Posting your rating...
Old Monk The Legend rum

Rate Old Monk The Legend

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


16 Old Monk The Legend ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by FilipT from Czech Republic with 42 ratings

Velmi výrazná chuť, která mě neoslovila. A jelikož mám radši jemnější rumy, tak to není nic pro mě.

Posted over 3 years ago by Matagalpa from Israel with 8 ratings

I bought this at New Delhi airport duty free and was sure 20 USD for 1 liter of positively reviewed rum is a steal, until I tasted it. Not enjoyable for sipping at all. Has a strong aftertaste I can't pinpoint, and it's not pleasant. No issue with sweetness and not all that harsh. It's just that foul aftertaste. I'll update my review once I try to mix it with Coke, but I normally drink rum neat, so that's not a priority.

BTW, the bottle is very nice, but why not invest a few more rupees for a better looking cap and labels?

Posted about 4 years ago by Trevor Owens from United States with 5 ratings

Distinctly harsher than rums aged the same amount.

Posted almost 5 years ago by PaulB from United Kingdom with 14 ratings

I can't profess to be an expert but I'm guessing that the great age of this has also made it boring. The flavour was heavy with molasses & somewhat flat. There was no spiciness or complexity of aftertaste.
It was drinkable & improved when opened up with a little water or ice but I personally wouldn't ask for it or buy it myself.

Posted 3 months ago by Ernie Higgs from Canada with 19 ratings

Drank a lot of this in India as it seemed to be the best available and brought a bottle home. I sip it occasionally but not my favourite by any means. A bit harsh with lingering aftertaste.

Posted 4 months ago by Pieter from Belgium with 2 ratings

Drank this in Goa. Nice bottle. Cheap cap.
Caramel and Toffee smell.
More coffee and hints of chocolate in taste. Nothing harsh. Pretty smooth finish.
Taste more like an after dinner liquor that is a bit too sweet.

Posted 7 months ago by John frederick from United States with 40 ratings

Who knew there was such a thing as Indian rum? So my wife recently went to India and came back with this. I read some previous ratings and was little nervous to taste. Smelled decent, more on the sweet side as I prefer. Taste was exactly as it vanilla, cocoa, sugary, but was not too sweet and finished decent. Certainly not the best I've had but grateful to try something I would probably never seen. I think it cost $5US, how can you go bad? Not sure if it's available stateside, I've never seen it anywhere. If it is would love to see what it costs.

Posted 7 months ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 130 ratings

The bottle is very original. But the glass and cork are shameful for the 21-year-old rum. The aroma is loud coffee confectionery sharp. There is nothing particularly original in the taste. Of course it is oily, round, sweet and burning hard. The finish is ripe orange and an unpleasant burp. Coordination worsens greatly.

Posted 8 months ago by RonnyDC from Austria with 11 ratings

Hard to believe that this is a rum you pay about 40 Euros for (in Austria). It's hardly better than Inländer Rum, and Inländer Rum is synthetic shit. Maybe i will pour this one in my pepsi, if i have a bad day…

Posted about 1 year ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I found a bottle of this along with the Old Monk XXX which I also liked. As expected, this is smoother, and I found it better.

Smells and tastes of sugar, spice, and vanilla. A very good tasting rum at only $29/liter (2019 price).

Posted over 1 year ago by Dingy from Canada with 3 ratings

Interesting bottle! Smoother than the XXX. Best as a mixed drink with cola. Not recommended to drink neat

Posted over 1 year ago by CigarGuy from United States with 2 ratings

Yeah, I purchased this bottle , having tasted the old monk supreme.
This is much refined similar to the alcohol found in higher distillates. A light palate, not quite like other traditional rums, and lacks the flavors of molasses/caramel. Some expect that in rum. However if i did a blind tasting, people would say its some soft of Irish whiskey or Rye / sour mash.
The tasting was done with 3 other friends , who were left with the same reaction of " WOW , Rum, I cannot believe it, Its so smooth"
This is not your traditional rum, Pairs well with maduro or lighter cigars. No headache/hangover issues as found in liquor containing lower distillates. I throughly enjoyed it, neat, no ice , no mixer, no cola. That's the best way to sip and smoke and relax.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

What a disappointment and what a hard bottle to find here in the US. Smell is offputting but quite mild, color is nice dark but hardly any legs so indication that very little sugar in it, but the taste test was a shocker. Old Monk The Legend tastes like a damp wet cellar and very woody. Maybe the barrel was all moldy, who knows, but struggles to score even a 4.

Posted over 2 years ago by Teufel9000 from United States with 16 ratings

as far as old monk goes they are all good. slowly went from XXX to Supreme and now the Legend.

The legend is way more oaky than i thought. and it being aged the spices isnt really there. still a great rum but i perfer the other varations. love the bottle though

Posted over 3 years ago by Mark from Thailand with 24 ratings

I was given this really cool bottle having asked a good friend to bring me a bottle of Old Monk rum back from India. Love the bottle, it looks more like an old Roman Statesman, not a monk. The taste could be more interesting, so I am tempted to infuse this bottle with a hint of spices.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

Serious molasses, a little too think and coats the mouth. Opens up with water and has a nice spice and hunt of cinnamon but still very sweet with a little sour aftertaste. Not my favorite but interesting rum and worth a taste