Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.2/10
191 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
8
22
70
74
12

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

191 Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Brian from United States with 11 ratings

A smooth, easy drinking rum at a great price that builds upon the 12 yr. For just a few dollars more there is another level of flavor and smoothness. Hard to pass up and gives the 23 a run for the money.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Spinelli Cataldo from Italy with 27 ratings

By the nose i can found a delicate citrus fruit. Smooth and elegant

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Hefron from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Podle mě jeden z nejlepších rumů. Výborně vyvážený. Jemný po chuti, lehce nasládlý, ve vůni dominuje vanilka, tropické ovoce a oříšky s lehkým nádechem do mandlí. Po polknutí lehounce zahřeje v hrdle.
Nemám co dodat je to špičkový rum a jeden z mých favoritů.

Small 68a9712a 14dc 4f35 a9d6 c1ee29fb5d24

Posted 7 months ago by Rogo-zin from United States with 34 ratings

Great rum! Outstanding. However, I do enjoy the 12 and 23 year versions from K and S more. This one seemed to have a slightly astringent aftertaste that I don’t care for. I’m splitting hairs, but that’s what drops this to a 7 for me.
The 23 year is untouched as my favorite rum overall thus far.

Update: After letting this rum rest for a half hour or so, the astringent aftertaste dissipated and some of the initially hidden caramel and vanilla notes came out. Updating my score to an 8. This now nudges out the 12 year.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 59 ratings

Avast! Another fine rum from the same family! Compared to her 12 year-old sister, this rum also has a same sweet smell about her with sugar, vanilla, caramel, and a hint of chocolate/coffee. As taste goes, she be less sweet than she smells. Not dry, but less sweet than her younger sister. Same flavors are on board, except for the chocolate/coffee which seemed to vanish like a ghost ship. A little bit of fire, and a bit of burn, but smooth! Aye, this definitely be a more mature rum, with a much better body than her younger sister [wink]. Both gals be outstandin' and more than welcome to fight each other to see who can best curry my favor. arrrgh!

Small 119640125 3345154145597737 3800166650373659173 n

Posted 8 months ago by Rare Animal from Germany with 20 ratings

When it comes to the perfect every day sipper, the Kirk And Sweeney 18yo is my first choice. It's not very complex but smooth and sweet. Vanilla and butterscotch comes to nose and palate and there's little or none alcoholic burn. This is perfect for beginners.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Carl from United States with 25 ratings

This was the clear winner in a blind taste with kaniche perfeccion, Zafra 21, and Santa Teresa 1796. Would love to see if this beats my favorite, Plantation XO

Small 20201229 185402

Posted 8 months ago by Christian from Luxembourg with 25 ratings

On a weeks stay in a hotel, this was the best rum I discovered during that period. A full bodied sipper. It asked for more..but didn't want to get drunk ;-)

Small img 1323

Posted 8 months ago by Simson from Czech Republic with 49 ratings

It is at least 18 years old Dominican rum aged in ex-bourbon oak barrels. So it's not a solera.
The bottle has a nice chubby shape and each has its own number on the leaf on the neck. The cap is cork.
Color: It is dark amber and no colouring should be used.
Aroma: Vanilla dominates here. The smell is sweet, but from the beginning you can also feel a slight alcohol. I also smelled unsweetened creme brulle and almonds. At the end, the woody tones of oak are also visible.
Taste: Vanilla predominates in the taste. It is very soft and naturally slightly sweet. But K&S 18 is more of a drier rum. After drinking on the palate and on the tongue, it heats up, but does not burn. The end is slightly bitter.
Aftertaste: Medium long, fine dryness on the palate.
Dos Maderas 5 + 5 reminds me the most in taste, but Maderas is a bit sweeter. K&S 18 is again finer. This is a very recommended piece.

Overall rating: 8 of 10

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by hrh from Bulgaria with 26 ratings

It is a cognac-like aroma with a vanilla flavour before the solid body and a bit sweetness at the end.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 442 ratings

Nice and gentle vanilla aroma. Taste is complex with butter, cognac, vanilla and toffee. Aftertaste is average but pleasant.