Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.2/10
203 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
10
22
72
81
13

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

203 Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ric Mims from United States with 20 ratings

Out of the three the 18 yr is the standard for me. It has the perfect balance, nothing overbearing like many with molasses. I highly recommend it!

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by M from United States with 30 ratings

Well-aged rum trace on the nose — brown sugar, vanilla, and some chocolate/coffee overtones. The body starts things off in that direction, then takes an interesting twist toward some curious red wine notes. The coffee trace builds as the finish grows, along with some leather notes and a bit of dense sweetness, almost Port-like as it mingles with that wine-like character. Austere and worthwhile.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Philip carlsen from Denmark with 1 rating

Love This rum, among a favorit now. Super tasty flavor, slightly smokey edge

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

The smell is amazing. Vanilla ! The taste is vanilla and caramel. Very nice!

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted almost 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 2 to 5 GPL.
Having tried all 3 of the Kirk & Sweeney aged rums, I have come to the conclusion that the judging of the 18 & 23 year old rums is pretty much a tie game. Tastes and aroma of Molasses, pecans, caramel or butterscotch, and plums, are present in this rum as well as the 23 year old. Both have the good vanilla oak taste, touch of sweetness, and a nice smoothness from aging, but I am leaning towards giving the nod to this one. Both are a good value for the price and worth having in the collection.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

Mmm... Burnt sugar, brown butter and caramel right away. Drifting away quickly as well and leaving a semi-dry briny finish.

Ffffff

Posted 14 days ago by Sroyer985 from Canada with 2 ratings

One of the best rum I ever tasted, great taste and price

Ffffff

Posted 29 days ago by randycous (PREMIUM) from United States with 34 ratings

Found a quality liquor store in Portland, ME, Bow Street Beverage. Found this on their shelf and enjoyed it for a week in Acadia. Came home no compared to 23 year. I enjoyed the 18 year, but the 23 year is worth the extra. 18 year lacks the complexity.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by mikethecactusguy56 from United States with 6 ratings

Simple review. A big step above the 12 year. The end bite of the 12 year is gone.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by AC from United States with 44 ratings

Nice drink, strong vanilla flavors from the first swig. Smooth and tasty.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by MrMike from United States with 1 rating

I'm new to tasting fine liquors but I loved this one.. To me.. A rookie.. I recognized the vanilla notes. It was followed by sweet cream and finished with an almost cherry nutmeg combination. Wonderful.. This is the first liquor that I loved the oak and was able to clearly recognize it. :)

I typically taste a couple ounces maybe twice a month. This is such a delicious rum.. And it's election night.. Work tomorrow.. Temptation is brewing.. 3 ounces won't kill me :)