystupuje broušená kůže, trocha koření, hřebíček, včelí plástve. V dochuti větrovost, dřevo a tmavá čokoláda. (87 b)
Body: 86/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnán vzorek koupený v českolipském baru Egypt. Příjemný rum, pohodový, relaxační. Doma mám lahev jeho dvanáctiletého stájového kolegy.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by M from United States with 30 ratings

Well-aged rum trace on the nose — brown sugar, vanilla, and some chocolate/coffee overtones. The body starts things off in that direction, then takes an interesting twist toward some curious red wine notes. The coffee trace builds as the finish grows, along with some leather notes and a bit of dense sweetness, almost Port-like as it mingles with that wine-like character. Austere and worthwhile.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Philip carlsen from Denmark with 1 rating

Love This rum, among a favorit now. Super tasty flavor, slightly smokey edge