Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.2/10
190 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
8
20
71
74
12

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

190 Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Brian from United States with 11 ratings

A smooth, easy drinking rum at a great price that builds upon the 12 yr. For just a few dollars more there is another level of flavor and smoothness. Hard to pass up and gives the 23 a run for the money.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Adam Michael Wood from United States with 1 rating

This is everything I like in rum. It's sweet, but not sugary. It has an alcohol burn, but is pretty damn smooth. The aroma is incredible.

My first thought of the scent was maple syrup, but the more I drink it the more I think butterscotch is a better description. The taste is excellent - full and well-balanced. A bit like brandy. Not fruity.

I usually drink rum on the rocks, and frequently with lime. I haven't been able to bring myself to do either with this.

Additionally, I think it's really great relative to its price point. The other rums I've had that were this good were a lot more expensive.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

Once again, anything less than a 9 for this rum is unconscionable! It is just as good as the 23 with some small differences. This one is a little less sweet, a little less oaked, and has a tiny bit of a dryer almond taste. Other than that, its pretty much the same review I wrote for the 23. Next stop, the 12 year. Yeah, I did this one totally backwards...

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

Mmm... Burnt sugar, brown butter and caramel right away. Drifting away quickly as well and leaving a semi-dry briny finish.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Chris from United States with 10 ratings

We tried this because my wife liked the K & S 12 year. I thought this was even better and so did she.

There is a very strong aroma of vanilla in this rum. One of the strongest scents of any rum I have ever had. You can smell it as soon as you open the bottle. The rum is very smooth and you have a hint of vanilla in the taste. Very good sipper.

I drink it on the rocks with with one ice cube,.

Ffffff

Posted 5 hours ago by marcosinho from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

I gotta do 10/10! I purchased this one on recommendations, and I was really surprised by its slightly sugar taste, but it is OK even for drinkers who like dryer rums. Very nice aroma of vanilla and honey.

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by František Pavelka from Czech Republic with 46 ratings

Při poměrně opatrné vůni rum rozvíjí svou kořeněnou chuť dominují ovocné bobule s trochou pepřové ostrosti notu až po určité době na jazyku, ale zůstává mírný. Musíte dát rumu čas, pak vás potěší lahodnými nuancemi a má dlouhotrvající účinek.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Rsvec from Austria with 80 ratings

GOOD middle of the road rum. Quite mild - little oak

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by TY from Austria with 64 ratings

Rotbraune Farbe.
Vanillenoten in der Nase.
Dezente Süße. Fruchtig, feinwürzig.
Komplex.
Weich, rund und mit gutem Körper.
Ausgedehnter Abgang.
Süffig. Sehr guter Sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Krille_8000 from Sweden with 48 ratings

They state this one is an agricole from Dominican Republic. Well, it sure got some of that in it. Taste and nosewise it's the imagination takes me to a mix of agricole and molasses rum. Well thats just my imagination.
Nevertheless, this is a very special rum. Lot's of vanilla and oak with some dry tones. Very interesting. Im intrigued to buy the 23 yo.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by DGarfield from United States with 13 ratings

I was looking forward to this rum based on the reviews but I found it to be extremely sweet with a very strong vanilla flavor that I usually didn’t want to drink straight. For some that may be perfect but for me, it wasn’t ideal. I did find that this was an amazing mix with Grand Marnier for a ‘Creamsickle’ drink.