Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year rum

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


153 Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

One of the best smelling rums I've had. Very sweet smell of butterscotch and vanilla. Not overbearing or heavy, just sweet and delicious. The first taste starts with a subtle essence of sweetness that is quickly followed by a distinctive agricole flavor of vegetable and grass. The finish is a nice caramel flavor that matches the aroma but accompanied by a sharp but short burn. Not my style of rum but I found myself continuing to sip it to experience the unique sweet and harsh flavor. Clearly a quality rum. The aroma alone will have me pouring another glass.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Kirk & Sweeney 12 year rum was one of the earlier premium rums I sampled on RumRatings. Less than a month after that I found a bottle of K&S 23 and rated it as well. Since then I've educated myself somewhat on rums and have K&S as one of my favorite brands. All three in the K&S line get a "9" from me. This one is simply delicious. Wonderful aroma. Beautiful amber color. And a outstanding flavor with vanilla, toffee, and even a butteriness to it. Very, very smooth with no harsh burn. Just a mellow warmth with oak tones that add no bitterness.

One day...perhaps soon...I'm going to line all three up and sip a little of each in order (12, 18, 23) just to see the differences between them. I'll try to remember to add to my reviews what I find. IMHO you cannot go wrong with any of the K&S rums.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I was super impressed by the Kirk & Sweeney 12 Year Rum, so I bought their 18 and 23 year rums. Those are even better! What's more impressive is that they are both primarily based on sugarcane (agricole), which I've never cared that much for before these. The 18 is pretty close to the 23 in taste; in fact they're almost equal. The 18 is just a bit sweeter, while the 23 tastes just a bit more aged (much like the difference between the El Dorado 15 and 21). I like both sweet and aged, so I'm torn between the two. I'll give the 18 a very slight edge over the 23, just like I give the ED 15 a very slight edge over the ED21. But I definitely believe they are both very good. Vanilla, sugarcane, caramel, nutmeg, oak, and just a hint of sherry. The nose is incredible. You've GOT to try this!

Posted about 4 years ago by JCarter from United States with 27 ratings

Got this for Christmas and everything about this was wonderful. The bottle itself is just a great piece of art

Posted over 3 years ago by Fred Ramey from United States with 28 ratings

This is an amazing rum. The 18 year is sweeter, fruitier, and smoother going down than the 12 year which is itself an amazing rum. I love the taste this leaves on my lips after a sip. Not a mixer, don't waste this rum like that.

Posted about 2 years ago by Jason from United States with 13 ratings

The nose starts of with a rich butterscotch aroma. Followed with a buttery and floral smell. First sip has a touch of heat but that mellows quickly. The mouth feel is velvety and rich. Sampling between the 12, 18 and 23 year rums..the 18 is the sweet spot. I highly recommend.

Posted over 2 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Úvodem trocha převzatého povídání okolo této značky:
"Kirk and Sweeney" byl název dřevěného škuneru, který byl vyhlášený v pašování rumu z karibské oblasti do Spojených států během prvních let Velké Prohibice v USA. Obvykle těsně předtím, než vplul do vod Spojených států, škuner Kirk and Sweeney zakotvil na tzv. „Rum Line“ (okraji vod spadajících do jurisdikce USA) a prodával rum menším lodím, které zastavily po jeho boku Menší lodě byly rychlejší a ovladatelnější než flotila pobřežní stráže a pašovaly pak rum na břeh. Legendárnímu škuneru se stal osudný rok 1924, kdy byl pobřežní stráží zajat s velkou nakládkou skvělého karibského rumu, poté přejmenován na „Chase“ a až do pozdních 40.let sloužil potřebám US Coast Guard.
Rum je vyráběný z té nejlepší, ručně sklízené čerstvé cukrové třtiny v malých šaržích a zraje v amerických dubových sudech minimálně po dobu vyznačenou na láhvi, tedy celých 18 let (nejedná se tedy o typičtější metodu Solera).
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Dominikánská republika
Aroma: Kůže, nasládlé koření, kapky proti kašli, skořice, hřebíček, lékořice, včelí plástve. Aroma není zrovna mohutné, vůně mi přijde trochu uzavřená. (85 b)
Chuť: Vcelku suchý, hodně vystupuje broušená kůže, trocha koření, hřebíček, včelí plástve. V dochuti větrovost, dřevo a tmavá čokoláda. (87 b)
Body: 86/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnán vzorek koupený v českolipském baru Egypt. Příjemný rum, pohodový, relaxační. Doma mám lahev jeho dvanáctiletého stájového kolegy.

Posted over 2 years ago by M from United States with 30 ratings

Well-aged rum trace on the nose — brown sugar, vanilla, and some chocolate/coffee overtones. The body starts things off in that direction, then takes an interesting twist toward some curious red wine notes. The coffee trace builds as the finish grows, along with some leather notes and a bit of dense sweetness, almost Port-like as it mingles with that wine-like character. Austere and worthwhile.

Posted over 3 years ago by Philip carlsen from Denmark with 1 rating

Love This rum, among a favorit now. Super tasty flavor, slightly smokey edge

Posted over 3 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

The smell is amazing. Vanilla ! The taste is vanilla and caramel. Very nice!

Posted over 2 years ago by Adam from Poland with 86 ratings

I wanted to try that rum many months. When I bought celebrate opening and drinking...and....I felt disappointment. Ok - good balance, smooth...but...nothing special for me. Light vanilla in nose, woody but taste....nothing special....really nothing to remember...hmmm maybe I was expected something great...maybe that's my fault...obviously I need to try one more bottle. Then I can update info.

Posted over 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 2 to 5 GPL.
Having tried all 3 of the Kirk & Sweeney aged rums, I have come to the conclusion that the judging of the 18 & 23 year old rums is pretty much a tie game. Tastes and aroma of Molasses, pecans, caramel or butterscotch, and plums, are present in this rum as well as the 23 year old. Both have the good vanilla oak taste, touch of sweetness, and a nice smoothness from aging, but I am leaning towards giving the nod to this one. Both are a good value for the price and worth having in the collection.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Adam Michael Wood from United States with 1 rating

This is everything I like in rum. It's sweet, but not sugary. It has an alcohol burn, but is pretty damn smooth. The aroma is incredible.

My first thought of the scent was maple syrup, but the more I drink it the more I think butterscotch is a better description. The taste is excellent - full and well-balanced. A bit like brandy. Not fruity.

I usually drink rum on the rocks, and frequently with lime. I haven't been able to bring myself to do either with this.

Additionally, I think it's really great relative to its price point. The other rums I've had that were this good were a lot more expensive.

Posted about 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

Once again, anything less than a 9 for this rum is unconscionable! It is just as good as the 23 with some small differences. This one is a little less sweet, a little less oaked, and has a tiny bit of a dryer almond taste. Other than that, its pretty much the same review I wrote for the 23. Next stop, the 12 year. Yeah, I did this one totally backwards...

Posted about 4 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

Mmm... Burnt sugar, brown butter and caramel right away. Drifting away quickly as well and leaving a semi-dry briny finish.

Posted about 4 years ago by Chris from United States with 10 ratings

We tried this because my wife liked the K & S 12 year. I thought this was even better and so did she.

There is a very strong aroma of vanilla in this rum. One of the strongest scents of any rum I have ever had. You can smell it as soon as you open the bottle. The rum is very smooth and you have a hint of vanilla in the taste. Very good sipper.

I drink it on the rocks with with one ice cube,.

Posted about 3 hours ago by Robert from United States with 54 ratings

I really love Kirk and Sweeney 12 year and this is just as good. Vanilla, caramel, and oak flavors with a very slight burn. I can't wait to try the 23 year next.

Posted 5 days ago by Bremgartner from United States with 1 rating

Carmel and vanilla. Letting it sit for a bit mellows the flavor. No harsh tones.

Posted 7 days ago by Zamfymad from Romania with 11 ratings

I love the balance of this one, I can drink it over and over again. I'll definitely add it to my favorites list. I love the butterscotch aroma, some vanilla and caramel flavor, but nothing too strong, everything is well balanced.

Posted 23 days ago by chriscathcart (PREMIUM) from Canada with 14 ratings

I think this one will grow on me
Cool bottle and good taste
Will update
2nd taste is better
Yummie

Posted about 1 month ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

Love This rum, among a favorit now. Super tasty flavor, slightly smokey edge

Posted about 1 month ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

Not much separates this 18 year old from the 23. It is a quality rum with a lot going on. Complex yet balanced. A little more molasses than the 23 and some subtle cinnamon notes. Some smoke notes. Alcohol bite not quite as smooth as the 23 but very nice. Still has that nice finish. Genuinely great. You can’t go wrong with either. To me the 23 year old is a 9 and this 18 year old is 8.6.

Posted about 1 month ago by tare97 from Canada with 5 ratings

You want a rum that shows off 18 years of age? This is it. The Kirk and Sweeney rums are a delight. The balance and longevity of this rum are a real treat. Don't hesitate buying this one if you find a good price point as you won't be disappointed.

Posted about 1 month ago by Pollux from Canada with 116 ratings

À mon goût, il est meilleur et moins dispendieux que le K&S 23 ans.




#