Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.2/10
203 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
10
22
72
81
13

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

203 Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ric Mims from United States with 20 ratings

Out of the three the 18 yr is the standard for me. It has the perfect balance, nothing overbearing like many with molasses. I highly recommend it!

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by sandman_01 from United States with 9 ratings

Compared to the 23, the 18 comes off with a bright, fruity, butterscotch finish that I didn't enjoy. It's not necessarily sweeter, but it's more one-dimensional. Lacking the nuances of oak and tobacco that make the 23 so amazing. Certainly drinkable in it's own right, but if both bottles are on the shelf, it's a no brainer for me to grab the 23. In fact, I think I'd reach for a variety of other bottles over this one. Mount Gay XO, Ron Zacapa 23, etc.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 4 ratings

One of my favorite! Smell very good! Vanilla and butterscotch taste and smell really good. Sweet!

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Stu from United States with 25 ratings

Bought this when the owner of a bar recommended it to me. Its actually a little bit smoother than the 23 year. Sweet but not too much and tons of flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

The bottle is beutyful and give high expectations. It is necessery to let it breathe and kep in mind this is Agricola rum and should be compared towards other Agricola rums. Normally Agricola is from the French Caribbean part but not this one.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Thomas from United States with 6 ratings

Good rum, a bit more oaky and smoother than the 12 year. All in all though not worth the additional price. 12 year is a must try though.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 324 ratings

A solid, if run-of-the-mill sipping rum. Typical flavors of caramel and vanilla. Balanced sweetness. Will update if I get another chance.

7+

Update 11/17: After tasting over a hundred more rums since my original rating, I re-tried another in this range, and it's got curiously strong vanilla notes. I'm wary.

7-

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Craig from United States with 12 ratings

Smooth body. Not too sweet. Very nice on its own or on ice. Highly recommend. Price is very good for this rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Kevin DeYoung from United States with 4 ratings

Sherry, Molasses, Vanilla, Caramel make this different and easy to enjoy, great aroma, loses its body if you mix it; this is best straight, fantastic to sip but loses its persona mixed. Definitely worth a try.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Francois from France with 106 ratings

The nose is truly amazing, I am smelling like caramelised grilled bananas but I am seing a liquor, amazing.
Taste toffee, amazing smoothness with a little after burn, just to remind you you are drinking a 40% rum.
Overall a fantastic rum when you know its sugar content to be so low, amazing (did I say amazing enough?).
Sugar: 2 to 5 GPL

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

Great nose and wonderful mouth feel. I would recommend this to my friends.