Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.2/10
198 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
9
23
70
78
13

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

198 Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Brian from United States with 11 ratings

A smooth, easy drinking rum at a great price that builds upon the 12 yr. For just a few dollars more there is another level of flavor and smoothness. Hard to pass up and gives the 23 a run for the money.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 76 ratings

Found this one in Vegas last year; there was a spot on the shelf for the 23 but they were out of stock. I guess it wasn't meant to be.
I had originally grabbed the 12 in the LC years ago and found it to be unique compared to other rums I had tried up to that point in my life; it reminded me of toasted marshmallows.
This one is similar but I get more of toasted coconut and butterscotch; it sort of reminds me of Plantation XO, almost.
All and all; good rum, but not on my top shelf.
Although for the price, a great value.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Denis from Canada with 11 ratings

Beautiful aroma and the flavours follow with it. Flavours last nicely on the exit. A little expensive in Alberta but worth it

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by James Young from United States with 6 ratings

This is my first foray into aged rums. I've always been impartial to Capt Morgan Private Stock or Bacardi's Oakheart for straight up. I left the refined drinking up to my love of scotches. I noticed here on this site that the 18yr had a slightly better review than the 23, and for the price, why not. I absolutely love it. I will get the 23 year after this is gone to give it a try, but I would recommend this to anyone.

I am anxious to try more aged rums now.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Matt from United States with 11 ratings

Wow, its just about perfect. Need to try the 23 year old.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Scott from United States with 9 ratings

Great stuff with sting vanilla and butterscotch notes. Right at the edge of being too sweet perfect in fall, warm spice cocktails , neat, or as a float in a daiquiris

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Benjamin Rose from United States with 1 rating

When I saw this rum at the store I was excited to try it just based on the bottle. Got home and waited for the wife, and pulled the cork. The smell was awesome and had heavy sweet caramel tones, and on the first pour the color did not disappoint. I loved the taste and was pleasantly surprised by the mellowness of the rum. It had a very strong start and went mild very quickly, and finished even more subdued after I swallowed. This is in my top favorites to date and I have had many many different rums from all over the world. I'm excited to try the 23 but for the cost, this rum is in the top 5 in every way.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ric Mims from United States with 10 ratings

Out of the three the 18 yr is the standard for me. It has the perfect balance, nothing overbearing like many with molasses. I highly recommend it!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Nathan French from United States with 20 ratings

Rich caramel and butter toffee goodness. Far too smooth for it's price. $35 at Total Wine. It's hard to pony up for single malts when rum like this exists!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by NutterSipper from United States with 20 ratings

I keep this one and Pampero next to each other. Some days I like Pampero better, some days this one. Both are very similar in flavor profile, notes of tobacco, vanilla, oak and caramel. Fantastic stuff.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Carl from United States with 9 ratings

Great rum with a hint of vanilla. Good for sipping. Love it!