Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.2/10
190 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
8
20
71
74
12

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

190 Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Brian from United States with 11 ratings

A smooth, easy drinking rum at a great price that builds upon the 12 yr. For just a few dollars more there is another level of flavor and smoothness. Hard to pass up and gives the 23 a run for the money.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

The smell is amazing. Vanilla ! The taste is vanilla and caramel. Very nice!

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 2 to 5 GPL.
Having tried all 3 of the Kirk & Sweeney aged rums, I have come to the conclusion that the judging of the 18 & 23 year old rums is pretty much a tie game. Tastes and aroma of Molasses, pecans, caramel or butterscotch, and plums, are present in this rum as well as the 23 year old. Both have the good vanilla oak taste, touch of sweetness, and a nice smoothness from aging, but I am leaning towards giving the nod to this one. Both are a good value for the price and worth having in the collection.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by AC from United States with 35 ratings

Nice drink, strong vanilla flavors from the first swig. Smooth and tasty.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Toni (PREMIUM) from Germany with 8 ratings

Because I had a small tasting bottle. I'm kinda dissapointed. It wasn't a bad experience but I'm not amazed also. To short to be sure. A lot of vanilla and butterscotch at my nose. Very woody at the palate... Not very complex. I hope i will have a second chance with this one.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by MrMike from United States with 1 rating

I'm new to tasting fine liquors but I loved this one.. To me.. A rookie.. I recognized the vanilla notes. It was followed by sweet cream and finished with an almost cherry nutmeg combination. Wonderful.. This is the first liquor that I loved the oak and was able to clearly recognize it. :)

I typically taste a couple ounces maybe twice a month. This is such a delicious rum.. And it's election night.. Work tomorrow.. Temptation is brewing.. 3 ounces won't kill me :)

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Daniel.delvalle from United States with 19 ratings

A friend of mine introduced me to this. Very hard to come by where I live. I was very happy with the flavor. As another review states that has sort of a butterscotch taste to it. Very smooth, no bite or after taste to it, and sweet going down. Excellent for sipping by an open fire with friends. This rum is not for mixing it should only be drank on the rocks or neat.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2727 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of Kirk & Sweeney 18y while vacationing in Amsterdam. This is the best of the Kirk & Sweeney range. The 23y is just nasty and the 12y is too young. This 18y comes in an identical very thick bottle, so points for that one. Label design is blah. Color is deep amber. Strong chocolate and banana flavors are both to the nose and palate. Some burn at the end, not too bad.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Peter from Slovakia with 74 ratings

ocakavania velke a chvalabohu splnene. pil som starsieho brata, ktory milo prekvapil a rodinka kirk and sweeney ma stale neprestava tesit. rum je jemny, chutovo trochu menej vyrazny ako 23y ale zato je miene sladsi, ale iba mierne. nieje to uplne suchy rum, no rozhodne ani nie sladky tak ako ich pozname. vo voni mi najviac preraza karamel a werthers original :-))). sladka vona, velmi prijemna. alkohol je velmi prijemny aj vo voni a vobec neudiera do nosu. ale tie werthers su tam neskutocne citit. ta voni sa objavuje aj v chuti. cukriky sa pretlacili aj do nej. mliecny karamel je tam zastupeny uplne najviac, aj v dozvuku. potom karamel a drevo citit iba lahko, aj to iba v tele. pokial sa tento rum iba srka, tak alkohol nieje ani tema, lahko zahreje neskriabe. plnsie dusky su zaujimavejsie, viac ovocia v chuty prijemne doplnene alkoholom ktory vsak ani pri vacsich duskoch neskriabe. kto nieje na moderne sladke rumy ale chce skusit aj nieco s charakterom je toto vyborna volba. ten usaty dedko tam je furt :-). 9,25/10. u trochu mi viac sedi ako 23y ktora je tiez neskutocny rum

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Adam from Poland with 91 ratings

I wanted to try that rum many months. When I bought celebrate opening and drinking...and....I felt disappointment. Ok - good balance, smooth...but...nothing special for me. Light vanilla in nose, woody but taste....nothing special....really nothing to remember...hmmm maybe I was expected something great...maybe that's my fault...obviously I need to try one more bottle. Then I can update info.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Moberg from Germany with 9 ratings

After reading the Ratings, I'd like to buy Kirk&Sweeney 23 years, but it was sold out. So I took the 18 years. Believe me or not, I was quiet dissapointed. A bunch of vanilla in a wooden cask. And it burns rather badly. Nevertheless, I will try the 23 years one.