Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.2/10
190 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
8
20
71
74
12

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

190 Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Brian from United States with 11 ratings

A smooth, easy drinking rum at a great price that builds upon the 12 yr. For just a few dollars more there is another level of flavor and smoothness. Hard to pass up and gives the 23 a run for the money.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by NicoB from Sweden with 29 ratings

Smells great and tastes great. God bless the Rum Gods for this one.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Fred King from United States with 8 ratings

I have been looking to try different rums. I found this site and did some research. I found a couple of rums that looked interesting and affordable. I had been drinking Appleton 12 year and have enjoyed it. I went to the liquor store to buy Kirk and Sweeney 12 yr and El Dorado 12 yr. When I arrived at the liquor store, I found the Kirk and Sweeney 18yr on sale, so I bought it instead. I do love the bottle, rum has a nice color. Now I found I was little disappointed in this rum. It is a good rum, but did not meet my expectations. Maybe I should have tried the 12 yr. I did find I really enjoyed the El Dorado 12. Has a nice flavor and very smooth

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by jim from United States with 31 ratings

Mild, Smooth, almost to smooth compared to the 12 and 23. We finally tasted the 12/18/23 in the same night.

The 12 mixes great, the 18 works well either way, the 23 would be my selection if I wanted to enjoy a cigar. All three are very good, all three are just a little different from one another, and they are affordable with only a few bucks difference between each bottle. Will always have at least one of these in my rum cabinet. If the bottle means anything to you - nice bottle to pull out of the cabinet and leave out on the bar for the evening, makes for a contrasting line up with other selections being offered.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by royce from United States with 5 ratings

The smell is a little sweet with a lot of vanilla and some burn. The initial taste is mild, still with the vanilla and that burn. Add a rock or two and the flavor opens up with more vanilla and leather, but still with that harsh alcohol aftertaste. This isn't a bad rum but in my opinion it's not very smooth or full, although it is fairly cheap for an 18 year.

Small 4u93db6v8yhz

Posted almost 5 years ago by Anthony C from United States with 130 ratings

Smooth that finished sweet. Mild complexity. Great aroma. Good sipper for beginners.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Duder Maguder from United States with 3 ratings

This rum was recommended to me at a restaurant in Phoenix. After the first sip I was hooked. It has a very alluring scent of subtle sweetness. The scent is hard to describe, but it reminds me of a mix of vanilla, cotton candy and bubblegum. Not overpowering, just right.

As for the taste, it's just as fantastic. Not too sweet and very little burn. You first taste the normal rum flavors of toffee and vanilla. After you swallow, you taste sugar cane and wood. It's very unique and makes you want to take another sip. If there's a better rum out there, I haven't tasted it.

I'm a bourbon and rum drinker and this is the #1 spirit in my liquor cabinet. Buy a bottle and you definitely will not be disappointed.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Michel Wigant Bjerre from Denmark with 11 ratings

Sweetness 7/10
Overall 7/10

Nice rum from The Dominican Republic. Not so sweet and with a little hint of alcohol.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Jens Thomsen from Denmark with 97 ratings

Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year har en virkelig god duft og smager også godt dog syntes jeg eftersmagen mangler.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

A nice smell of vanilla and roasted almonds. And while it tastes like that as well, it has some oak to balance out the sweetness. And it has a long, nice burn to the finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Stig Wolff (PREMIUM) from Denmark with 156 ratings

En super rom til at sippe, den smager af chokolade - vanilje og sherry.
Desværre syntes jeg den forsvinder hurtigt i munden.