Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.2/10
203 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
10
22
72
81
13

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

203 Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ric Mims from United States with 20 ratings

Out of the three the 18 yr is the standard for me. It has the perfect balance, nothing overbearing like many with molasses. I highly recommend it!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Daniel.delvalle from United States with 19 ratings

A friend of mine introduced me to this. Very hard to come by where I live. I was very happy with the flavor. As another review states that has sort of a butterscotch taste to it. Very smooth, no bite or after taste to it, and sweet going down. Excellent for sipping by an open fire with friends. This rum is not for mixing it should only be drank on the rocks or neat.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2841 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of Kirk & Sweeney 18y while vacationing in Amsterdam. This is the best of the Kirk & Sweeney range. The 23y is just nasty and the 12y is too young. This 18y comes in an identical very thick bottle, so points for that one. Label design is blah. Color is deep amber. Strong chocolate and banana flavors are both to the nose and palate. Some burn at the end, not too bad.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Peter from Slovakia with 74 ratings

ocakavania velke a chvalabohu splnene. pil som starsieho brata, ktory milo prekvapil a rodinka kirk and sweeney ma stale neprestava tesit. rum je jemny, chutovo trochu menej vyrazny ako 23y ale zato je miene sladsi, ale iba mierne. nieje to uplne suchy rum, no rozhodne ani nie sladky tak ako ich pozname. vo voni mi najviac preraza karamel a werthers original :-))). sladka vona, velmi prijemna. alkohol je velmi prijemny aj vo voni a vobec neudiera do nosu. ale tie werthers su tam neskutocne citit. ta voni sa objavuje aj v chuti. cukriky sa pretlacili aj do nej. mliecny karamel je tam zastupeny uplne najviac, aj v dozvuku. potom karamel a drevo citit iba lahko, aj to iba v tele. pokial sa tento rum iba srka, tak alkohol nieje ani tema, lahko zahreje neskriabe. plnsie dusky su zaujimavejsie, viac ovocia v chuty prijemne doplnene alkoholom ktory vsak ani pri vacsich duskoch neskriabe. kto nieje na moderne sladke rumy ale chce skusit aj nieco s charakterom je toto vyborna volba. ten usaty dedko tam je furt :-). 9,25/10. u trochu mi viac sedi ako 23y ktora je tiez neskutocny rum

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Adam from Poland with 97 ratings

I wanted to try that rum many months. When I bought celebrate opening and drinking...and....I felt disappointment. Ok - good balance, smooth...but...nothing special for me. Light vanilla in nose, woody but taste....nothing special....really nothing to remember...hmmm maybe I was expected something great...maybe that's my fault...obviously I need to try one more bottle. Then I can update info.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Moberg from Germany with 10 ratings

After reading the Ratings, I'd like to buy Kirk&Sweeney 23 years, but it was sold out. So I took the 18 years. Believe me or not, I was quiet dissapointed. A bunch of vanilla in a wooden cask. And it burns rather badly. Nevertheless, I will try the 23 years one.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Adam Michael Wood from United States with 1 rating

This is everything I like in rum. It's sweet, but not sugary. It has an alcohol burn, but is pretty damn smooth. The aroma is incredible.

My first thought of the scent was maple syrup, but the more I drink it the more I think butterscotch is a better description. The taste is excellent - full and well-balanced. A bit like brandy. Not fruity.

I usually drink rum on the rocks, and frequently with lime. I haven't been able to bring myself to do either with this.

Additionally, I think it's really great relative to its price point. The other rums I've had that were this good were a lot more expensive.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

Once again, anything less than a 9 for this rum is unconscionable! It is just as good as the 23 with some small differences. This one is a little less sweet, a little less oaked, and has a tiny bit of a dryer almond taste. Other than that, its pretty much the same review I wrote for the 23. Next stop, the 12 year. Yeah, I did this one totally backwards...

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris from United States with 10 ratings

We tried this because my wife liked the K & S 12 year. I thought this was even better and so did she.

There is a very strong aroma of vanilla in this rum. One of the strongest scents of any rum I have ever had. You can smell it as soon as you open the bottle. The rum is very smooth and you have a hint of vanilla in the taste. Very good sipper.

I drink it on the rocks with with one ice cube,.

Ffffff

Posted 8 days ago by Midar from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

Je to bezesporu výborný rum, ale něco mi tak u každé druhé sklenky trosku vadilo. Voní po vanilce, sušeném ovoci a snad i javorovým sirupu. Chuť je oproti vůni méně sladká a i korenena. Závěr je příjemné hrejivy

Ffffff

Posted 16 days ago by Amcclendon93 from United States with 2 ratings

I picked up the 12 year on my first trip and it was so good that I ended up going back to get this 18 year. This is a wonderful rum that is sweet, but not overpoweringly so and goes down super smooth.